We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to our expectations”
Review of La Sosta

La Sosta
Ranked #18 of 316 Restaurants in Cremona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $52
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Solingen
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Did not live up to our expectations”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We choose the restaurant due to good comments in several guides. The staff was quite friendly, although the Italian (perhaps frequent?) customers were treated with much more attention than we. The prices are not cheap, therefore we expected that the food would be up to the price level. The pan-fried duck liver was very good, but unfortunately the sauce was clotted. The shortbread was very tasty, but a bit too long on the stove. The vegetables were heated in the microwave - you could not only taste this, but our table had a small window into the kitchen so that we could follow how the food was prepared.
All in all, a medium quality meal for which the price was too high. Perhaps they just had a bad day, let's hope so...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KasperSolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    172
    57
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast N .ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was taken there by the local tourism board, delightful food and great service and a very good place to dine. Italian family run (obviously) but if the tourist board are taking people there it must be and was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good local cuisine !”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can honestly say that they make the very best oven-baked, stuffed gnocchi I have ever tasted !
Good wine selection including organic.
Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueetMarylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I hope you speak Italian and if you do not, this is still a great little Osteria!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very friendly and polite staff (family), very attentive. More than happy to offer up the local favorites and specialties - - we were the only ones there and it was for lunch (set-up as a favor to us by a friend). I had a rolled beef on a grape branch, I found it to be very flavorful. The pastas were all done well and the sauces were typical of the area, some a little on the salty side. All the ingredients were local and fresh, enjoyed the salumi plate. There's a pretty impressive wine list for a small restaurant. The front (bar) is like someone's living room, sofa and all. Very relaxing place for a cocktail. The seating area is a little eclectic, but shows off the personality of the place (which is evident as you walk up to it!). Worth a visit. See http://www.osterialasosta.it/ .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice place, excellent food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Definitely not a cheap restaurant but the price tag is pretty much well deserved considering the overall quality of the food and the service received. On the way back home from a long weekend away, we decided to stop in Cremona (sort of halfway on the motorway..) for lunch and we found la Sosta googling the internet. I had a starter (tortino di patate e porcini) and a main course (guanciale di maiale con polenta) while my wife and kid had a main course only (tagliatelle fatte in casa con porcini). the food quality was up to the expectations all around. I also liked the idea of being able to drink a glass of good quality wine - we had a glass of Barolo - which is not usual in upper level restaurant. But the best came at the end (not the bill, of course..) when we enjoyed the desert: we ordered the semifreddo al torrone (traditional of Cremona) which was outstanding.
The bill was not cheap but I guess it's pretty much in line with restaurants of this league.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbiondi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sosta also viewed

Cremona, Province of Cremona
Cremona, Province of Cremona
 
Cremona, Province of Cremona
Cremona, Province of Cremona
 

Been to La Sosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing