We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2009. This was the first hotel in our 3 week Italy vacation that was like an American Hotel. Rooms were large. We had booked 3 rooms and each room had a complimentary bottle of wine. The breakfast buffe was very good. Most all the breakfasts in Italy were good. The front desk staff were always friendly. We had a bit of a hard time finding the hotel but not because of it's location. Just our GPS giving bad directions. Glad that it had a parking lot. The town of Bergamo is very nice especially the Alta Bergamo. What a gem. This hotel was the best in our Italy vacation. Hope to return there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank js5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Js5,

thanks for your review, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

From 2009 up to now our offer is even better, for example now we have a biological and a baby corner at breakfast; we have also completely refurbished our fitness and sauna space, we have created an open summer bar called "chillin" on the terrace and many, many other news that you can easily check on our website!

I hope you will be so curious to personally check all this changes and let me know what you think about it!

Best regards
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 807 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The best thing about the Cappello d' Oro is the breakfast. It included a variety of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, breads, eggs (scrambled or boiled), bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, cheeses, cold cuts, great coffee, juices, and friendly service. The worse thing was the rude front desk personnel. When we checked in we inquired about our pre-booked parking space, the front desk lady told us we did not have a space reserved even before checking her records. It wasn't until we showed her a copy of the Hotel's confirmation (which I had on my I-phone) of the parking reservation that the front desk attendant finally acknowledged that she was wrong. Before that she was rude and didn't believe us, what was worse is that she wouldn't even check her records! The bellman was also not helpful, he didn't even help with our luggage, he just stood and watched us unload our luggage. On another positive note, the rooms were small but clean. I would not stay there again, its not worth the headache of dealing with rude front desk personnel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRamirez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Mrs Ramirez,
first of all thanks for your review concerning your stay in our hotel.

I really do not know what happened on arrival with our reception staff, I think there has been probably a misunderstanding but anyway if you have felt a "rude" attitude please accept my apologize.

Due to the fact that you enjoyed our breakfast and you like the room, I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you and in this occasion I would like to meet you to be sure that you are completely satisfied.

Best regards,
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a really good hotel. We had a lovely quiet room with plenty of space for three of us. The beds were very comfortable and I could choose from the 'pillow menu' when I asked for extra pillows! We were provided with bath robes and a complimentary bottle of wine in the room as well. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent with a very good choice.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireFigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear YorkshireFigaro,
I want to thank you for your nice review concerning your stay in our hotel.
We are working strongly to ensure that each guest is satisfied and happy during his stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Bergamo,
Best regards
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We caught the bus from the airport (2 euros) which stops right outside the hotel. It didn't look that great from outside, but inside looked like all the photos I'd seen on the internet.(quite plush) We were booked in within minutes by very friendly staff, and given a room on the 4th floor. The room wasn't the biggest, but had everything you needed and was spotlessly clean. (and it was the same each day when we returned from or trips out)
The hotel is prefectly placed 10 mins walk to the station,10 mins walk to the tram to take you to the top town. It also gives a great breakfast, which was a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank STUART L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Stuart,
thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.
At the moment there are some restyling works in the building next to the hotel that's probably why it didn't look great from outside, it will surely change after that!

I hope we can welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Its a nice hotel near to everything. Clean and quiet. We have stayed here before and chose this hotel because it was just a short taxi trip from the airport - and we got breakfast early in the morning. This time there were no breakfaast - just some coffee and juice that we had to find ourselves. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenche J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Wenche,
thank you very much for your review concerning your stay in our hotel.

Concerning breakfast I do not know at what time did you left the hotel, but I can confirm you that our buffet breakfast starts at 06.30 while starting from 05.00 we have a limited self buffet breakfast for earlier departure.

I hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel,
Best regards,
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I concur with all the positive reviews. As a family of 3 we stayed there June 3-5 2012.
The location is central/easy access from the train, close to the walking/shopping street, the rooms clean, beds good, breakfast among the best we experienced anywhere in Italy.They also have limited on-site parking but you must reserve in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Larry,
I want to thank you for such a positive review concerning our hotel, this means a lot to us.
I really hope to welcome you again in our hotel and in Bergamo.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed there for just one night but found the hotel to be really high quality. Was able to get a very good rate on the hotel's website and don't think you would find better value in Bergamo. The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the train station with a bus stop just outside for going to the airport. Rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable. They were on the small side but have obviously been well designed and are really of a high quality. Thought the breakfast was a bit chaotic but that was only a minor issue. Special mention would have to go to the reception staff who were very welcoming and helpful with any requests in relation to maps/left luggage etc and would definitely stay there again if in Bergamo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkerhostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

your comments are really important for us and we really hope to welcome you again in aour hotel.

Best Regards

Best Western Premier Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arli Hotel
Arli Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Address: 12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#10 Business Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $95 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing