We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quirky”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bergamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“very quirky”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel has a great location in Citta Alta, between the upper funicular station and the central piazza. The guy who runs it is an artist and a collector of all manner of things. As a consequence the hotel is packed with art work and strange objects. The rooms are small and very retro, in that they haven't been changed for years. However it has a certain charm and is very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
105
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights,although its in a wonderful location and they got me a special parking pass for the cita alta the hotel was mediocre
room was a bit musky
the bath was so small i got jammed in it
as has been said its 2 star and its lucky to have got that
i usually rent apartments when we stay in bergamo,because although a beautiful city it struggles for really good hotels

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutonlagerlout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

A little hotel at the perfect spot in Cita Alta Bergamo.
Nice and friendly, wonderfully decorated.
A little noise from the courtyard side, but good beds.
Simple breakfast in a very nice room.
We loved the bathroom with its beautiful tiles!

Easy access to cable train to lower city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduveloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

There are a few things that let this place down....It has one of those shower curtains that blows onto you in the small shower area and sticks to you as you try to wash. Not what you want.

It is the only place we found in all of Bergamo that charges for the internet. You can get very fast internet in all the bars, cafes and restaurants but Agnello d'Oro likes to charge you 3 Euro an hour after a free first half hour. So tight and unnecessary. Drove us away from the place and had an aperitivo in Caffe del Tasso in the square with our laptops. Great nibbles supplied with the drink, but possibly would have had a drink in our hotel if they had been more generous.

Breakfast is not included and for the extra 6 Euro you get the sweetest croissant (with sugary apricot jam inside) and chocolate pane (quite the worst we have had the whole trip) and no offer of anything savoury such as a slice of cheese, ham or boiled egg. So if you travel as a couple, add on €12 for a breakfast I would definitely choose to miss. Go down to the Cafe Feniculare and take brekky there overlooking the city below. Spectacular. (closed Tuesdays)
Beware many things in Bergamo are closed either Monday or Tuesday. Cafes, bars, restaurants etc.
Lastly, although we asked for directions on how to get there, none were supplied. It would be so easy for the staff to have a set of directions to paste into their confirmation emails. We spent over an hour trying to find our way around the town, taking the wrong access entrance. Entering Bergamo is confusing. Ask for explicit details. It is so easy once you are told!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomaddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I don't visit medieval towns looking for everything the 21st century has to offer. I visit them for the experience and part of the experience is to walk its streets, marvel at the architecture and to have a touch and feel experience with history. This hotel was perfect in it's location. Absolutely perfect. Located in upper town, it is less than a one minute walk to the funicular linking lower town with the upper, older town. Being in the heart of the upper town is a big plus for me.

The staff was both friendly and helpful. There is no internet in the rooms but there is at the rear of the hotel on the main floor. I had to do an online check-in for my flight and print my boarding pass which they did for me from the front desk.

It is a two star hotel. But it is clean and the bed was comfortable enough for someone with a not-so-good-back (that would be me). While not a luxury hotel, it was a luxury to me to be in the heart of the most desirable part of town for such a reasonable price. Furnishing are acceptable leaning toward utilitarian but again, fine for all intents and purposes. If money is no object, there are luxury hotels in upper town. If money is an object, this is not a bad bet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel operates strange policy, whereby they close the doors at 1 p.m. so you cannot come back in after that time.
This is simply absurd in the 21st century for international travellers, especially in Italy, when the dinner is late and often followed by a trip to the bar.
Another thing, there are different rates advertised, on the hotel room’s door and those you end up paying – this seemed a bit wrong.
The hotel manager did not think there was anything wrong with either the prices or the closing time of the hotel. She also remained unconvinced about giving us the key, so that we could come back whatever time we wanted from the dinner.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sylwestergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with some friends. Just looking for a good time i Bergamo.

The location of the hotel is great. Right where it happens in citi alta. Nice restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms are quite small, and our bathroom was not great. But the room was clean and nice. Very helpful staff.

Skip the breakfast. Quite cheap, but boring. Spend your money on a local restaurant instead and enjoy great Italian food.

Only two negative experiences. The churches (there’s a lot of them around there) makes a lot of noise early in the morning. And the hotel is actually closed between 01.00 am 06.00 am. You are hereby warned…

Otherwise; can absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Threko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#20 of 34 in Bergamo
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Il Sole
Albergo Il Sole
#16 of 34 in Bergamo
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Castellana
La Castellana
#9 of 34 in Bergamo
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agnello d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agnello d'Oro

Property: Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Address: Via Gombito 22, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agnello d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Agnello d Oro
Agnello d Oro Hotel
Agnello Doro Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing