We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Italy”
Review of Hosteria 700

Hosteria 700
Ranked #3 of 316 Restaurants in Cremona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Haiku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of Italy”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Introduced to this spot by locals, we entered completely oblivious to the amazing experience we were about to have. Presented with a menu for the ladies(sans pricing) I was torn between many dishes. The crostini muse was a harbinger of delights to come. Bread served in a foot high champagne glasss was novel, but the Gorgonzola, white truffle cream rissoto with goose confit tantalized. The filleted with a peppercorn cream sauce was divine. A bite of my friends beef salad(thin sliced cured, Italian style, beef with aged asiago cheese created a new obsession. This was truly the best meal in all of Italy that we experienced!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    244
    77
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cremona!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in town for four days, so had a chance to sample a number of restaurants. We came to this one because my Italian business colleague recommended it. Luckily, he brought us there because we might not have found it -- tucked away in the corner of what looked like a parking lot, it was quite unobtrusive. But once inside, we found ourselves in a very nice dining room which -- by nine o'clock -- was utterly packed. Everyone except us was Italian.

The pasta is freshly made, and surprising. Who would think of making pasta with chocolate? I was hesitant to try it because it sounded weird, but it was delicious. The starters were creative and delicious. For our main meals, I had the beef, cooked perfectly at medium rare, and sliced. My colleagues were all very pleased with their meals.

We ate at several other highly rated restaurants, but this one was our favorite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came based on reviews and will gladly return. Though hidden from the city's main once you enter you're in for a treat as you are seated in beautifully decorated room. The food was delicious, we had the appetizer from the house, 2 primi and a selection of local cheeses. The restaurant was full, but service was attentive. The only comment: the portions were a tad small for my taste other than that it was an incredible experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PitufinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, poor atmosphere”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The evening we ate ate Osteria 700, we were the only individual diners. There were two large parties in each of two adjacent rooms, whilst we were alone in a badly lit room between them.
The primi were good - my risotto was delicious. The secondi (Veal in my case) were also good, but I could not finish it as the risotto had been so generous. Service was courteous and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David315954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as the reviews”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our third evening meal in Cremona over a weekend in January 2012, starter was excellent, but main courses not up to standard of starters, and not in the same ball park as the food at Osteria de Melograno where we had eaten the previous evening.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caravagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria 700 also viewed

Cremona, Province of Cremona
Cremona, Province of Cremona
 
Cremona, Province of Cremona
Cremona, Province of Cremona
 

Been to Hosteria 700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing