We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful, unpretentious ristorante, original and good value”

Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The two centuries years old "Mella" restaurant was taken over by Sala family in 1958. We introduced a new activity, on the Lake of Como, which offered a good link between professional lake fishing and cuisine. Today, Alessandro, a professional fisherman, keeps these traditions on :he catches fresh-water fish daily, then his wife Rosy proposes it in the menu. The union between our typical products and the beautiful view of the lake from the first floor of the restaurant, will offer you an unforgettable experience. Fishing tours and rooms are also available.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful, unpretentious ristorante, original and good value”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

What is special about this ristorante is its commitment to fishing and cooking the local fish caught every morning in a small fishing boat. The original recipes with these sometimes small, very delicate fresh water fish were delicious. We tried the taster menu so tried virtually everything and all was beautifully prepared and sometimes very unusual. There was only one dish that was too salty for us otherwise delicious. The family work hard to sustain this little place away from the centre of Bellagio and clearly are passionate about their continuation of the tradition of fishing and preparing the local fish. We stayed in their apartment which is part of the aggrotourismo network. It was a lovely quiet apartment apart form the bells of the church which really added to the atmosphere. A great village to hang out in with a lovely ristorante and bruschetta extraordinaire in the bar downstairs and excellent coffee.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    144
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Made to feel most unwelcome”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Not living up to its name we had walked quite far from Bellagio to find this restaurant. Perhaps we should have done some more research as I would have like to have reviewed the food, not just the rude staff. We were sent upstairs where we saw probably 6/7 diners eating and sat down only to be unceremoniously escorted out of the premises as it was 'complete' or full. We were not even given the option of waiting; you apparently had to book before you arrived. The salad I saw looked fresh and I would have thought the fish also, as there is a long piece in the menu about the owner being a fisherman. Do though take heed before setting out here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark195902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Went twice in a four day stay. Superb local fresh fish prepared in a variety of ways. Not haute cuisine but good ingredients, well prepared and very tasty. More enjoyable than many fancier, more expensive restuarants we've eaten in in Italy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theswiveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
“Ristorante Mella: Best restaurant in the area !”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Lovely restaurant and great location, very friendly and attentive staff but above all amazing food!! This is restaurant Mella in the rural fishing village of San Giovanni , just outside of Bellagio.We stayed for a week in the area and visited ristorante Mella several times.We loved the enthousiastic and creative owners of the place, Rosy and Alessandro and their very nice fresh food and wines for reasonal prices.Rosy even drove us home a few times after having dinner at their place.We will be back !!! june 2010

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamFanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA & Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not exactly fine cuisine, but very good for the price and nice atmosphere...”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Nice homey atmosphere with mostly Italians. The cuisine is typically of the region with choices for non fish eaters, as well. The dishes is simple and fresh. The zuppetta di pesce (fish soup) and pesce del giorno al cartoccio (fish of the day baked with herbs) were excellent. The fish sautéed in butter and sage was not so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella also viewed

 

Been to Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing