We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Bergamo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we wanted to be in walking distance of Bergamo, and Citta Alta. We had a lovely room with a modern decor. There was a good choice at breakfast, but we ate out in other restaurants for our main meals. Bergamo is a gorgeous place with great history, and The Mercure Bergamo makes for a great base to go exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Public areas of the hotel are fine, although the bar and breakfast room are quite small. Theres some strange artistic theme running throughout the areas and rooms that I just don't get. The bathroom was part tiled and part silver paint - which made it look like it was a galvanised steel box, and the room I stayed in was a hideous colour. It certainly looked better with the lights off. On the subject of lights I found some areas of the room were too dark and I couldn't, for instance, read the instructions on using the safe because there wasn't enough light.

Finding my room was a challenge as most of the doors in the hotel do not have a room number. I ended up trying the key in several doors until I found the right one. Then I noticed the numbers on the floor by the door.

All these are minor quibbles. The beds are comfy and the staff seem keen to please. There's no proper restaurant at the hotel, but theres a few decent places within a few minutes walk. Breakfast is nothing special but was included in my rate.

My room was on the 4th floor where the superior rooms are. I wasn't in a superior room but it was certainly large.

Theres complimentary wifi throughout the hotel with individual sign in codes available from the desk.

Drinks prices in the bar are a bit on the steep side.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor seem large but you cant see out of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here 23rd October for 4 nights. We also got a room at the back of the hotel right over the building work, yes it was noisy enough when we were in the room but it stopped early in the evening and didnt start too early in the morning so it wasn't a problem. Our room was small, but clean and had a balcony. Bathroom was lovely - nice decor.
Breakfast was nice - the usual hot food (eggs, bacon, sausage etc) cereals, cheeses, bread, fruit tea coffe water etc etc .. all fresh and tasty
Reception was bright with plesant staff, it never a problem getting wi-fi codes etc.
Location was fantastic - less than 5 minute walk to train station & bus station. 15 min walk to the funicular up to Citte Alta .. I would definately stay here again if I was going to Bergamo.

Room Tip: don't request smoking room! room tend to be on lower floors hense no view! Also if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunkyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in October. We chose the hotel as it is near the train station, on the central street in the lower town. You can walk to the funicular to take you to the old town in about 15 minutes and the train station in 5 minutes or less. It is a safe area, there is a supermarket around the corner, a decent pizza restaurant in the same block and other shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel itself was decent, four star standard I would say. Rooms very a little small but comfortable, good sized bathroom. There was some building works outside that meant it got a bit noisy but generally this was a pretty good hotel and very cheap at the weekend price rate. Staff service varied... The person who checked us in when we arrived was a bit unfriendly, but when we left Angelica was very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in Bergamo for a few nights and using it as a base to explore the city and elsewhere via train.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Vietnamese_Whirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What you would expect from an international chain hotel. However spoiled for us a bit by dark rooms at rear and weird room lighting - Rooms and en suite bathrooms are a good size. However, there is no overhead lighting in the bedrooms - just table lamps plus strip lighting behind the high bedboard which serves no useful purpose at all. Also that weekend (end Sept) there was building work going on - hammering and drilling on Saturday morning - owners should really have redirected guests elsewhere. However, spotlessly clean, good hotel staff and service all round. By booking a pay in advance deal, we had a good breakfast included in the price, though there is 3 EURO per person per night tourist tax which is not included in the quoted price. The picture is a little misleading. Its not lit up at night! However, very close to bus and railway station and a good location from which to explore this historic town. If arriving by air at Orio airport, buy a Bergamo Card/Transport pass from the tourist office within the terminal building. 20 EURO pp for 72 hrs gets you to town and back on the airport bus, entrance to Bergamo Historic Museums and unlimited travel on official city transport buses and the two funicular railways.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bath as well as shower. Rear rooms share a long balcony which can be useful for gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeisatea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Mercure hotel chain lives up to their excellent reputation be it in France or Spain. The room accommodations were superb. Adequate room space for two people. There was a bathtub available for a long soak after a day of walking and sightseeing which is deeply appreciated by this traveler. Fantastic service and meal presentation in their restaurant. This hotel was the highlight for me during the tour made to northern Italy on the 5th and 6th of October. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCHill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.0 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#14 of 34 in Bergamo
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergamo
B&B Hotel Bergamo
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 100, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#8 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 88 rooms equipped with all comfort. The Hotel is located in the city centre of Bergamo (40 km far from Milan) opposite the "Papa Giovanni Congress Center" and near the "Donizetti Theatre", 300 meters from the railway station. The bus station with direct services to Bergamo airport is next to hotel. The Mercure hotel features a bar and facilities for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci Hotel Bergamo
Accor Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing