We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal at Lake Como on 17May2014”

Alle Darsene di Loppia
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Meal at Lake Como on 17May2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

had the best meal at lake como at alle darsene on 17.5.2014.

alle darsene is located next to villa melzi, but it is on the other side, so a rather long walk from the bellagio ferry jetty. we had a leisurely morning & visited varenna (& the shopping). we walked on the narrow road just bordering villa melzi to reach alle darsene. on the way back we decided to just pay 9euro each & walk through villa melzi. ok la..it was but a pleasant stroll through the gardens.

our first order was the lake fishes (top photo), since we were at lake como. it was excellent, better even than that at daserna. all the 7 fishes, cured or smoked or pickled, as well as the roe, were all excellent. 2 thumbs up!

and the grilled octopus, that was the best i had during this trip, better even than miky at monterosso, cinque terre. the broth was really good! i would recreate this at home, that is if i can find the octopus.

& the beef carpaccio was again par excellence. so sweet & tasty. my daughter & i loved it(though my wife was a bit off beef tartare). i could have this again!

and the fillet of sole was so good. even the lentils (though i don’t like too much of it) was very tasty with the sweet, lovely mussels. such great dish this! i not so successful with western fish dishes except for my quite excellent cod, but i might try to do this as well.

the catavelli pasta was likewise excellent, and the octopus, clams, mussels & the seafood broth. this i would also try to recreate.

every single dish was excellent. this a restaurant i would not miss if i come again.

because of the location, it is inconvenient though for dinner if not staying at bellagio as there is a ferry to catch!

that was why we changed our prior booking from dinner to lunch. see my full reviews & photos at http://chefquak.com/2014/05/09/best-meal-at-lake-como-alle-darsene-on-17may2014/

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    130
    39
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I live this Place! Great Food and great Service! Always ready to come back for another great Food and evening with lots of great dishes!

Helpful?
Thank Restitester8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Location of the restaurant is a bit away from the tourist crowd, the outside setting is cosy and simple. All the dishes were delicious, very well prepared with seasonal specialities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Beautiful setting and divine food. I had lobster with pasta and it was a meal fit for a king . We spent hours just eating,drinking ,and talking on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. Tutti bene ! Grazie!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When in Bellagio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our first restaurant during our 2 week vacation to Italy. The food, the wine, the service, the atmosphere, the staff, the presentation were all terrific. We were greeted and treated like family. The staff was attentive without hovering. We arrived by cab and once we had finished our dining experience, management had already contacted the taxi to return us to the hotel.

We were welcomed with complementary glasses of Prosecco. We have been searching the web to find the recipe for courgette (squash) blossoms filled with ewe's ricotta as they were prepared at Alle Darsene because they were the best we had anywhere in Italy. The wines were perfectly paired with each course.

There are plenty of fine dining places in Bellagio, but this one is a must.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alle Darsene di Loppia also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Alle Darsene di Loppia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing