We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a few nights at another Grand Hotel (not sure if related..probably not) in Lake Maggiore and having been quite disappointed - we were pleasantly surprised to find Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni private, peaceful and charming. It's not really fair to compare this 'traditional' hotel to the likes of Four Seasons - GHVS is small, intimate and quite personal. We had a lake-view deluxe room (not a suite) and it was nice. Again, not glitzy and super modern but we weren't expecting/looking for this in the Italian lakes.....we wanted something with old Italian charm and this hotel does offer it. Our highlight of our entire stay in the Italian lakes was having aperitifs at the hotel bar overlooking the lake - it was just gorgeous and very relaxing. Service was impeccable.

Room Tip: definitely lake view!!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kimmy_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    155
    64
    28
    21
See reviews for
118
335
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The views of Lake Como from the hotel rooms and premises is spectacular. Quick and easy access to the Bellagio shops and ferry is great. Staff was decent. But as far as the room, bathroom and quality of breakfast is concerned, I was expecting things to be in line with a Four Seasons based on reviews and price but it fell a bit short of expectations. Note that the experience was not bad and in fact quite decent but not stunning. Perhaps a renovation will take care of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepdebroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A. East Coast
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As I checked out of the hotel, the gentleman in front of me noted that this was his 39th visit to the hotel Serbelloni. The views from the lake side are breath taking. The beach and the pool with its view is like no other. Breakfast is exceptional and served in what appears to be a former ballroom of the emperor's former palace. don't miss it if you are i the lakes region.

Room Tip: Lake side has the best views but garden side is fine as there are plenty of public areas with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRabbit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is pure gift. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful-- Lake Como and the preAlps. The staff is polished and attentive. The restaurants are gorgeous, and the food is fabulous. I especially liked the fact that the guests were from every country imaginable. Loved this place. Loved being there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property.
The setting of Villa Serbelloni plays an important role, so thank you for commenting on the staff, on the fabulous food that we serve at our two restaurants and the many services that we provide to our Guests.
Arrivederci !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel for a luxurious stay on lake como.the setting is wonderful with amazing views over the lake.the hotel is very well located beside the ferries for convenient day trips .there is also a large selection of local restaurants to choose from in the evening which is nice if one is staying for a longer period.

The hotel is expensive but you pay for this location and luxury.

The only issue I would have is the location of breakfast in the hotel.when in such a location you would expect to be able to have breakfast looking out at the beautiful views which would be the case in most hotels of this quality.

However this is a small complaint in the overall experience and I would undoubtedly return and recommend .

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

When I stay at a five star hotel I have certain expectations. The beds were lumpy and very uncomfortable. The pillows were no better. The sheets felt like sand paper. In Italy, the land of Frette linens this "5" star hotel can do a lot better.
The shower was only a little bigger than two by two feet with one small hand held shower head. It had a prefab floor basin, not tile. It was done very cheaply. Not what you expect from a five star hotel. I even asked if my room was recently renovated and to my surprise was told it was.
I couldn't get anybody to take my drink order poolside. I waited almost an hour and nobody came up to me. I finally got up and got my own drink This is a beautiful property in a great location but at the prices we paid, it fell short of what is expected from a five star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelKaren39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have recently returned from a solo trip to Bellagio... and stayed in this hotel for 5 nights . The hotel is elegant ... the staff really are quite lovely and will be as attentive as you require . The hotel is immaculately presented for a property of this period and age ..
The views are truly magical and if you are wishing to escape and just be ....then this hotel will be perfect.
The facilities are very good and actually with a little investment here and there to make it luxurious i e The Quality of the towels around the pool and the service.....it cannot be faulted . It is a place i will return to without a doubt .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 941clara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your post and for your recent stay at our property.
Thank you for sharing your comments with other readers. We try to preserve our hotel so that clients can experience the bygone era in a contemporary surrounding.
Hope to see you again in Bellagio
Arrivederci !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
13.2 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing