We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals ever! Anywhere. Period!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salice Blu

Salice Blu
Reserve with
Salice Blu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 66 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chef Luigi invite you to Salice Blu Restaurant for lunch and dinner, during the summer season and the winter season. It is possible to have lunch and dinner in the pergola terrace and in the back of the restaurant, if you'd like to see, we have an aromatic and vegetables garden. The menu is 100% Italian, with fresh fish from our lake and fresh hand-made pasta. To have a good table, it is good having a reservation and if you'd like Chef Luigi can pick up you in Bellagio. Every day chef Luigi does Private Cooking Lesson.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever! Anywhere. Period!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last night our group of five experienced travelers on the recommendation of a local cancelled our dinner reservation to a "top" restaurant in Bellagio in order to try Salice Blu. Thank goodness we did. Lungi himself picked us up at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbeloni and dropped us back there three hours later. In that interval we enjoyed the best meal we have ever had anywhere on Lake Como. The whole time you can see the food being prepared in the kitchen because a whole kitchen wall is glass. Lungi and his family were wonderful hosts and the food was Devine. Don't miss this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefluigi, Direttore at Salice Blu, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Buongiorno thank you for your very kind response with the trip advisor review
we are so happy all your family like the evening in the Restaurant Salice Blu in Bellagio, i hope to see you again a day for continue the rest of the menu suggestion with you!
Thank you Chef Luigi Gandola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    130
    47
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Luigi Gandola is a passionate chef and host - he created the most magnificent dishes on our visit.
The starters were delicious, their speciality Prawn Tempura, light and fluffy, the asparagus in Parmesan and butter sooo scrumptious, the mains absolutely delicious (guinea fowl extraordinaire; the grilled meat dishes a delight; the sides of vegetables with innovative twists). We went to celebrate my son's birthday and the desserts made this celebration complete.
Thank you Salice Blu!

Helpful?
Thank NCSFrankfurt_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant in bellagio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The celebrity chef with many awards was very accommodating and the food was excellent! This place has a fantastic gluten free menu just ask the staff for options. Being gluten intolerant the menu can be very limiting at times in general, but for Luigi nothing was too difficult. I even had the pleasure of eating a desert (all gluten free) tasting plate. The staff were very friendly. This place can be difficult to get to, you can call them and they can pick you up from the foreshore. Thank you Luigi for going above and beyond the call of duty for me and for that I am extremely impressed and grateful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a short trip in Bellagio, but stopped here to eat lunch and we were so glad we did! We got to sit in the beautiful outside patio area and the food was delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow but good main dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Luigi Gandola certainly likes to be the centre of attention. He takes the order of the guests and manages to cook delicious meals in the meantime. But you have to be patient. We had dinner reservations at 8:00 pm and finished our 4 course meal at 11:00pm. I know service is often slow in Italy and you have to take your time, sit back, relax and enjoy. But we were hungry too and it really took a really long time! And no, we didn’t order one of the ‘slow food’ dishes!

But it was worth the wait. Chef Gandola brought the ‘branzino cotto al sale’ to our table personally and had to attack it with all different sorts of instruments to get the fish out of the salty crust. Quite a spectacle.

The only thing not worth the wait was desert. We took the mix of deserts and were very disappointed. We got some dried out cakes … maybe that was because we were there on an extremely hot day …? Still, quality should have been checked before serving it.

Another really annoying fact, was the wait time for the bill. After having waited for it for half an hour, we went up to the counter to pay and still had to wait over 15 minutes to pay. The woman dealing with the bill had to calculate everything with a calculator and it took ages as everyone wanted their bill at the same time!
That put a dumper on the night.

But as far as the food and chef Gandola’s passion for food is concerned; this restaurant is recommendable. Be prepared to pay for it though. But all restaurants in Bellagio are expensive and this was the only one we tried that served a decent meal. It is worth paying the extra more at Il Salice Blu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salice Blu also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Salice Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing