We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of the medieval town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bergamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“In the heart of the medieval town”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

To be honest, we didn’t expect the hotel to be that nice. The location was in the heart of the medieval town. It’s a nice cosy hotel, whilst the decoration downstairs is all over the place. Too much! But I guess that’s the hotel’s concept. Paid 50 Euros for a single bedroom which included breakfast. Most important thing was that the hotel was very clean and the people there were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
105
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I only stayed for the weekend but truly enjoyed our staying here. We found an offer for a double room at Euro 55 per room per night and we were not expecting much given the price. We turned out to be wrong. The hotel is small but cosy. The hall and the dining room are superbly refurnished with colorful pottery and many and many pots and pans of brass which give the place a unique atmosphere. Centrally located (Bergamo Alta is very small!) on the main street a few steps from the funicular which connects the lower city to the upper part.
The room was small but cosy and very clean. Same for the bathroom. Breakfast was fine - cereals, croissants, yoghurt, jam and home-made cakes. The staff is kind and helpful and makes you feel at home. A lovely two-star hotel worth much more. Totally worth for a pleasant gateaway in Bergamo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneres1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Words cannot describe how beautiful this hotel is. Every little bit of space in it is decorated, you feel in a fairy tale, and you can't help but fall immediately in love.
The breakfast and lunch are very tasty, and the prices are very good. The staff is very warm and welcoming.
The rooms are beautiful, and the bed is super comfy. And some rooms have a private little balcony, which is just perfection....
The location couldn't be any better. You're in the heart of the historical part of Bergamo. And you have the cable car (funicular) station a few steps from the hotel, so you can travel easily to the lower part of town too.
The only downside to this hotel is that you can't sleep past 6 o'clock, when all the bells in the churches around begin to chime, and the city starts to wake up. But you are so in love with this hotel (which is ranked as 2 stars hotel, but is much better than most 3 stars hotels), that you forgive it for being in a noisy spot... Who needs to sleep late when you have Bergamo to explore? ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Location location location - this hotel is positioned bang in the centre of the Citta Alta, the place to be in Bergamo. Situated very close to the funicular tram and a stones throw from the Piazza Vecchia. The rooms are basic but spick and span - the breakfast nothing special but fills the gap - but the position of this attractively old fashioned hotel with bags of history makes it an affordable luxury.

Room Tip: ask for a roo with a small balcony looking out over the little square in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place won't be to everyone's taste - the rooms are quite small and basic, the clanging church bells will wake you up when you're not necessarily ready and the wifi was not accessible on the third floor...

BUT! It is a terrific way to stay in the Citta Alta. It feels so much a part of the old city. The building is beautiful, as is the restaurant where the guests take breakfast. The location is perfect, especially if you are not staying long and don't know the area well. The staff are warm and friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having visited the beautiful city of Bergamo previously we were aware of the hotel and impressed by its central location. The hotel is situated in a small piazza and has a fountain directly outside the premises (the sound of which assisted us to fall asleep every night). We have stayed in a few small Italian hotels and this was fairly typical in respect of size, standards and service. Hotel staff were pleasant and willing to provide guests with as much information as they can handle about the surrounding areas. Rooms although basic by hotel chain standards were spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast was provided under the package we booked and was both typically Italian and plentiful. Agnello d'Oro is a fantastic base from which to explore Citti Alta and Citti Bassa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is probably the most central hotel in Bergamo (in Citta Alta). There are only 2/3 hotels in Citta Alta and this is right in the hear of the main cobbled street. This is also probably the oldest hotel in Citta Alta and has a lot of history and is very quirky. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are small, but are of a good standard.

The negatives:
As this hotel is so central (and on the main street), you may not get a quiet night's rest. If your room is overlooking the main street and you're a light sleeper, you better take earplugs with you. Mine was on the side street and still very noisy as the voices echo between the buildings - I guess this is the price you pay for a central location, however, there is nothing better in the morning than opening the shutters and looking down on the main cobbled street and being right in the hear of it all.

Parking is a big problem (in Citta Alta in general) and when I booked the room through a hotel site, they alluded to having parking, when I got to the hotel, they advised me their parking spaces are limited and taken up already. I drove around for about an hour trying to find parking to no avail, eventually landing up back at the hotel and parking on the main street risking a fine. At 23:00 I had to go out again to look for parking and eventually found some, but I had to prepay the meter for the next day.

Internet access only works in the lobby, not in the rooms.

Overall though, this hotel is great for a typical Italian experience and is very charming at night in the heart of Bergamo's most popular spot - Citta Alta.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not facing Via Gombito for a little less noise pollution....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Il Sole
Albergo Il Sole
#16 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agnello d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agnello d'Oro

Property: Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Address: Via Gombito 22, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agnello d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Agnello d Oro
Agnello d Oro Hotel
Agnello Doro Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing