We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night all well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“1 night all well”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were just paying a quick visit to see the delightful upper town and chose this hotel mainly for its situation. We were pleasantly surprised with the room and helpfulness of staff and breakfast was impressive. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear abfree,
it is a pleausure to receive such a comment from an Expert Reviewer of Tripadvisor as you are.

I hope you will have much more time during your next visit, it will give you the opportunity to discover many other good reasons to choose us!

Hoping to see you again, greetings from Bergamo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    350
    110
    24
    13
See reviews for
150
274
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here, , we had a very clean room over looking the central courtyard and we had a good nights sleep.
Room had aircon little noisy when starting but no noisier than any other when running.
Staff were friendly .
breakfast ok but a bit strangely arranged and no toast!
Good location for buses and restaurants.
would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikebentleyturbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mikebentleyturbo1,
thanks for your comments, your suggestions are very useful and give us the opportunity to emprove our service.

I really hope to welcome you again in our hotel also because I really need to understand what you mean with "strangely arranged" concerning breakfast.

See you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel exceeded most of our expectations. Location was perfect...half way between railway/bus station and the old city....10 mins walk max in both directions. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and the shower amazing. Breakfast was a little disappointing but turned out to be quite typical for mid priced Italian hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnolan1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear gnolan1798,
"surprise" is the perfect word we would like to listen from all our guests... thanks a lot! We love to surprise our guests with lot of attention and care!

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel and please, if you are returning I would really like to understand your comment concerning breakfast, it will really help me to understand how to emprove this service!

See you soon, hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked 3 nights with my wife as we were flying back from Bergamo and wanted to have a couple of days in the area to finish off our holiday.
Arrival. I think it is very easy from the Airport by bus. We came by car, a bit more of a challenge. We had pre booked the expensive €20/night parking. Would have hated to try and find parking mid afternoon. You have to park outside the hotel, in the bus stop, then one of you (good luck if you are on your own) has to run in. They then come out and take your bags, then come with you to the car park half a block away.
Check in was fine. However the room did not have either wi-fi or a safe, which they claim they all have. Returned to reception, to be told ours was the only room they had without these?!
Room was changed without issue, and was OK, although wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. Reasonable size, good shower. A/C seemed to struggle, might be an issue if it was really hot.
Bed was comfortable enough and I slept well.
One moan. When most modern travellers have phones, i-pads etc which they need to recharge, do so many hotels, not just this one have inaccessible plug sockets. In this case it was necessary to crawl under the desk.
Location.
Central for the old part of the new town. 10 to 15 mins walk from the Funicular up to the old town.
Drinks are a bit expensive, although it is a city centre hotel, so not too surprising. Bar service a bit poor, as most of the time you have to either play hunt the barman, or get reception to send out a search party.
Breakfast is good.
A nice touch is free apples in reception which you can help yourself to.
Overall OK, and probably a 3.5 rating, but as this option does not exist, and I expected better, have given it 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I used to be disappointed in the past by Best Western hotels - the Cappello d'oro made me change my mind.

Good and friendly service, large breakfast buffet and varied & good food, comfortable beds, very clean room, for a very good price. The only thing that was not perfect is during our stay, they had difficulty with the air conditioning. It was working, although not powerful enough. The room was still comfortable though. And our room (not facing the street) was very, very quiet. Internet access was not super fast, but I suspect the problem comes from the distance between the router and our room (down the corridor) - as signal strength was not very high. Our room was a little small, but with sufficient storage room - so that was ok.

If I go back to Bergamo, that will certainly be my first choice hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan on relying on the Internet a lot, ask for a room close to the router - on our floor, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudbeckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
439 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a triple room for an early flight from Bergamo, our room was spotless, quite spacious, has a ps3 & flatscreen tv, only 2 english channels tho.
Breakfast was the usual fare, all good, no complaints.
Check in was quick & easy, nice town to explore, visited Citta Alta.
Taxi was €17 next morning for 5, very good value, the bus stop to the airport was outside the hotel @ €2 each but with luggage taxi was best option.
Would stay here again, 5 min walk from the train stn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear dgosul,
thanks for your review concerning your quick stay in our hotel. I really hope you will have much more time during your next visit, Bergamo is very nice! Of course having much more time you can also enjoy all the services of our hotel and, above all, our renewed Antico Ristorante del Moro!

I hope to welcome you again, see you in Bergamo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is located an easy five block walk from the railway station and about double that to the funicular to the Citta Alta.

Our room, 105, was narrowish room over the hotel entrance. It had old style clothes cupboards, with lots of shelving and hanging space. The luggage rack was wooden and the minibar was inside another commode, along with the safe. There was a TV with several English language stations, a writing desk and chair plus a small couch.

The bathroom is very long and narrow. The hotel provides Dove in mounted squeeze bottles at the sink and in the shower, which is nothing special. The shower cabinet is very cramped and hot water takes a long time to come through. There is a strong hairdryer which was appreciated. There is a heated towel rack in the bathroom but the heating was not turned on.

Breakfast is provided in the dining room from 06:30 - 10:00. There is a wide selection of mediocre quality items. The staff are kept busy clearing tables and filling up the buffet.

The overall impression of the room and hotel is okay and about a 3 star standard.

We had an issue in that our air conditioning was very loud and even though we brought it to the attention of two people who said it would be attended to, nothing happened. As our room overlooked a main thoroughfare, it was too noisy to leave the windows open all night.

The room opposite ours was very noisy and there were loud discussions well into the night, some in the corridor and others in the room, but we could hear it all.

This hotel is okay, but there may well be better in Bergamo, which is a delightful city and great base for exploring the lakes and mountains of the area as train and bus transportation is plentiful and inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear yns_10,
thanks for your review but "ok" is really far away from our target!

I am sorry to learn that there are several things you did not like, we will surely use your suggestions to emprove our service.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are not only ok!

See you again in Bergamo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arli Hotel
Arli Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Property: Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Address: 12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#10 Business Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing