We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CREDIT CARD DEPOSIT-AN ODIOUS PRACTICE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“CREDIT CARD DEPOSIT-AN ODIOUS PRACTICE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pleasant staff,good breakfast,good location,nice bed.

Light fitting hanging out of the ceiling in the bathroom,poor Internet.

I was asked to give a 90 Euro deposit from my Credit Card and was told (after enquiring that I would not be getting a receipt).When I came to check-out the clerk on the desk could not operate te system and I was told that her colleague world do the refund when he came in.Despite two emails to the hotel asking for confirmation of the return of my deposit I have so far not received a reply .I work for a major Corporation and my Company places personnel in this hotel.I will ensure that this no longer occurs.If necessary I will take legal action against this hotel for the return of MY money.I will check my Credit card statemnt when I return to England this week and it is in the interests of all concerned for so the un-neccessary deposit to have been credited back to me.For the record the minibar contains only water and I had to tell the Clerk that I had consumed one bottle and had three breakfasts.........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    492
    136
    33
    13
See reviews for
93
491
76
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night here - it's close to the train station and about 15/20 mins walk to the funicular that takes you to the stunning old town.

It's a chain hotel so you don't get the personal touches - we found the room a little dark but overalll it was fine and clean.

There's a couple of great places for breakfast a short stroll into town - our favourite was
Mille storie e sapori - great coffee and pastries.

There's also a Spar shop just under the hotel if you fancy a drink in the room and don't want to pay mini bar prices.

Would highly recommend a day / night in Bergamo - it's a lovely town and SO much cheaper than Milan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EboracumYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for one night before flying from Orio Al Serio airport at the end of our holiday. The hotel is modern and well situated in the newer part of town; the funicular railway station was less than half and hour's walk away and the airport was about 15 minutes by taxi - reception booked this for us in the morning at a fixed rate of 16 euros. On the day we arrived we dropped off our hire car at the airport before flagging down a taxi to the hotel and that cost us 20 euros, so the hotel rate is reasonable. We then discovered there was an Avis car hire office right next to the hotel so we could have planned that better!

We decided to book a room that included breakfast because it worked out only 50 cents more than the rate without breakfast on the site we booked through. It was pretty average; buffet style breakfast with a reasonable selection of hot and cold food available from 7am. We had booked 3 rooms, all of which were clean, modern and had balconies. We did have trouble sleeping because of some teenagers running around late at night, but this wasn't the fault of the hotel. The staff were polite but formal rather than friendly. Our visit to Bergamo was little more than a stop-over before our flight, but it's a beautiful place, especially the old town. Overall given the price we paid and the location, I would stay here again especially when flying to/from Bergamo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed there for one night at the end of March 2013. The hotel is located between the train and bus stations and the Porta Nueva, both are only a few blocks away and you can see them when you step out the hotel door. My room was at the top floor (4th) right under the roof. Apart from the weird shape of the room and the none existant view it had all you need. A cosy bed, flatscreen TV, bath tub, mini bar and a hair dryer that I could use to dry my clothes after a rainy day in Bergamo. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good, too. A wide choice of bread, rolls, croissants, cerials etc. The regular rates at the registration seemed to be pretty high though, I guess I was lucky that I got a special rate when I booked online. Overall a good choice though, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Well nothing much to add to the title. Easy access by the train station and a short walk into the main streets of downtown Bergamo. Free wifi, quite fast, boring rooms but clean and functional, service ok, the sort of place that you sleep ok in but cannot recall its name two days later. Anonymous but innocuous and inoffensive. Fine for a one night whatever !

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel is located near train and bus stations. There is good tourist info building on the way to the stations.
Spar-market is just few meters away. Funicular to old town is about 1 km by the main road.
Excellent Taverna la Valtellinese just few blocks from the hotel.
Breakfast was all right. It just need better bread and more fresh fruits and vegetables. But generally it has a good selection. They had different cake every morning, witch was nice.
Room was quite small but cosy. I felt that it needed more light. Bathroom was very good and spotless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyosti_Poysti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very high quality for the price, helpful staff, walking distance from the train station, not far from the airport Orio al Serio, elegant venue, clean, nice and comfortable rooms, good and rich breakfast if included. I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllRoundTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Piemontese
0.5 mi away
Excelsior San Marco Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Property: Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 100, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#5 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#8 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 88 rooms equipped with all comfort. The Hotel is located in the city centre of Bergamo (40 km far from Milan) opposite the "Papa Giovanni Congress Center" and near the "Donizetti Theatre", 300 meters from the railway station. The bus station with direct services to Bergamo airport is next to hotel. The Mercure hotel features a bar and facilities for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci Hotel Bergamo
Accor Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing