We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Alle Darsene di Loppia
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at this restaurant while staying in the Lake Como area. We were told to go here by some fellow travellers on the ferry and we are very glad that we did. We had a nice walk through the gardens before lunch as it's a little out of the main Bellagio tourist area (not sure how difficult it would be to walk around the gardens as the gardens cost 6.50 Euro to enter). Once at the restaurant it was nice to see plenty of locals/Italians and not just all tourists. We were seated (with no reservation) and immediately offered a complementary glass of prosecco which was a nice touch. We started the meal with the local fish tasting plate which was amazing and beautifully presented. We were sharing the starter as we weren't too hungry and when it came out it was already divided by the chef which we thought was extremely considerate! We then had the cheese and truffle risotto. Everything on the menu sounded fantastic and we had a lot of difficulty choosing. Service was good compared to most of the service we had in italy. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    141
    39
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Above Average”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This restaurant has the muliple virtues of a great position, adequate parking,skilled chef and competent waiting staff. Our starter of local fish comprised 9 different mini tastings of fish in various and exotic forms, some roe, some smoked,etc. Our mains were equally enjoyable from my wife's stuffed zucchini flowers - really a starter - to my main, duck with a strawberry reduction chosen from a unique selection of original dishes. The distinguishing feature of the menu is the originality of its offerings. The recommended wine was a venetian chardonnay a wine with all the desirable characteristics of a tradidional chardonnay, from the distinctive nose to the buttery after-palate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An old fishing village, with great food.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A nice walk from Bellagio, Italy out short distance to this old fishing village rewards you with a nice place to dine - inside or out - on really good Italian cooking - imaginative and in a beautiful setting. Outdoors in the garden or indoors in a modern setting. Lovely all around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rickjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We must have been unlucky”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it was because we were the first to be seated at lunchtime, or maybe it was just bad luck. Mixed up our orders and they were pretty simple and then don't you hate it when you keep asking for your bill and it it doesn't come! Despite these service glitches it was a nice meal in a great location especially if you combine it with a visit to the wonderful gardens of Villa Melzi.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Incredible food. Went back three times. The setting and ambiance really added to phenomenal food. I tried almost every pasta dish with pleasure. The seafood broth in the Cavatelli dish is spectacular

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alle Darsene di Loppia also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Alle Darsene di Loppia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing