We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was not staying here but checked it out for a future visit.
Lovely location.
Lovely public area
Lovely pool area.
BUT
Dirty toilets in the ladies!
Sorry I cannot stay in a hotel that cannot keep clean toilets

Room Tip: did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dude65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on location, public area and pool.
Thank you for reminding us that not everyone knows how to use a public toilet.
Although we check them regularly these things unfortunately may happen.
My apologies on their behalf.
If you change your mind you know where we are.
Arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 846 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just returned from our trip to the lake district in Northern Italy, having stayed in 3 of the "grand hotels." The Grand Hotel villa Serbelloni was magical. The hotel is glorious, the rooms large and comfortable, the staff gracious. An absolute A+

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Nancy,
Thank you for your review and for the A+ on the Hotel and the comments on our staff.
Arrivederci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having just returned from a stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, I must say I am shocked to see all of the positive reviews on this website. Despite its strenuous efforts to convey a sense of luxury (images of elegant ladies printed onto the wallpaper borders, the word "luxe" imprinted on every available surface), we had no experience that could be classed as genuinely luxurious. I can only imagine that the five-dot ratings are a way of resolving the cognitive dissonance which arises when one spends over 500 euros a night for a hotel where the rooms are outdated, the service lackluster, and the atmosphere a tacky imitation of opulence.

First, to be fair: the views are spectacular. Really, the place is gorgeous, and gazing up at the hotel facade from the pool I could almost forget the troubles that awaited within. The pool staff is very kind and attentive. The lounge chairs are crowded together, and look like something you could buy at Target, but all in all we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Now for what's wrong: nearly everything else. We should have known something was up when we were required to pay for a night in advance and agree to a draconian cancellation policy of 50%. We understood fairly quickly why this policy is in place: we wanted to run pretty much as soon as we stepped inside, and may have--sacrificing the money--had any other decent hotel in the area had vacancies. I will be posting pictures of our room and other areas of the hotel, but in case they don't upload properly: Despite the manager's insistence that any who criticize the decor and the atmosphere are cretins who don't understand grand old hotel style, we found the rooms to be not only antiquated but cheaply-appointed. The artwork was creepy, the furniture a strange stripey lacquered-red, the bed topped with the most peculiar half-duvets you've ever seen. Though the housekeeping was mostly quite good, one of said duvets had a bloodstain on it and was clearly not changed throughout our stay.

I can't comment on the restaurants--we didn't eat at either of them once during our stay. Why? Because on the first night, after a long drive into town, we attempted to get dinner at the poolside casual restaurant and were told there was no availability. The fact that we were hotel guests seemed not to matter, and the check-in staff had not advised us to make a reservation. Even worse, the maitre-d was evasive: he first told us that it would be a half-hour wait, and upon my insistence that he take down our names and reserve us a table, he confessed that it might actually be "more than 45 minutes." He would have been content to have us bobbing up and down between the bar and the restaurant all night, waiting for a table that clearly would never materialize.

All of this would be forgivable, or at least understandable, if we had been paying significantly less. The manager has a habit of replying to reviews like this, and has claimed repeatedly that the prices are "consistent" with other five-star hotels. That's for sure--but the experience is not. We have no problem paying a lot for a hotel, and would have paid even more at this one for a lake-view room had there been one available at the time of booking. A recent reviewer has said that it is unfair to compare the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni to a luxury chain like Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, because it is quaint and old and "traditional" and all that jazz. Fine, but then don't charge like a luxury chain, because the Serbelloni fails on so many basic levels that no amount of charm--which, sadly, eluded us--could save it. Yelling "tradition" and "luxury" really loudly does not make them so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ellieg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for visiting our property, I’m sorry to hear that you did not like the atmosphere of Villa Serbelloni.
As I have written in previous posts, I know that the old fashion charme of our hotel does not suit everyone but the majority of those guests who, year after year, keep on coming back (as in the movie with Vanessa Redgrave and Uma Thurman “A month by the Lake”).
The fact that you are shouting your opinion louder does not make you an opinion maker, hence, I am not shocked, as you are, to see so many positive reviews. When a client criticizes the decor I simply think that his opinion/taste is different from mine and, obviously, I will try to make my point. Please allow me to emphasize that I never thought of anyone as a cretin just because his ideas differ from mine.
Whether you believe it or not, the Hotel spends a lot of money every year in maintaining this belle epoque Hotel. During the closing months we replace carpets, repaint walls, replace furniture in the rooms, add new services. Over the years we have built a fitness center, 2 garages, indoor pool, beauty center, restaurants etc. The antiquated room/floor you have stayed in has been completely rebuilt and refurbished 4 years ago.
Now, if you consider the room you stayed in as antiquated just because you didn’t like the new stripy lacquered-red furniture (by the way, it is not lacquered but it’s the natural color of the Purple Heart tree inlaid with Maples tree and polished with beeswax) or the peculiar half-duvets (other clients have been asking us where to buy them) then I’m a little puzzled as to what you consider antique, classic or modern.
As a recent reviewer wrote, it is unfair to compare our Hotel to a Four Season because the philosophy behind our companies is completely different. It is like comparing a Rolls Royce to a Ferrari.
Obviously the two luxury companies serve two different categories of luxury people, each with its own luxury brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just got back from our trip to Italy and our last stop for three days was Bellagio and the Villa Serbelloni.
Our only regret was that we didnt' plan on staying LONGER. Everyone of the staff members was excellent. The concierge gave us GREAT dinner recommendations and Luigi tended to our every need at the breakfast buffet which was delicious.
We loved being so close to the shops and boutiques, but REALLy enjoyed the beautiful and calming surroundings of this grand hotel. We agreed that the Villa Serbelloni is one of the best-kept secrets in all of Europe!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Ms Kathy,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your words of appreciation for the Concierge team and Luigi at breakfast.
Boutiques and coffee shops are really close of hand and the natural surrounding is the perfect complement to a relaxing stay.
Hope to see you for a longer stay
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Serbelloni and were very disappointed with our experience. The hotel is old and has been updated in a way that seemed less than luxurious. We had a classic room facing the back of the hotel. The wallpaper was dingy and old (circa 1980?) and the bathroom had been updated with faux marble tiles. The art on the walls was inexpensive and rather odd. There was a balcony that was unusable because if you sat down you couldn’t see over the opaque balcony wall. The hallway was long and dark with a curiously skimpy carpet runner down the middle.

On our first night we tried to eat dinner at the casual restaurant and were turned away because we didn’t have a reservation. We were not informed at check-in that a reservation would be necessary, and no allowance was made for the fact that we were guests at the hotel. The Maitre’D at the restaurant was very unpleasant, and we avoided the hotel restaurants after this experience.

The breakfast room is in the basement of the hotel in an old ballroom. We were disappointed that breakfast wasn’t outside in view of the lake. The food was adequate, but didn’t really compare to other breakfast buffets we enjoyed on the trip, lacking mineral water, champagne and a good selection of cheeses. Eggs cooked to order cost 9 euros extra, while at other hotel restaurants this is included. The pastries were indifferent at best.

We enjoyed the bar although the drinks were expensive and small. The pool was nice. Swimming in the lake was difficult as it was very rocky and the lake near the hotel gets a lot of ferry traffic. There is also a persistent smell of exhaust from the ferries.

The housekeeping service was very good - the room was always attended to while we were out, and was extremely clean. The bed lacked a proper blanket or duvet - it had only these weird covers that looked and felt like small pool rafts and weren't big enough to cover one's whole body and inevitably fell off during the night. The double bed was two tiny beds stuck together with a crevice between them.

We wanted to leave after the first night, but there is a ridiculous cancellation policy that requires the payment of half of the unused nights. They also take the first night's price when you make the reservation. Now I understand why they have these policies- they need them.

We stayed at 3 other hotels on our trip which were about the same price as the Villa Serbelloni and were vastly superior in every respect. I don’t understand how this hotel gets the positive reviews it gets on this site. Don’t waste your time and money on this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank whylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a few nights at another Grand Hotel (not sure if related..probably not) in Lake Maggiore and having been quite disappointed - we were pleasantly surprised to find Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni private, peaceful and charming. It's not really fair to compare this 'traditional' hotel to the likes of Four Seasons - GHVS is small, intimate and quite personal. We had a lake-view deluxe room (not a suite) and it was nice. Again, not glitzy and super modern but we weren't expecting/looking for this in the Italian lakes.....we wanted something with old Italian charm and this hotel does offer it. Our highlight of our entire stay in the Italian lakes was having aperitifs at the hotel bar overlooking the lake - it was just gorgeous and very relaxing. Service was impeccable.

Room Tip: definitely lake view!!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank kimmy_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The views of Lake Como from the hotel rooms and premises is spectacular. Quick and easy access to the Bellagio shops and ferry is great. Staff was decent. But as far as the room, bathroom and quality of breakfast is concerned, I was expecting things to be in line with a Four Seasons based on reviews and price but it fell a bit short of expectations. Note that the experience was not bad and in fact quite decent but not stunning. Perhaps a renovation will take care of it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepdebroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $550 - $1,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing