We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal and friendly service in Bergamo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Il Girasole
Ranked #47 of 182 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Il Girasole for 2 nights and it was excellent. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with a personal and memorable weekend. They run an inexpensive airport transfer service which we would very highly recommend as it made our arrival much easier. The owners also helped us find information about the area, including train timetables to the Monza racetrack. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed but were quite basic. The location was perfect for us, as it was down a quiet and peaceful side street very close to the railway/bus station and the main street of Bergamo, where there were restaurants etc. Overall, a lovely stay in a cosy B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-and-Ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Il Girasole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent people, place and location! And breakfast! A few minutes from the main station, a few minutes from the city center. For the old city you can walk if you like or you can take the bus and step off at the 2nd maybe 3rd stop. Then you can take the funicular. Transport to and from the airport is easy: by local bus or by Alfonso and Ivonne, the hotel's owners, at the price of the bus! Rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the bath is cool. You have everything you need - towels, soap and shampoo, etc. Breakfast is good, cafe is the best. Alfonso and Ivonne made us feel like home! You can use the living-kitchen (large) to fix something and eat. There you have a machine from which you can buy beer for 1 euro! Place is great! It is good to see Bergamo as well as use it as a base to visit Millan! Good also for a connecting flight. Alfonso recommended us the best pizza in town! Truly is, no matter the people there only speak Italian. 5-6 Eur any type of large pizza! For sure I will return and recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorrrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast is located very close to the Bus and Train stations in Bergamo and close to the city center and the beautiful old town. The accomodation is spotless and is very well run by Alfonso and Ivonne, who are the most helpfull hosts you could find anywhere, no request for information is a problem and the answer is accompanied by researched notes where necessary. Alfonso picked us up at the airport in Bergamo and returned us there at the end of our trip for a small fee. We would highly recommend this B and B, the positive reviews are accurate.
Pat and Irene Cork

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at this delightful B&B which is run by Alfonso & Yvonne (with help from daughter Alaria). Their location was perfect for us as it's just 5 minutes walk to both rail and bus stations and we like to use local transport to get around an area.
Alfonso offers a meet & greet service at the airport so we took advantage of that for just €10 return. He is very helpful and if you mention that you will be visiting a place, before you know it he will put together a 'programme' to include bus/train times and suggest sights/routes to visit. He also speaks Spanish and French and is learning more English by the day!
Although not much to look at from outside - because it's actually an apartment in a residential street that is a dead end - its a large first floor apartment with 5 rooms to let. We took a double with en-suite and we were pleasantly surprised at all the facilities on offer. In the room was a large double bed, a huge wardrobe, two chairs and even a desk with PC and FREE WiFi as well as a kettle and all the fixings to make tea/coffee! The bathroom was large with separate bath and shower and toiletries including dental kit were provided and also a hair-dryer too! The place is spotlessly clean and our bed & towels were changed twice.
The breakfast was continental and plentiful. The dining area/kitchen could also be used by guests if they wanted to bring in their own food for dinner. There was also a vending machine for cold drinks and a table with lots of local information leaflets.They entrust you with keys to the front door as well as your own room so you can pretty much come and go as you please.
All in all, they seemed to think of everything and if there was anything at all that you wanted to know, Alfonso will find it out for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicemaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good Location for train station and 20mins to old city.
Internet free.

Room was stuffy and not very clean @90 Euros
Breakfast very poor, processed packaged pastrys, juices processed and not fresh, coffee poor
Owners lacking customer skills but they are hardly running a hotel.

Room Tip: onr night stop only
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to be close to the train station the following morning. The hotel offered to pick us up at the airport for a nominal fee, which we gladly accepted. The room and the hotel were clean, and the shared bathroom was sparkling. We even had a computer in the room! The breakfast buffet was very good, and the hosts did everything they could to accomodate our needs (including our three-year-old son) The following morning we were driven the three blocks to the train station. Although we stayed here to be in a good location for our train ride, I believe this would be a good location also for actually visiting Bergamo. Alta Citta (Upper Town) is not far away, and the bus station for bus no 1, which goes to Alta Citta as well as the airport is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swede1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.3 mi away
B&B Stop & Sleep Bergamo
B&B Stop & Sleep Bergamo
#64 of 182 in Bergamo
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Donizetti b&b
Donizetti b&b
#6 of 182 in Bergamo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Bed Bergamo
Green Bed Bergamo
#3 of 60 in Bergamo
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
PrendiTempo
PrendiTempo
#17 of 182 in Bergamo
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le 5 Vie B&B
Le 5 Vie B&B
#14 of 182 in Bergamo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Il Girasole

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 6, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range: $62 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing