We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent location beside airport shuttle stop. Very clean, friendly staff and breakfast good. We had a room at the back no street noise. However there was noise which could be heard from the room next door - limited soundproofing. Overall a good stay but by Irish hotel standards I would rate the hotel as a 3 star and not 4 star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear ArdMhacha,
thanks for your comments, we will keep your suggestions in consideration to emprove our service and give the best experience to all our guests.

Hoping to welcome you again,
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 831 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed one night during Easter 2013. After reading reviews on tripadvisor mentioning traffic noise, we made sure to ask for a room facing the backyard when booking -and were happy campers in a quiet room. Good beds, good size room and bathroom, good pressure in the shower, which is not always the case in Italy.
Free wifi, remember to ask for password upon check-in.
NB: Carpet on floor - if you`re allergic.
Breakfast was ok, extremely busy around 09-0930, queue to enter. Had choices of bread, rolls, ham and cheese, bacon and eggs, musli and yoghurt, good coffee and hot milk. The sweet choices were dry and tasteless.
Main shopping area a 5 minute walk away - 10 minute walk to the funicular up to the Old town.
We arrived by train from Milan, and walked 7-10 minutes to the hotel. There is an airport shuttle bus stop conveniently placed right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing backyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeaMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear JeaMad,
thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Concerning allergies, we have an entire floor of rooms with wooden floor and we also have a pillow menu with pillows for allergic people; furthermore our rooms are all equipped with double glasses so the noise it is really not a problem and you can enjoy a view of our beautiful city!

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel, have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Best Western Premier Cappello d’Oro is a great place to stay and is indeed worthy of its 4 star rating. We booked three nights in a superior double room on the first floor which we found spacious, comfortable and finished to a high standard of decorative order. We had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space so it was easy to keep the room tidy. The beautifully tiled shower/toilet was of an ample size and all the fixtures and fittings looked brand new and modern. We liked the little extras such as free shower gel and shampoo especially as we were only travelling with hand luggage (10 kilos per person with Ryanair). The hotel also provided towelled bathrobes (which were replaced every day) as well as slippers – the disposable type, of course.
The room was thoroughly cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. We were amused to find a heart shaped chocolate on each pillow after the cleaner had left. Little touches like this added to the pleasure of our stay at the Cappello d’Oro.
We had a mini bar in the room which we never used as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There was a good sized plasma TV but the only channel that was in English was CNN.
The one negative point we would make was that the room felt a bit cold. We turned the wall control switch to the highest setting but it continually blasted out cold air regardless of the time of day or night. As the weather during our stay was extremely cold and wet – (we were told by some locals that the temperature was 10 Celsius below average), we didn’t think this was a fault of the heating system but more a case of the hotel having pre-programmed settings for each season and May would normally be a good deal warmer. The inclement weather and the colder than usual temperatures were not the fault of the hotel.
We have read several complaints from previous guests of the Cappello d’Oro regarding the breakfast fare. We found the breakfasts more than adequate as there was so much to pick and choose from. The cold buffet had everything from cereals, fresh fruit, and yoghurts to cheeses and cold meats whereas the hot dishes, while modest in choice, were just as satisfying with scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon and occasionally omelettes provided. All sorts of sliced bread and rolls were available and real fruit juices such as orange, grapefruit, pineapple or tomato. The only breakfast item that seemed to be omitted from the menu was toast, however, the lavish choice of good quality food more than made up for this.
The free Wi-Fi was very useful and although a Tripadvisor contributor had major issues regarding the slow speed and reliability which we agree was erratic, it should be obvious that the hotel can only provide what is available so no complaints from us on this one.
The staff we regularly came in contact with were those at the reception desk and the dining room. We were always made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. We would like to say how much we appreciated their friendliness, hard work and commitment.
It has been well documented on Tripadvisor that the Cappello d’Oro is in an ideal location, this information is entirely true and accurate. We refer in particular to the bus stops to and from the airport being outside the hotel and the funicular railway, the bus station and the railway station all within easy reach. The hotel is certainly in the hub of Bergamo as all the amenities such as eating places, shops and pubs are on its doorstep. Bergamo is an interesting place to explore particularly as it is built on two levels that contrast in style and character. A visit to the upper level (Città Alta) is like taking a step back in time with its medieval charm while the livelier metropolitan lower level (Città bassa) is more modern and commercial.
Like many cities across the globe, Bergamo has its fair share of beggars. Unlike the familiar unkempt, unshaven characters that we see around the UK, they seem to be well dressed, well-nourished and clean by comparison. Many of them either had a cigarette in their mouth or a mobile phone in their hand. We were accosted several times by females in particular, thrusting a cupped hand towards us. As well as the beggars, there were several groups of winos occupying the benches in and around the bus station.
Despite the unfortunate weather, we really enjoyed our time in Bergamo and if we ever make a return trip, we would not hesitate to book the well located Cappello d’Oro where customer satisfaction seems high on this hotel’s list of priorities.

Room Tip: Email the hotel if you are unsure about anything. They always respond swiftly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Debbie... wow! What can I say? Your review make us feel very well, we are very proud of your words because we are working hardly to obtain these results.

You are perfectly right, customer satisfaction is really our priority.

Thanks for all your comments, we will take them into great consideration!

I hope to meet you during your next visit to Bergamo.

Thanks and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We travel extensively and frankly in the past i haven't been greatly impressed by Best Western. This hotel is a gem. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, it was spotlessly clean , the room was well equipped and the breakfast was way better than we expected. The management ofv this hotel deserve a big pat on the back !

Room Tip: W took a standard room and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryPortoDeMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear GerryPortoDeMos,
thanks for writing a review concerning your experience in our hotel.
We are very proud being considered a "gem" and we hope this will revalue the consideration you have of Best Western brand, there are surely many other gems in our chain!

I hope you will visit us again, it will be a pleasure for me to meet you and welcome you!

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

ALERT! If you have your computer with you and need a reliable internet to be provided, this is NOT the hotel for you. Internet speed here is simply pathetic. For lightweight emailing (without loading any files) it can work, but if you are using it in variety of ways, forget about it. You can put your laptop in a luggage and do not take it out until you go back home or to the next city. It would be no problem if they would provide an option of upgradable payable internet, but there is none. There is just a pass and login from reception. Seriously, it is not anymore 2005 when wifi was still not a most common tool for communicating the world. Hello Best Western! We are in 2013 already! Good morning!

Other than that, generally nice room with totally needless sofas, jacuzzi and a sculpture on the wall, but on the other hand with very small TV, under-equipped mini-bar and poor air-conditioning.

The location is quite central, 10 minutes away from Funicular going up to the incredible old city, same distance from train station and just few blocks away from Teatro Donizetti.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Raul F,
thanks for your alert-review.
It is really important for us to receive your opinion and your impressions and we are working hardly everyday to improve and grow our service.
I am sorry for the problems you had with wifi connection, due to the high request of this service we are working to strengthen the signal.

Thanks again for your comments, we will take them into great consideration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is well located, right next to the comercial streets and 10 minutes walking from Bergamo's train station.
Pros: good location, very friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean rooms and free internet.
Cons: small rooms, at least the 206, and the internet didn't work sometimes.
Final: I recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphaelpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Raphaelpizza,
thanks for recommending us!
We appreciate your review and take your comments into great consideration and use them to improve our service.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel in Bergamo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We (couple) stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. Breakfast was great - plenty to choose from. The airport bus drops you off just across the road (and bus back to the airport is a two minute walk from the hotel) - a few cafes and shops nearby, and the main shopping area was only a 5 minute walk, with the funicular station only ca. 10 minute walk (or you could hop on the bus). The only downside was the bar area - which was really just a room and we were the only people there on the Sunday evening before we went out for dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We faced out to the courtyard and had a little balcony with a table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_garden1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear l_garden1010,
thanks a lot for your review!
I am very happy to learn that you had a nice stay in our hotel and that you liked our service.

I hope you will visit us again soon, during summer we have a very nice external bar area, you will love it!

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
460 reviews
1.7 mi away
BergHotel
BergHotel
#17 of 34 in Bergamo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 12, 24121 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#10 Business Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $99 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing