We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Il Ciliegio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Il Ciliegio
Ranked #29 of 176 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed at Filippo's on the way to the French Alps, so we had only 0,5 day to see Alta Citta. Il Ciliegio was a very good starting point for sightseeing, although a bit difficult to find from the airport. Everything else was really good. The room was nice and perfectly clean, with a very comfortable and spacious bathroom, breakfast was very nice and Filippo even lent us his own Alta Citta guide book in English :) We can recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
53
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We too got a cheap flight with Ryanair and went on our 2 night adventure.

I too contacted Filippo direct and he went out of his way to answer any questions I had for him prior to arrival. He picked us up from the airport and then after we had dropped luggage in room he dropped us off a a lovely restuarant - Il Roccolino. 2 main meals-1 fish, 1 pizza, 1 bottle of house wine, 1 bottle water and bread = 35 euros. Really nice. Problem it was raining (heavy) and the walk back was 25 mins!

Beautiful guest house. Spacious room with double wardrobe and balcony. Own bathroon although had to go out of room to get to it. Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh bread, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats ect and piping hot tea/coffee. Nothing was too much trouble.

We caught the bus (about 50 yards from house)into the new town and had 3/4 hours there before going up to the old town. This is very beautiful and would have been better in the sun rather than the rain! Lots to see and do but cut short the visit to go back to guest house and dry out.

On our last evening we decided to go down the hill to a bar we had found earlier in the day for a sandwich and a drink. As we were leaving Filippo was outside and took us down the hill in the car which was very much appreciated as it was STILL raining.

I forgot to say that when we arrived at the guest house Fillipo gace us a detailed map and bus tickets for our use and expalined the bus numbers to us. This man could not have been more helpful.

All in all a very enjoyable 2 days and well worth another visit but in better weather!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caa19554601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

We found cheap flights through Ryanair to Bergamo airport and started to look on Trip Advisor for reviews and found Il Ciliegio. We contacted the owner (Filippo) direct and he was extremely efficient at getting back to us about all of our questions prior to booking. He also arranged for a transfer from the airport for us.

When we arrived we chose our room out of 3 really nicely decorated rooms which were all spacious, clean and modern. Filippo then spend about 20 minutes going through a map of the area highlighting what we can see and which are the good restaurants. It is about 25 minutes to walk to the "old town" however Filippo can give you lots of information and times of all the local buses etc. He also has a guide book if you want to know more about the area. He is extremely helpful.

Breakfast was also great and included croissants, bread rolls, ham, chorizo, cheese, cakes, fruit and yoghurts with tea, coffee and juice.

Bergamo is a lovely town with a beautiful "old town" to wander and see the sights but also with a modern "new town" with shops and cafes etc. The train service is good and you can easily do a day trip to Milan and you are also close to the lakes if you fancy hiring a car. Well worth a short visit!

We would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Helpful owner and good location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

This was one of the best of 6 places we stayed in Italy. The owner makes this an exceptional place to stay. He is meticulously clean. His breakfast was exceptional with attention to the little details that made it stand out. The room we stayed in had an amazing bed carved from the root of a walnut tree and a balcony that looked out on a quiet garden and views of the old town, Bergamo. Everythng was new and nice. We got excellent internet and cell phone reception. But the owner, Fillipo Carrrara, is the one variable that makes this the place to go. He takes time with each guest to go over the local map and sites to see. He personalized his advice and even took time to teach us the ins and outs of driving in Italy.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Alpinista08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Booked this hotel directly via email through their website:
http://www.ilciliegio.bg.it

The owner (Fillippo) replied directly and quickly and was able to answer all our questions prior to booking. He even arranged a transfer from the airport for us.

When we arrived he welcomed us and introduced us to our room which was exactly as pictured on the website - It was beautiful, spacious, clean and peaceful. The private bathroom was again clean and modern.

Once we had settled in he gave us a map and told us what we could see in Bergamo and how to get to all the places. It took us no more than 25 minutes walk into "Bergamo hold" but Fillippo did tell us where we could catch a bus if we didn't fancy walking.

He was even good enough to lend us a guide book for Bergamo too. He was a wealth of knowledge and really made us feel welcome. He also spoke very good English.

The breakfast prepared in the morning was extensive and delicious. We had a choice of ham, cheese, bread rolls, cakes, fruit, yoghurt, fresh juice, tea, coffee, croissants etc.

If we are ever lucky enough to return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The host was fantastic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

stayed at this place with my missus before i popped the question on lake como and it was fab . the owner is very friendly and the locatuion is very quiet . it will take you 20-30 mins to walk to the old town but is is worth it . the breakfast in the morning is great and ther is plenty of it . i would througholy recomned this place to young couples who dont want to spend mega oney to be in the center of ciita alta as the walk home and peace and quiet is a worth the distance. cflean rooms our bathroom was massive!! .

if we go back to bergamo which i think we will i will stay here .

  • Liked — location and price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billboUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergamo
B&B Hotel Bergamo
#12 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Alisee
Bed & Breakfast Alisee
#32 of 176 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Botton d'Oro B&B
Botton d'Oro B&B
#6 of 176 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa dei Fiori B&B
Casa dei Fiori B&B
#49 of 176 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dimora Le nove Fate
Dimora Le nove Fate
#3 of 176 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Ciliegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Ciliegio

Property: B&B Il Ciliegio
Address: Via Crocefisso 74, 24123 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Il Ciliegio 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Il Ciliegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing