We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Alba
Ranked #43 of 175 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Melbourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We were impressed with the spacious and well appointed bedrooms, with superb plumbing, and comfortable bed, painted ceilings and marble floor, and SO clean. Breakfast was a joy, continental style, with a good variety of food to suit anyone, and all so fresh. Good coffee too! The proprietor was very hospitable and helpful, and even taxied us to and from the airport. The location is brilliant, being in the centre of town, and handy for literally everything in the Citta Alta. We all had a very enjoyable stay there, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alaricaldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TRAVELQUEENBP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Alba and at Ca Rossa which are owned by the same family. I would highly recommend Ca Rossa (see my review) but here I focus on B&B Alba. I have nothing negative to say about this place, it is absolutely charming!
Here are some of the main points about this property:

1. It is just steps away from the main area for restaurants, shops and sightseeing in the old town (there are no cars allowed except if you have a permit so don't expect traffic noise to be a problem at all).
2. I have never stayed in a place with as much character as this. Our bedroom had a beautiful painting on the ceiling and the whole place was just so characteristic of what I picture in my head to be a traditional Italian home.
3. It is extremely clean and comfortable.
4. Pierangela and Alfonso are extremely friendly and helpful. Pierangela is full of really useful advice about where to go and they can help you out with transfers too. We took a transfer from the airport and also to the train station to get a train to Milan (the train fare was 7 Euros each for a return and trains run every half an hour or so).

Further advice:
There are some lovely restaurants in Bergamo old town so you will be spoilt for choice. We visited in March and it did not feel like a tourist trap at all. You definately feel like one of the locals. Pierangela will be able to advise you about how to get to Lake Como on public transport. We never went this time but she recommended this trip for our return journey. If you want a central room in Bergamo do not look any further than this. The Alba gets 10 out of 10 in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELQUEENBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Fantastic location in the heart of Bergamo old town, lovely rooms, very tidy and clean in a romantic and stilish old house perfectly refurbished to the highest standards. Very friendly and helpful owners too. Thanks Alfonso and Pierangela!!
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

What more can I say that hasn't already been said about the Alba.
The welcome , the accommodation, the location , all perfect. My husband and I had the privilege, too, of staying at Pierangela's B+B Ca Rossa for our final night - that too was just wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for this hostess - and her husband Alfonso, who despite not speaking English , met us at the airport, and was very welcoming. Their son and daughter , too, help out and are such pleasant young people.
Although the family don't actually live here ( at the apartment ) - they live at Ca Rossa, they are down often during the day ( and to make a delicious breakfast ), they can always be contacted.
I recommend BBAlba AND Ca Rossa 100%

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie_hughes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

We booked directly and was picked up at the airport with an BMW X5 for €20, as we came late at night. The man of the house did not speak english, but my italian went a long way.
The house is in the middle of the old city of Bergamo and it is one of the forgotten places to visit for turist. The B&B was lovely, and the breakfast was very good. The only problem was some construction work that started at 06.30 in the morning.
We will return

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The constructon work at 06.30 in the morning.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

Small, and very pleasant B&B in the upper town (citta alta) of Bérgamo. Wonderful situation in the heart of this medieval town – everything in the upper town is walking distance from the B&B. Easy to get to citta bassa using the efficient and regular bus service, or the funicular (although this was closed due to maintenance when we were there). You can of course, walk, if you are feeling energetic (but the walk back would be a long, steep climb, so use the bus / funicular for the return).

Our host, Pierangela, spoke very good English, was warm, friendly and extremely helpful with any questions that we had. She does not live at the B & B but is close by & easily contactable.

Our room (Leonardo) was cavernous with a large bathroom containing a massive shower. The room, which overlooked the street, was comfortable and very clean. A decent continental breakfast was served (somewhat haphazardly) around one large table in the kitchen area because the dining room doubles as a bedroom & was occupied for part of our stay.

Alba Chiara is everything that a good B&B should be – helpful, warm and informative host, clean & comfortable and well situated. We would happily return.

  • Liked — Friendly host, the room & the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

June 7th 2008 - Stayed with Pierangela & Alfonso at the Alba Chiara. Terrific B&B, superb breakfast in cosy kitchen prepared by Alfonso !
The B&B was spotlessly clean and superbly located in the upper town in Bergamo.
Pierangela is a wonderful hostess, she speaks excellent English, is kind, helpful and was willing to advise us on how to make the very best of our time spent in Bergamo. We will certainly visit this B&B again.

Helpful?
Thank lucyluDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#20 of 33 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B San Lorenzo
B&B San Lorenzo
#1 of 175 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B La Torre della Meridiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 175 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botton d'Oro B&B
Botton d'Oro B&B
#5 of 175 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Rivola
Palazzo Rivola
#28 of 175 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Alba

Property: Bed and Breakfast Alba
Address: Via Salvecchio 2 | Città Alta, 24129 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly Alba Chiara)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast Alba 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Alba Chiara
Bed And Breakfast Alba Chiara Hotel Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing