We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish every hotel was like this one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here on a few occasions on business. I liked the hotel and Bergamo so much I brought my other half for a weekend.

This hotel is everything I want a hotel to be. The rooms and bathroom are nicely decorated and stylish; staff are pleasant and efficient; bed is comfortable; everything is clean; corridors are quiet; free wifi; price is reasonable; location is great. Only quibble is I would like a bright overhead light in the bedroom as the rooms are a bit dark for me.

The location is very convenient, being close to the train station which is also where the airport bus (only a 15-minute journey) and city buses stop. Unlike some Italian cities, the area near the train station isn't filled with unsavoury characters. Bergamo is a small city and all the attractions, lots of shops and restaurants are close to the hotel. Despite a beautiful old town, it's not on the tourist trail so no crowds and decent Italian food at a reasonable price is easy to find.

I'm sure I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. If is not that easy to find and park if arriving by car, but there are nearby road spaces (paid) or car parks.

One of our rooms was better than the other as it was a corner aspect so had two windows with a small balcony on one. Both rooms were quite small but adequate. Bed quite comfortable and bathroom quite large.

Breakfast was fine (the English hot buffet was OK) with a good range of breads/pastries and cold cuts of meats/cheese. Also included in our package was a bottle of wine and nibbles. These were good although there was confusion regarding if we were to take this in our room or the bar area.

Main problem was regarding no hot water the morning after we checked in. We were advised this was affecting the whole hotel. It was not resolved in a couple of hours so we went out for the day and on return late afternoon there was hot water. Although the staff were helpful when we complained, they said they could not after discount because the rooms had been pre-paid before arrival (on the Mecure website). We were not happy about this.

Central customer relations however were much more forthcoming and within 48 hours of our email complaint they offered 50% discount for both rooms for the day we were affected. We finally received the refund about a month after our stay after several follow up emails, so it pays to complain, after all hot water is a basic hotel facility.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just recently stayed at this hotel for the first time, although we have been to bergamo many times. The hotel was very clean and very central for all our needs. The breakfast was first class will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back which was'nt a problem as we had a good view of Bergamo Alta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonna612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely modern hotel right in the centre of Bergamo....close to the funicular to Citta Alta and close to the Opera House. The rooms are very spacious with a fabulous bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel....not cheap but great deals can be found through most of hotel booking sites such as venere.com.If I go to Bergamo again, will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfood10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here after a few nights in milan, wanting to experience a differen Italian city before home. Bergamo was lovely, and the hotel was a sound base.
The room was spacious and warm and the bathroom large and functional. The location was easy to reach from the station and lovely and central in downtown.
However, the room came with an expensive minibar with only two nasty thin plastic cups to drink from and the tea and coffee tray just had two nasty small cardboard cups, so more than one hot drink each was impossible. The wifi was not great, we kept having to go to reception for new codes when they stopped working and gave up in the end.
Breakfast was ok, no more than that. Pretty expensive for what it is.
I'd say this hotel is fine for business travellers, but for a couple on a break, I would have a look elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Vixster722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We reached the Hotel after a long and frustrating rail trip from Zurich but the reception staff were so pleasant and welcoming we immediately felt better, room was a good size, ditto bathroom, very quiet and clean. However, breakfast was most disappointing, scrambled eggs overcooked and "tired" even when we came down early, coffee appalling, tasted like cardboard! Which was a shame because we felt it let down and otherwise very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean and nicely decorated rooms and public areas. Very helpful staff. Breakfast could have better better but still was satisfactory. Nice quiet room, very well equipped bathroom. Good location near the railway station and shopping streets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EtM4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
6 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#14 of 34 in Bergamo
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergamo
B&B Hotel Bergamo
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 100, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#8 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $69 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 88 rooms equipped with all comfort. The Hotel is located in the city centre of Bergamo (40 km far from Milan) opposite the "Papa Giovanni Congress Center" and near the "Donizetti Theatre", 300 meters from the railway station. The bus station with direct services to Bergamo airport is next to hotel. The Mercure hotel features a bar and facilities for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci Hotel Bergamo
Accor Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing