We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family run authentic Italian Fish restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella

Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella
Ranked #15 of 66 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The two centuries years old "Mella" restaurant was taken over by Sala family in 1958. We introduced a new activity, on the Lake of Como, which offered a good link between professional lake fishing and cuisine. Today, Alessandro, a professional fisherman, keeps these traditions on :he catches fresh-water fish daily, then his wife Rosy proposes it in the menu. The union between our typical products and the beautiful view of the lake from the first floor of the restaurant, will offer you an unforgettable experience. Fishing tours and rooms are also available.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Family run authentic Italian Fish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant was so well suited to our needs (informal affordable good quality) that we returned 2 nights later. Most mains are priced between 9 and 10 euros. We chose the fish of the day cooked with herbs, fillets of fish with lemon sauce (not an enormous serve but very tasty), pork in a pear sauce accompanied by grilled vegetables.

Not being familiar with local wine varieties we were surprised how well our choice teamed with the food (can't remember the name).

Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    129
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good local food -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Quite basic local restaurant- but fantastic first course (great fish pasta and fried fish with rice) and great lake fish main course). Very good value (much better food than Restaurant Silvio up the road).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alwyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ate here on two evenings, as it was near our apartment. The food was very good, the service friendly and the meal was good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the fried perch with rice, and get the sorbetto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Delicious salads and secondi. My insalata verde with marinated (probably raw) lake fish is not for the faint of heart, but was tasty if you like that sort of thing. My secondo of lake fish in lemon sauce was delicious and mildly flavored. My husband's fried perch with rice was even better. I'd get that if I ever have the chance to return.

Make sure you finish your meal with their sorbetto. The evening we dined here, our server said we had the choice of "mela ... o mela!" (Apple, ... or apple!) Served in a champagne flute with a straw, it was amazingly fresh tasting and yummy.

The service was terrific. The place seemed to be filled mostly with locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snicklefritzytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

A husband and wife team do the catching, cooking and serving in this family restaurant. Take the ferry if you are staying in Bellagio. We were worried about the traffic after dinner and Rosy called us a taxi. We had the tasting menu and really enjoyed it. The pâté, gnocchi, marinated lavarello, salmon filet, lavarello gratin were all nicely prepared. We had a nice local wine. Sorbet and coffee. We thought it was well priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella also viewed

 

Been to Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing