We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent view, beautiful rooms and excellent service”
Review of Hotel Il Gourmet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Gourmet
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If I ever decide to get back to Bergamo, Il Gourmet will be one of the reasons. It has all you need from your stay - huge and "in character" rooms with big beds and wooden furniture, excellent location with a view over the whole Lombardy (exceptional at night!), and of course excellent - nice, effective and with a great dignity - service.

Breakfast is not included in most rates, and that's for the better: nothing interesting, just coffee, fresh croissant and choice of jams. But you can have it for 10 euro, if you cannot start without coffee.
It is quite far from the main funicular, so if you arrive by train, take a taxi. But a stop of airport bus is just 300 meters from the hotel, and this is its last stop, so you won't miss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We really appriciate this hotel for its exceptional location near the upper part of the city: free parking, 100 m of the above funicular and the entrance of the upper part of Bergame. Very pleasant place with a huge terrace for the restaurant (breakfast and dinner for us). Good internet connection (room 15).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre_Georgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I chose this hotel mainly because of its location - the historical center of Bergamo Alta, which is the only part of town the tourist is likely to be interested in, is an easy walk away and the hotel provides ample free parking - but wound up really enjoying my stay here; and concluded that it deserves a top rating. My air-conditioned room was quiet, spacious, and well-furnished, with dark blue carpeting, attractive woodwork, and a bright and spacious bathroom attached; an outdoor terrace offered scenic views; breakfast was OK; and the price was very reasonable
As others have noted, this is a traditional hotel, run by an older couple whose only foreign language is French; wii-fi is available only in the lobby. The well-regarded restaurant (which seems to feature more than the hotel itself) was unfortunately closed the day I was there. But for comfort, location, and value, I doubt that you can do better in Bergamo Alta.
Note, however, that the route up there suggested by Google Maps is quite an adventure, and includes some of Italy's narrowest one-lane roads (but is worth the effort).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in May 2012. The room was big and airy, and facing the garden. We woke up every morning to the birds. The breakfast was not very interesting, but we brought our own cheese and ham and then it became very nice :) The hotel is situated very close to the bus stop if you arrive with the bus from the airport, and also close to the old town. The hotel is little and we found it very charming and Italian. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the restaurant looked very nice. Nice staff and we enjoyed having our breakfast outside under the wine leafs. Would like to stay here next time in Bergamo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

After being advised that we couldn't drive into the old walled city of Bergamo we decided to try anyway. Good thing we did. We found a park in the old city and walked to the Tourist Office for accommodation recommendations. Since we had a car we required parking and this hotel had its own car park - a huge plus when parking is at a premium. We had a corner room with spectacular views of Bergamo (the lower town) below. We were able to explore the ancient walled town and then enjoy our very pleasant accommodation within its walls. This boutique hotel has a lovely ambience and offers quality accommodation. Would highly recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The setting of this hotel sets it aside from all the others in Bergamo Città Alta (the old town up on the hill). At the foot of the steep climb up from the old town towards San Vigilio, that is a spectacular walk either late in the afternoon or early in the evening, the hotel has a wonderful shady terrace where you can sit out and have a very enjoyable breakfast or lunch. There is also a very good restaurant inside. The rooms are spacious with a good firm bed and a pleasant bathroom and I always stay here when I come to Bergamo. I have stayed elsewhere in Bergamo (in the upper and the lower town) when this was fully booked but this is always my first choice. It has its own car park, and is also within walking distance of the bus stop if you come up from the railway station or from Orio al Serio airport by bus.
I generally come here for professional reasons but it would also be my first choice if travelling as a couple or family. Bergamo Città Alta is a place of great charm and beauty and this hotel is well located for anybody wishing to explore it, though due to the steep climb to the Gourmet entrance I suspect that most visitors using a wheelchair would probably prefer the San Lorenzo, that is closer to the main square and not up a hill.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

So what if the hotel seems outdated? When you chose an hotel, you want a clean room, a fair price, you want WI-FI, you want a quiet place in a walking distance from the heart of antique Bergamo, you want nice, friendly and helpful staff, and we got it all here. In addition you get a very nice restaurant, a picturesque backyard with a splendid view on the old city. You just have to be either lucky to find a free room, or make a reservation long before.

Room Tip: See the rooms first, then decide. No elevators, we didn't see one, but didn't need it. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper_il_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
2.4 mi away
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
#18 of 34 in Bergamo
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#14 of 34 in Bergamo
194 reviews
2.6 mi away
BergHotel
BergHotel
#17 of 34 in Bergamo
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gourmet

Address: Via San Vigilio 1, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gourmet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Gourmet" Hotel has ten rooms and one suite overall. The rooms, located on two floors, have a magnificent view and are 9 double rooms and 1 single room. The suite, completely independent, has 2 double rooms, a dining area and a terrace (solarium) that the Client is free to use. All the rooms have air conditioned and independent heating, mini bar, satellite TV and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Gourmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gourmet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing