We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - old fashion hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Gourmet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Il Gourmet
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location - old fashion hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Sentrally located just outside the old city, and with the funicular to the top just outside the hotel.
We stayed in room 16, with a nice view over the valley. Old fashioned rooms, but clean and spacious though. No elevator, you have to use the stairs. Nice area outside, we had both dinner and breakfast outdoors.
The dinner was very good, they had an excellent set meny for only 46 €. Good service also from all the staff at the hotell.
A good choice when staying a night or two in Bergamo. Will use this again when in Bergamo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reisefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
33
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel's main asset is its location, right outside the old town (città alta). The rest of the offer is quite random, depending on which room you end up getting. When we arrived, we were given what is probably the worst room in the hotel (#12), with a insanity-inducing bathroom (no window, weak yellowish lighting, 70s decor and loud fan). The good part is that the lady at the reception gave me another room (#22) when I complained, saying "make it quick, the other tenants will be there any minute". What I did not like is that these new tenants had booked by phone 30 minutes before (I was standing at the reception and heard the discussion over the phone), while I had booked a month in advance and was given the worst room... On top of this, the hotel, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, has a lot of stairs and the breakfast is probably the cheapest I've seen in a long time. So: good choice if you can make sure you get a good room with one of the valley views (21 and 22 are good), but don't expect anything more. The owners are quite visibly happy with their setup and don't seem intent on trying any harder.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view. #21 and #22 are good choices. Avoid #12 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexbeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergamo hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff nice room in 1980's style with a stunning view over the new town. Be prepared to be woken up by the church bells at 7 am. A plus is the free parking space just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mats B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Il Gourmet is in a great location, very close to the old town area (and a scenic walk to get there), with the extra bonus of free parking. Main downside is that it is right next to the funicular station and a well-traveled road, so a bit noisy at night. We were lugging a lot of suitcases, as this was our last night before flying out of Malpenza (an hour's drive away), and navigating the multiple sets of stairs was a bit of a pain. Spacious, old-fashioned room with a lovely view over the old town. Breakfast was the most minimal of the places we stayed on this trip - pretty much just croissants, coffee and juice - no fruit, yogurt or cereals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaleMcLardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with plenty of character and located in a great spot. Parking off the street is a bonus and the staff are helpful. It's like staying in a hotel from a bygone era with very spacious rooms and bathroom. The view from our bedroom window over the Lombardy district was wonderful. The breakfast was quite good with fresh rolls and croissants but considering the price, could perhaps be a little better. But overall we really enjoyed the experience here and would no doubt stay again/

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Most of the hotels in the old part of Bergamo are fairly pricy. Not this one. Great location, functionally efficient and friendly is what you can expect from Hotel Il Gormet. Being a short walk to the centre of the old town is a real advantage and they have free parking, what a find.

Room Tip: If you don't like church bells choose another hotel, otherwise enjoy the charm. Most rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
464 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed here with 2 small children. The place was perfect for us. We had the small Apartment with 2 bedrooms. Simple but had all we needed (except Laundry).

The Owners and staff are all superb and attentive yet quite formal which is a nice change. Snra Evita and Srn Baretta were molto gentile as were all staff without exception.

The location is great and only a minutes walk to Porto Alessandro and Colle Aperta so access to Citta Alta is perfect.

There is ample parking and they can give you a temporary permit to enter the old city of you are driving, for limited traffic times (Thurs/Fri Evenings and all Sat/Sun). The bus (1) from Bergamo railway stops just at Colle Aperta so convenient to arrive by bus, and the same applies to airport buses (Orio al Serio).

A nice peaceful location, convenient, a nice restaurant.

I can give it a solid recommendation and we will happily return.

Room Tip: Family Apartment worked well with 2 small kiddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.5 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#6 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
#18 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gourmet

Property: Hotel Il Gourmet
Address: Via San Vigilio 1, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gourmet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Gourmet" Hotel has ten rooms and one suite overall. The rooms, located on two floors, have a magnificent view and are 9 double rooms and 1 single room. The suite, completely independent, has 2 double rooms, a dining area and a terrace (solarium) that the Client is free to use. All the rooms have air conditioned and independent heating, mini bar, satellite TV and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Gourmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gourmet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing