We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Bergamo”

Al Bacio Ristorante Pizzeria
Ranked #13 of 785 Restaurants in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the 4th day of my business trip in Bergamo, Italy.
The restaurant is 20 minutes walk from my hotel Mercule Bergamo Palazzo Dolci and the conference centre, Centro Congressi Giovanni XXIII.
This is the best restaurant I have eaten during this trip.

Of course, I have ordered different dishes in different restaurant and that would not be a fair comparison. I ordered the Seafood soup (initially planned as a starter) and also planned to order a lobster paccheri di gragnano.

I was shocked by the gigantic portion of the SOUP. It has over 15 mussels, two big pieces of fish, a prawn, octopus and three toast.
The soup is a bit salty (but consistent with all the dishes in other restaurants I tried during this trip).
The octopus is tasty and the texture is tender but not too hard.
Although I am not a fan of octopus, I like the octopus in this soup a lot.
All the ingredients in the soup are fresh and there is no fishy smell.
The soup itself is very nice (except too salty).
I can barely finish this soup and need to forget about ordering the lobster pasta.

But I still ordered a tiramisu. It is up to standard as well.

The service is good and the waiter is very friendly.
With the help of Google translate, I can communicate with the waiter without any problem.

For wine, they are a few selection for half bottle wine.
This is good for single travellers.

I would strongly recommend this restaurant for anyone travelling to Bergamo.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank allenc837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 798 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

We went there for dinner a bit after they opened, the restaurant is well kept and the service was always prompt, professional and friendly.
We enjoyed our seafood (fritto misto very much along with amazing vegetables and proper cooked fries)
Wine was also great and the sweets delicious also.

Pizza looked great, since by the time we left it came full of locals mostly ordering pizza and seafood.

It's a bit out of town, but have ample parking and definitely worth it to try it.

Best dinner we had in North of Italy this time around.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank marjus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Eight well behaved norwegians went out for pizza. The food was good, the atmosphere likewise. Until you notice that you are given poorer service than the locals. Even though some of us communicate in italian. So when they forget one out of eight pizzas, and give priority to cleaning tables in stead of getting us the drinks we ask for, and you notice that the locals get digestives and small peaces of chocolate at the end of the meal, which we don't, you start suspecting the staff of discrimination. It rains when we leave. We ask them to call a cab for us. They say yes, but never really gets to it. We walk back the thirty minutes to our hotel in rain.....Are you a foreigner, you should really consider if this is a place you want to eat

Date of visit: September 2017
12  Thank eirinv2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We visit this restaurant pretty often as we live close. First time we went didn't know what to expect. We always eat fish and it's the best we ' ve ever tasted. Very big portions, high quality of food, excellent service and environment. Prices VERY reasonable!

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Dina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

I have been eating several times at 'Al Bacio' and the food and service is excellent. I was there last time yesterday for dinner with friends and the starters was excellent and very fresh (based on sea food). Main course was fantastic (pasta and ravioli), all very fresh and very tasty. Service was great from the start till the end. Amazing wines and dessert to conclude. The restaurant is very warm and classy. I highly recommend, one of the best restaurant in Bergamo.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Stefano_Frosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Al Bacio Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing