We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on Lake Como” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menaggio

Menaggio
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,264.74*
and up
4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein...
Ranked #29 of 277 things to do in Lake Como
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This attractive resort, located on the western shore of Lake Como, is a joy for outdoor enthusiasts who may be tempted by wind surfing and water-skiing on the lake, as well as golf and horseback riding in the countryside.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location on Lake Como”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Hydrofoil brings you quickly across the lake to Menaggio which is a nice central location to visit several town on Lake Como. From Menaggio you can see Varenna (train station) and Bellagio (lots of shopping and restaurants)

Lenno, a short central lake ferry ride, is a great place to begin a hike along the Greenway. The trail is well marked and offers great views of the lake.

Stay in the heart of Menaggio at Hotel Garni Corona with great lake views and convenience to everything in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MHarding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful city for families on Lake Como”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed one week in Menaggio. After researching the lakeside towns, I'm very happy that we chose Menaggio.

The location was perfect for our small children. From the flat layout (vs. Bellagio or Varenna) to the Kinderpark and close, convenient restaurants and shops to the Lido (both private and public), it was a wonderful destination. We were able to ferry to Bellagio and Varenna to eat and shop with ease.

There is a CONAD city in town for your grocery needs (be aware of the 12-3 rest/break), along with the local farm stand with excellent fruits and vegetables (no self service!). The local sandwich, coffee and gelato shops are also wonderful. You will find yourself in rhythm with the church bells, chiming every 15 minutes.

Parking is a bit of a challenge. We found a non-pay spot and ended up leaving our car there the duration of the trip, as it was not necessary once we arrived.

The private Lido is new, however expensive. It is clearly a destination and they have priced it as such. Each element (entry, deck chair, umbrella, side table, towels, etc.) costs money, and if you intend to use the pool, you must have a swim cap (3 Euro each) or you cannot swim. The public Lido is great and an easy walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCTraveler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lakeside views whilst dining but be wary of drinks prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The drive from Como to Menaggio followed the lakeside and was very attractive in the late afternoon light. We stopped in Menaggio for dinner. Parking was tricky, but we eventually found a place. The lakeside market was on (handcrafts, not food) and made the walk from our car to the restaurant area all the more interesting. The views of the water were lovely. There were a few boats moored and a smallish pebble beach which our kids just HAD to walk on.
Eating here was disappointing. Our meal was basic pasta, salads and pizzas - all edible but nothing great. We were offered a table without a view, even thought the place was empty. We indicated we wanted to see the lake, so we were able to move without fuss. The meal prices all seemed reasonable. We were never given a drinks menu. We ordered a bottle of water to refill our little kids drink bottles (it was very hot), a glass of milk each for the two kids and ordered one beer and one glass of wine for ourselves. Guess what - our drinks cost a lot more than our food! We felt cheated by the restaurant. Next time, ask to see a drinks menu so you don't get a surprise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Fionainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect lakeside holiday for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

dream vacation, perfect apartment called al pontile with lakeview by the ferry port .courtesy happyholidayhomes their staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly.
menaggio had a fantastic weekly market that went all the way round the lakeside.
balmy weather, lovely little tourist shops and cafes spotted on the cobbled streets of the town
menaggio was the best base to explore como, nestled perfectly in the golden triangle

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Catch the ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Didn't really spend much time here but the lady in the tourist office was very helpful. She told us that a trip to one of the villages on the lake would cost 9 euros or we could an all day ticket for 15 euros.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Molly_the_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menaggio also viewed

Dervio, Lake Como
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing