We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally bellissimo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
MuscatOMAN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally bellissimo”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

From the minute we arrived until we left ..we enjoyed everything. The staff were friendly. the breakfast was delicious and extensive. Will defintely go back. The room was spacious and and very clean. We had lovely views of the lake.

Room Tip: We had a room of the lake which was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keentraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    181
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
136
407
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

for a 5 star hotel you would firstly expect a greater variety of food for your breakfast. The staff are helpful but there are only one or two that i really felt love their work.
Not sure if that is because most of us are foreigners...

restaurant Misti was fabulous the first night, had the beef as a main and the icecream which is a treat. the second time we went i had the local fish, very average...
I get the sense they are trying to save on the $$$ as times are not as good as they have been in the past.
Sharon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sg88862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is the most beautiful building architecturally, and scenically; position wise right on the lake with lovely grounds and views. Very imposing with magnificent reception rooms, which feel almost museum like. A bit like staying in a National trust mansion, but as guests you are funding the upkeep of this building, and you are not allowed to forget that fact.
Two glasses of wine will knock you back 36 euros, and two cups of tea and biscuits 26 euros. This seems acceptable to the Americans with their favourable exchange rate but for the Brits is pretty steep.. and there were very few Brits staying there as a result. We felt the staff were on the whole helpful but they seemed to favour the Americans. I felt we were always being watched and assessed, and sometimes felt uncomfortable, their manner could be taken as patronising. When we questioned the price of the wine we were basically told in no uncertain terms by the girl on reception, that we were not the right material for a five star hotel. This attitude was rude and unnecessary we felt. The bedroom was not as large as I had hoped for, and they do not encourage you to use it in the day time, no sofa, and only one very low nursing chair. we ended up putting two dining type chairs by the window to sit and look at the view, but there was no table to eat at, and apart from a very basic continental breakfast (two dry rolls and two croissants, orange juice out of a packet? certainly not fresh) served in the room there was no other room service, which was poor for 5 star deluxe. (Breakfast in the dining room however was very good and the staff very helpful there.) The bed was not all that comfortable, sheets and blankets, ( not duvets), only two pillows, no luxury really in the room. Although the room was pretty, just not hugely functional or comfy. The bathroom was very nice, but the shower cubicle very small. You cannot close the bedroom doors without slamming them, (as they are like heavy fire doors?) however hard you try, hence a lot of noise from neighbours all the time...which is a shame and a problem with most hotels. Undoubtedly a beautiful hotel, but you need to be happy to pay high prices to stay there, ie: if like us you need to ask how much the wine or the food is, don't stay there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaurus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Positives:
Parts of the hotel are beautiful (grounds, pool, dinning room, etc)
Negatives:
Rooms are old, Hotel needs a lot of TLC.
Most of the staff were not friendly (Felt as if I was putting them out) .
Expected more from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, UT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I read a bunch of reviews on this place and had mixed feelings about coming. But my hesitation proved completely ridiculous. The location is the best in Lake Como. Right next to all restaurants and shops in Bellagio. Bellagio is the heart of Lake Como.

This hotel is a converted old villa and utterly gorgeous. The reliefs on the ceilings and the breakfast room are stunning. Rooms are unbelievable. Beautiful, great towels, modern, big and great views. Perfect.

I'm an experienced traveler and this place is absolutely worth it. Don't stay anywhere else in Lake Como. Several people recommended this place, including natives of Italy. Pool area is pretty. Indoor pool is incredible. Steam room had eucalyptus scent. Lounges are large and beautiful. Staff us knowledgable and friendly. Turndown service is good. There is a place to swim in Lake Como-- a dock and diving board.

Breakfast is horrible but that is the only bad thing I have to say about this place. I hear the restaurant is not a good value. But there are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

Love it. Wish I could live here. If you're coming to Italy, don't miss the most beautiful town in the world.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

There are times when single individuals dominate the perception of a hotel, and this is one of those times. The head concierge, Luciano is an impeccable and sophisticated professional who has been in his position for many years; a holdover from a time of grace and service you just don't commonly see nowadays. When you first enter the lobby, it is the concierge desk that is prominently in front; the reception desk has been relegated to a back room. Need a private boat immediately? No problem. Need a dinner reservation? Luciano walks you outside to ensure you head in the right direction. The concierge staff care deeply that you feel important and are having the best time possible.

The hotel experience is exactly what it advertises itself to be and why you come to Lake Como; an aristocratic, rambling country villa with spectacular lakeside and mountain views that has been around a long time like aged vintage wine. Paint is thick, wood paneling and doors are not perfectly planed to give more of a relaxed, country look. Carved ceilings are done in a warm, honeycomb pattern or painted with country patterns along with comfy cane chairs charmingly mismatched in the lobby sitting room and bar. Pieces of roughly-carved over-gilt gold mirrors and sconces emphasize the country estate theme. Couristan-like persian carpet in the room was green. Exteriors maintain a slightly weathered look, and the grounds are full of flowers. Exceptions to the rule is the buffet breakfast spread out in the opulent ballroom.

Value-wise, this is a great place to stay in Bellagio, convenient to town yet having its own self-contained ambiance. Aside from the outstanding, world class concierge team however, I would say that attitude and service does not exude that impeccable training, efficiency and "caring" attitude you would expect from a 5-star establishment.. There was wireless access from the lobby only.

If you drive, getting to the hotel is a tricky; you have to navigate what I initially thought were pedestrian-only alleyways in Bellagio but are not! In addition, I drove up the western side of the middle peninsula to get to Bellagio, and although beautiful driving through countless narrow village streets, having to squeak by or even back up when large buses or trucks were coming was a bit more than I bargained for: opt to drive up the eastern side of the peninsula which has less villages, or take the car ferries from the outer lake shore to Bellagio.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Villa Serbelloni is probably located in one of the most amazing sceneries in Lake Como. The hotel is grandiose and the food is excellent at all the hotels restaurants (even though very overpriced).

What could be an unforgettable stay turns out to be very disappointing because of the service, not so much at the restaurants, but more on the rest of the staff who is actually quite rude and careless. During my stay, I was unfortunately not the only one complaining about this issue.

Fix the service issue, lower a bit the restaurant prices, then it would be paradise!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoastedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing