We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella

Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella
P.zza San Giovanni 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031 950205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The two centuries years old "Mella" restaurant was taken over by Sala family in 1958. We introduced a new activity, on the Lake of Como, which offered a good link between professional lake fishing and cuisine. Today, Alessandro, a professional fisherman, keeps these traditions on :he catches fresh-water fish daily, then his wife Rosy proposes it in the menu. The union between our typical products and the beautiful view of the lake from the first floor of the restaurant, will offer you an unforgettable experience. Fishing tours and rooms are also available.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A husband and wife team do the catching, cooking and serving in this family restaurant. Take the ferry if you are staying in Bellagio. We were worried about the traffic after dinner and Rosy called us a taxi. We had the tasting menu and really enjoyed it. The pâté, gnocchi, marinated lavarello, salmon filet, lavarello gratin were all nicely prepared. We had a nice local wine. Sorbet and coffee. We thought it was well priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    111
    23
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,405 reviews
1,066 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
“Freshwater Fish Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Traditional, warm and local is a true way to describe Ristorante Mella and the pretty little village of San Giovanni. We booked in on New Years Eve and had no choice but the set fish tasting menu of 11 courses. My partner is still experimenting with fish s this was a big challenge for her and surprisingly became a little challenge for me. They served fish gnocchi which was fishcakes basically, fish pate very nice and some eel looking fish which was sort of ok. The family of staff were very attentive and generous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Extrodinary find tucked away in the small village of San Giovanni. My family and I ate at this most charming, quaint restaurant on our recent trip to Bellagio. We heard about it through our taxi driver and fell in love with the atmosphere and the food. We ate both the fresh fish and some of the pasta dishes. We absolutely loved the pear and cheese risotto with the fresh pears and local cheese. Plan on eating here again on my next trip to the Lake Como area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Authentic little restaurant in the piazza of the gorgeous fishing village of San Giovanni. Food: delicious, fresh, simple. Service: friendly and helpful. Loved it...try it for lunch and soak up the views across to Villa Carlotta (another Lake Como gem). We walked there from Bellagio through the beautiful gardens of Villa Melzi, via Loppia....would recommend the approach as well!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We enjoyed dining there several times while we were staying at San Giovanni. They have served us the freshly caught fish from the lake. We had fish paté and the assortment of the local hams and cheese with special sweet sauce as the favourite starters. They were really delicious! It is a perfect place to dine if you feel like getting away from the touristic centre in Bellagio and searching for a quiet local place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minakowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella also viewed

 

Been to Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing