We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of i Giardini di Villa Melzi

i Giardini di Villa Melzi
Book In Advance
and up
Villa Balbianello and Flavors of Lake Como Walking and Boating Full-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Monument and Private Gardens This magnificent villa, built in 1808 for the Duke Francesco Melzi d'Eril, assistant to General Napoleon, is one of the most emblematic examples of neo-classicism in Lombardy.....The Gardens Are visitable March to October every day 9.30 am to' 6.30 pm
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
694 reviews
407 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The gardens are massive and exquisite in early May. There's a grotto, a lovely pond, statues, incredible lake views, spectacular trees, a tiny but interesting museum, a great little chapel, and flowers everywhere you look. You aren't able to tour the grand villa, but you can walk all around it and imagine what it must be like to live in this perfect spot. It might seem like a long walk from the dock, but it really isn't and it's so worth it. It's all flat unless you want to walk to higher ground (which isn't necessary since you're surrounded by beauty on level ground.). Don't miss the statue Beatrice Consoling Dante - it is said it inspired Liszt.

Visited May 2013
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful garden lakeside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have always wanted to see first hand this truly amazing garden which was dedicated by a loving husband to his wife centuries ago!!! I was enchanted by the pathways, leading to fish filled ponds reflecting the pretty Autumn colours of the overhanging trees, and small bridges to walk over, magnificent trees about to turn a golden shade in Autumn, and at every turn, such a scenic view of the lake without a building in sight, truly picturesque. I intend to visit it again in a few years time.....just breathtaking!!!!!! Do not leave Bellagio without visiting Giardini Villa Melzi !!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
1 Thank MARION S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lakeside garden stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The garden is at the edge of Bellagio, along Lake Como. There are paths at different levels. In late September there was a rock garden with flowers in bloom, other flowers, and a picturesque pond with reflections - my favorite. There are archtitecture features which add to lake photos. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Thank PA-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant gardens - easy to walk through”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The gardens at Villa Melzi are within walking distance to the center of Bellagio. There is a wide variety of tress and shrubs (all labeled) as well as a few buildings you can walk through. (The main villa, however, is not open for tourists.) Our walk was leisurely, and we took quite a few pictures. The terrain is flat to gently sloping, so this is a great choice for everyone to visit.

Visited September 2013
Thank Dtownkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing walk in a beautiful garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a nice change after being to so many art museums. A quiet walk through manicured gardens along the lake. Be sure to see the small chapel on the far side from Bellagio.

Visited October 2013
Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed i Giardini di Villa Melzi also viewed


Been to i Giardini di Villa Melzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing