We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place and b&b”
Review of La Valletta Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Valletta Relais
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super place and b&b”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hi great place to stay lovely walk into old town. Plenty to see and keep you busy for a few days 50 minutes by train into Milan bus from old town to station, no problem. Mario is a great host will pick you up from airport , brill ... Great restaurant just round the corner from hotel ... Great coffee and pasta everywhere .... Shops in new town have Milan fashions

Room Tip: Over look the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    70
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
55
191
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we spent two nights in a suite, was very nice, very clean, and they are extremelly kind and always with a smile and making everything easy for you. The breakfast was good, simple but tasty. Great place to stay to discover Bergamo, very close to the citta alta, but far enough to find calm. I really recommend it! Thank you!

Room Tip: the suite has a prive terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCYRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were looking for a small family-run hotel in Bergamo and, based on reviews in Trip Adviser, chose La Valletta. When we contacted the hotel, and spoke with Mario, he agreed to provide at a reasonable cost, a shuttle service to pick us up at Malpensa airport, as we would not have a car. When we emerged from the baggage claim area, he was already there, all smiles with his car. During the drive to Bergamo, which took about an hour and a half, we chatted with Mario, who spoke excellent English. La Valletta turned out to live up to its reputation. The setting, on a winding road, a couple of kilometers out of Bergamo Alta, was beautiful, with a lovely view of the valley. The house, which has been in Mario’s family for generations, had three levels and was immaculately clean and attractive. Mario was actually born in an upstairs room. Upon entering, we met his wife, Graziella. During our stay both were extremely helpful whenever we had questions about Bergamo. Our room, on the lower level, was quiet, spacious and inviting with a large bathroom and roomy shower. We also had a king size bed and floor to ceiling windows from which we could see the valley.

Since La Valletta is several kilometers outside Bergamo Alta, Mario & Graziella run a shuttle service on request at certain hours of the day. We were taken to the edge of Bergamo Alta and picked up at the same spot, near a gelateria, later on. Also, there is a small city bus that runs in the morning into Bergamo Alta, which we used one morning when we wanted an earlier than usual start.

The buffet breakfast had a wide selection and was of high quality, on par with the best other places we have stayed in Italy. It was served in what at one time was the dining room, with the main eating area in a lovely setting, just outside on the covered veranda.

One day we walked back to La Valletta from the drop off point, having forgotten to ask to be picked up. Since we are senior citizens, our pace was a little slower than someone younger and the first part of the walk was uphill. However, the entire experience was most enjoyable. Along the winding road back, we were enthralled by the lovely pastel colored houses with the ever present array of flowers outside, the beautiful green hills with Bergamo Bassa in the hazy distance, an elderly Italian tending his garden on sharply sloping terraced land and a tiny village complete with church and two restaurants.

On our second evening, Mario drove us to one of these restaurants. After finishing our meal we walked back to the hotel in the fading twilight.

When the time came to leave, we said our goodbyes to Graziella, and Mario then took us to the Bergamo train station and bade us goodbye. Mario and Graziella are a warm and charming couple, always helpful and gracious. We would recommend La Valletta to anyone who likes small, family run hotels, in an exquisite setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Selected from previous reviews and not disappointed. Located on a hillside with great views, 5 minutes by car to the old town of Bergamo, two restaurants within 5 minutes walk of hotel, Shaded terrace for breakfast. Great setting accessed by a winding road up from the main road. Secure parking available in the grounds. Bergamo is a wonderful old town and would take a whole week to explore everything.. Fabulous Here is what we liked:
owners could not have been nicer or more helpful Good fun.
breakfast was delicious -try their cooked eggs
the villa was cosy, clean and interesting
room was large and comfortable -we had a superior room
bathroom was very roomy and the shower was great
having breakfast on the veranda
the setting and the walks
the fine wines and beer from the bar

The only down side for us was the length of time it took travelling from the west- the Como area. We were on motorbikes and hit the rush hour going home on a Friday. No offence meant but Italian drivers ,particularly those on scooters etc, are ,mad' It took us two hours to travel 20 miles.
All worth it in the end tho. Loved it.

Room Tip: Because of the place being fully booked we started off with a standard room for one night and a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile


Just stayed 1 night but very memorable.. Bergamo is a beautiful city .. And our hosts were fantastic .. They recommended Mimi for a quick lunch .. Perfect .. And Franco's as a local good priced meal .. Both delivered perfectly.

Location is a very pleasant 15 min walk .. Into the old village .. There is a free shuttle service at selected times.. We used this for dinner in the evening.

Tourist advise was excellent and offered with great detail.

Breakfast included on the balcony and rooms pleasant and large in size

We really enjoyed our stay.. Too short . It is a beautiful city

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is an ideal place to explore Milan, the Lake Region, Venice, and the rest of northern Italy. We stayed in a suite for four, with a private terrace and a beautiful view of Bergamo. The hotel is impeccably run, and Mario and his wife go out of his way to make the stay relaxing and comfortable. This includes a delicious breakfast served on the porch and a free shuttle to Bergamo old town. This place definitely deserves its high ranking on Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana_not_Trump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great place to stay. We needed a hotel that was both close to the old city and the airport, La Valletta turned out to be a fabulous find tucked away in a green oasis just 20 mins walk from the old city. Mario and his charming wife have thought of everything, there is great attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. Mario drove us into town, booked restaurants and even asked us if we would like our eggs boiled for 3, 5 or 9 minutes! We had a personal reply from him when we booked via a search engine saying that he was looking forward to welcoming us, a nice touch. We upgraded to a suite with a terrace which had great views across the valley. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked again for our return journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
1.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
1.7 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#4 of 34 in Bergamo
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
3.0 mi away
BergHotel
BergHotel
#13 of 34 in Bergamo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valletta Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valletta Relais

Property: La Valletta Relais
Address: Via Castagneta 19 | Citta' Alta, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Valletta Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Valletta Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valletta Relais Bergamo
La Valletta Relais Hotel Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing