We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value, great food, great people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria San Giacomo

Trattoria San Giacomo
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great food, great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've been to Bellagio a number of times now and always pay a visit to Trattoria San Giacomo. The local, freshly prepared food is of the highest quality and is very good value for money. The owner, Aurelio, is very hospitable and will go out of his way to make sure you have an enjoyable time. If you're lucky enough to visit when they have fresh mushrooms ask Aurelio to make you a risotto funghi. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    303
    104
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“People lined up even before the restaurant opens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

You can smell this restaurant from down the street it's so good. We had the Fettuccine with ragu and fresh fish of the day. We ordered a salad that seemed like it was freshly picked from the garden.

There were about 20 people crowding around the front of the restaurant. In fact, they offer pillows so you can sit on the steps in comfort because the owners know people will wait 1-2 hours for this place. We were very lucky to get the last table for two. Here's what we did...we came to the restaurant around 6:40, twenty minutes before they opened.

It is at the top of a beautiful street. Coming a little early and watching the sun set on Bellagio was beautiful. You can order a glass of wine while you wait outside.

The setting was very warm and rustic. There were only about 3-4 tables outside. About 10-12 tables inside. So it gets packed quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thatgurlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Directly opposite Aperitivo et al at the top of the main cobbled-stepped street leading down to the front is Ristorante San Giacomo. Very reasonably priced and subsequently quote busy on our first night, we decided to give it a try the next. The food was ok, but nothing special. We had bresaola with rocket and Parmesan, followed by rump steak with vegetables for 2. The steak was flavoursome enough, but the 'vegetables' were a bit thin on the ground and over cooked... The waiter was very helpful when it came to recommending a digestif however. I had a Gewurtztraminer grappa, and my better half had a camomile grappa. They were probably the highlight of the meal though...

Helpful?
Thank PhysEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful casual restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are looking for consistently good food at a great price, you must stop here. Run by Chef/Owner Aurelio Gandola, with lots of help from his mom, Margherita, you cannot help but feel like family here. Upon arriving here for the first of several meals here during my vacation, I asked Chef Aurelio what his restaurant was known for with the locals. "The mushrooms," was his answer. I then listened to a brief family history including origins of the restaurant and the special place mushrooms, both local and imported, played in the cuisine. So, of course, we had pasta prepared with the best of that week's selection, and we were thrilled with the selection. So we came back again and again and enjoyed it every time. Kudo's to Chef Aurelio. And again, many thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagio, Italy
1 review
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start.... the title says it all, but i will try:
I ordered a salad with melon and ricotta cheese, the portion was extremely small and the flavor boring.
I followed with lamb which was dry and chewy with some sauteed veggies which were o.k.
Left the place hungry.

Helpful?
Thank 1962MarioP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Giacomo also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria San Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing