We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hotel in great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bergamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
London,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hotel in great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

An old-fashioned 2 star Italian family hotel of a type that is fast disappearing. The owner is quite old now but still in charge and the place is the same as when I stayed there in the '80s and 90's -- bit like going back to your gran's place in the public areas. I happen to think that's quite charming.
Plus points:
Great location -- first hotel in main road in Citta Alta nearest to funicular.
Lovely old building and you are right in midst of medieval old town.
Very clean and all amenities you need.
Very nice and helpful staff.
But don't stay here if you want modern rooms, English TV, room service, internet, etc etc. Plenty of that in Citta Bassa so stay there. The rooms here are traditionally furnished, mattresses new, bathrooms spotless, Italian TV and free Corriere della Sera newspaper (which is enough for me).
I had a great single room (and those aren't easy to find) for a great price (57 euros) on the front of the hotel. Yes, it's very noisy from the people in street/cafe opposite (especially in summer when you need the window open -- although it was extremely hot outside it was cooler in the hotel). That noise diminishes after about 11 - 11:30 and then you get the road cleaners and LOTS of bells in the morning. But then you can open your shutters and see the Torre Gombito and this medieval town below -- more than makes up for bit of noise in my view.
And what is great is it definitely IS closed between 1am-6:30am (lots of signs in hotel) so no noisy drunks crashing in waking you up in middle of night (which is very very quiet after cafes close).
Have eaten in restaurant in past and was good but didn't try it this time. I don't eat breakfast -- there is fab old traditional cafe (Cafe Cavour) just up the road for coffee and pastry. Bergamo's Citta Alta still has lots of old-style traditional shops (salumeria, butcher's etc) and the Agnello d'Oro seems part of all that and I really like it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NantheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
105
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed there for 3 nights in middle of Jan. 2005. Great location to be at, did not eat there, visited the tratorias and pastry shops just up the road instead.
Very clean!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalsuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Hi, I´ll writte this rewie ONCE AGAIN.
We did not get waht we were promissed when we spoke on the fone and through e-mail.
We explaind to the person in charge that we were a couple taht nedde a room for one night ( from the 31 of December to the 1 of January ) and that we were vegetarians.
The person that I spoke with all the time said that theres no problem at all to fix vegetarian foo for two.The person in charge said also that because it was on New Years eve we had to participate in their new years dinner!!!!that was compulsory if we wanted to stay at their hotel that night.At the end we agreed and pay the extra 80€ per person fro the new years dinner.
At the dinner we got as a starter, a boll with some vegies and shrims ans ham (prociuto).We complaind and we got NOTHING.the second plate was again non vegetarian, we complained and we got 3 slices of tunna,and then the main dish was non vegetarian, we got a lentil soup!!!! that was our new years dinner to 80€ per person that we had to pay.
NOPT EVEN A SORRY from the same person that I spoke with and exchanged e-mail to make sure our food was vegetarian....
the day after when we left the hotel, BREAKFAST was not even started and we got NOTHING!!!!!!
I would like to thing that the person in harge was not a homofobic, since we are a gay couple that wanted to spend one night there in order to get to the airport in Milano tjhe day after
That is me and my partners experience at the hotel Agnello D´oro...

  • Disliked — the rooms are small and not clean,at the bathroom the water runs everywere.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shainaftali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

A great location just 2 minutes from the top of the funicular in the heart of the Citta Alta (old Town). The hotel itself is very atmospheric and very quiet. Room very clean. No shower just a bath…a rather small bath which was fine for my 5 foot 2inch wife but less comfortable for my own 6 foot plus frame

Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean. Our only real ‘issue ‘ with the hotel was that as guests of the Hotel we were still expected to pay a service Charge (Coperto) for eating there.

[Many places in Italy charge between 1 and three Euros coperto which is the cost of just sitting in their establishment. They will say it is also to cover the cost of bread as well but we didn’t want the bread! Others have a service charge on top of the coperto. This all can make a cheap menu turn into quiet an expensive one]

Aside from this and the fact that they dont have ANY Enlish TV channels I would really recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Liked — friendly staff..great location
  • Disliked — Coperto for hotel gusts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULKILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We've travelled to lots of European destinations plus the USA, Australia & Asia but keep getting drawn back to Bergamo. Our third time was the best yet and I still just think of it as an undiscovered gem, because so few people outside of Italy seem to have heard of it.

The best thing about the Agnello D'oro Hotel is its location in the Higher Bergamo (Citta Alta) but the people there are really hospitable too and its incredibly clean. Wouldn't consider an evening meal there because there are so many other fantastic restaurants close by, but breakfast is great.

Staying in Bergamo is the closest thing I know to travelling back in time (many places literally have not changed in about 500 years) yet its only 15 mins in a taxi from the airport........

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve07524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

I booked this hotel with after reading some of the reviews here. However not all were complementary and so I was a little anxious especially as it is only a 2 star hotel. But it is an excellent hotel, so very central, you are just a stone's throw from the funicular and all the wonderful sites and restaurants of the Citta Alta. The room was clean though not particularly large but was perfectly fine for our purposes. There is a lift directly by the front door so no carrying cases up stairs. The bathroom was clean with a fine shower. I booked by email directly with the hotel and they replied in English. They are friendly and most at the desk can speak English. It can be a little noisy in the evening but ear plugs do the trick.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the upper town. It's best to visit the upper town on weekdays - too many people on weekends - crowds, noise, shortage of parking spaces. The room (facing a very narrow side street) was rather nice but unbelievably noisy on Sunday night. The bathroom was ok, the absence of the shower curtain was compensated by the huge size (length) of the bathroom. The breakfast was rather spartan - no cereal/ham/cheese.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.0 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#20 of 34 in Bergamo
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agnello d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agnello d'Oro

Property: Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Address: Via Gombito 22, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agnello d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Agnello d Oro
Agnello d Oro Hotel
Agnello Doro Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing