We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Its a nice hotel near to everything. Clean and quiet. We have stayed here before and chose this hotel because it was just a short taxi trip from the airport - and we got breakfast early in the morning. This time there were no breakfaast - just some coffee and juice that we had to find ourselves. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenche J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Wenche,
thank you very much for your review concerning your stay in our hotel.

Concerning breakfast I do not know at what time did you left the hotel, but I can confirm you that our buffet breakfast starts at 06.30 while starting from 05.00 we have a limited self buffet breakfast for earlier departure.

I hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel,
Best regards,
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 807 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

I concur with all the positive reviews. As a family of 3 we stayed there June 3-5 2012.
The location is central/easy access from the train, close to the walking/shopping street, the rooms clean, beds good, breakfast among the best we experienced anywhere in Italy.They also have limited on-site parking but you must reserve in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Larry,
I want to thank you for such a positive review concerning our hotel, this means a lot to us.
I really hope to welcome you again in our hotel and in Bergamo.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed there for just one night but found the hotel to be really high quality. Was able to get a very good rate on the hotel's website and don't think you would find better value in Bergamo. The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the train station with a bus stop just outside for going to the airport. Rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable. They were on the small side but have obviously been well designed and are really of a high quality. Thought the breakfast was a bit chaotic but that was only a minor issue. Special mention would have to go to the reception staff who were very welcoming and helpful with any requests in relation to maps/left luggage etc and would definitely stay there again if in Bergamo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkerhostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

your comments are really important for us and we really hope to welcome you again in aour hotel.

Best Regards

Best Western Premier Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bergamo is a wonderful place to visit; the upper walled town is pristinely preserved, with some of the best Baroque architecture in Italy. However, it is a long way up, with cobblestone, narrow and confusing streets (to say nothing of the limited parking). As much as my husband and I like to stay in towns like this, we were glad we chose the Cappello d'Oro in the lower town, which has great access to the upper town, without the hassle. When we were there, a special "art" deal gave us free admission to museums and free local transportation. As others have said, the bus stops in front of the hotel, and the funicular is only five or six blocks away (and great fun). The hotel is fine as is the parking--a small lot which at first seems to be inside a pharmacy. Right now the hotel is a bit difficult to find because the building next to it is under construction - hint: once you see the scaffolding on the corner, look carefully. You're there! And, the lower -new - town is fascinating in itself, with museums and 19th century historic buildings. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cap25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments, we really hope to see you again in our hotel!

Best Regards
Best Western Premier Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

WE stayed here for 2 nights on a leisure break and had a wonderful time. The hotel is so easy to get to from the airport, the airport shuttle and routes 1and 1A stop right outside the door. Its also very convenient for the city alta (od town) and the funicular railway. You can walk in 10 minutes or get the 1 bus outside the door.The hotel is modern and very clean and the breakfast selection is very good. Our room was very quiet and faced onto the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The service at the front desk was excellent and they provided us with everything including tickets for the bus. We found one of the best restaurants in Bergamo, La Bruschetta, just around the corner from the hotel. The weather was bad during our stay and we didn't fancy walking far in the rain so we ate here both nights and enjoyed both visits. Its very popular so you'd be advised to book especially at the weekend. Would definitely stay again if we return to Bergamo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, we will do our best to have good weather as well! ;-)

Best regards
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for business. Finding the hotel is easy - but finding a place to park and check in is a challenge. Fortunately I had a colleague who ran out and asked. She came back with a typical Italien answer: just park at the bus stop for check in...alright - guess this is how it's done in Italy. After that the concierge showed me where to park overnight - better, he drive there in my car with me. Little garage stall about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Not a perfect solution but anyhow. After that the lady at the reception checked us in quickly and the rooms we got were nice and clean but small. For 1 night fully ok. Hotel is located right downtown (lower part) with some good restaurants around it. Breakfast in the morning is nice with a good selection.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freizeitmokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest thanks for your comments.

As you have surely find out we are right in the city center that's why parking is few steps from the hotel: the best thing to do -as my collegue said- is to stop right in front of the hotel and our bell boy comes to show you where to park.

We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Advance online booking was a good deal, the location is excellent for the half mile climb up to the old city and is adjacent to the main shops. Hotel is modern, clean, attractive rooms, friendly staff with a good business breakfast. Maybe we've stayed in too many older American Best Westerns, this seemed a pleasant step up in quality and was good value. It was difficult in the one-way traffic system to get our car to the hotel on the right side of the road, and after that we were ready to pay the hotel €20 for private parking rather than go out again looking for a meter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCappellodOro, Marina- Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks for your comments, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope that you will come again to visit us.

Best regards
Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#4 of 34 in Bergamo
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arli Hotel
Arli Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Address: 12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#10 Business Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $94 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing