We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic church”

Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.35*
and up
Bergamo Half-Day Tour from Milan
Ranked #2 of 147 things to do in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Great Guana Cay
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Agree with recent reviews. We were overwhelmed with the inside of the beautiful church. One of the best we have seen in 15 years of church visits in Italy. Wish we could have had a guided tour to take it all in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank guanacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    246
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is a surprising lovely church, lots of tapestries, which are really beautiful. It is situated off of Piazza Vecchia, and we kind of found it by mistake, The altar, with its hanging crusifix, is interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bisselet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Ingles, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I did not expect this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

A must see! The Duomo is so simple in comparison. This is over the top in so many ways. A big surprise as I had no idea Bergamo was so important. Up for the European City of Culture for 2019 and I can see why.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canaryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

i liked alot you will stand in front of it for a while to see this artistic and its details .
also i liked bergamo so much you feel real italian spirite more than big cities and evey thing in it, it's restaurants&ways&shops and people i loved it more than milano

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must see in Bergamo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Basilica and Capella Colleoni are one of my most favourite attactions in Bergamo. For me Basilica is a perfect example of a beautiful church! It is beautifully decorated inside and gives you the feeling of being connected with the history of the city! The fact that one of the cardinals wanted to be buried in Bergamo is quite amazing! Definitely a 'must see' attraction!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissIzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing