We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
289
408
140
32
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
289
408
140
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant old town citta alta business trip free upgrade upper city an ideal location lovely hotel top floor breakfast was excellent reception staff cable car hotel room the bus business hotel stayed here for nights shopping area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 893 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Do not stay in this hotel to save your life. You’d be happier on a park bench in front. I’m not sure where to begin with the screw ups, so I guess let’s start at the beginning. We show up at the front of the hotel, and there is not a single staff member around to help with bags or facilitate check in. We enter to the front desk where the communication was the worst I’ve ever experienced. We are taken to the supposed 4 star hotel “deluxe” double rooms to discover plastic cups wrapped in plastic in the bathrooms as well as on the desks, a bathtub that is falling apart, and absolutely nothing “complimentary” in the room other than their “wonderful” San Marco brand shampoo and body wash 2 in 1 combination. If you get depressed and feel like going to the bar, be ready to have to go to the front desk to ask for a bartender to come serve you. It turns out the bartender is also working in the restaurant on the top floor... fancy another pillow in your room? Well I did, and asked for it to be delivered to the room. A man shows up to the room 20 minutes later with a stripped pillow and the pillow case folded on top. The next day we decide to visit the restaurant on top “the supposed most expensive restaurant in Bergamo” where the service was once again terrible. Breakfast has a large selection of sub-standard products, the elevators have absolutely no synchronization, and the front desk manager is beyond rude. After explaining our situation to him, he said “if you don’t like it the door is right there. You may leave.” For future reference, his name is Robin [ - ]. Once again, I shall repeat, I absolutely do not recommend this hotel. A fish that stinks at the tail stinks at the head, and this head is poisonous.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LucasC243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile reception at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Mr. LucasC243,
I am not surprised to read your review. We take feedback from our guests extremely seriously and always encourage guests to let us know about their experience when they are still at the hotel and we have the chance to enhance their experience. I am really sorry not to have fully understood your needs during your stay, but I had the impression that there was nothing that the San Marco staff could do to make your experience of your own liking.
There are a lot of inaccuracies in your review that anyone could note comparing other guests’ reviews to yours, but we prefer to let it go and keep on spending our efforts to provide a superior service experience for each of our guests.
Please do feel free to reach out to me privately for any further query, my contacts are present in the business card you published.
Best regards – Robin Colori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Hotel Excelsior San Marco is in a fantastic location - a short walk to the train station and to the funicular to the Alta Città (upper city), with plenty of neighborhoods to explore right nearby. It's a big "modern" hotel (mid-century perhaps, aging reasonably gracefully) with helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. I had a single room—that rare bird, actually a hotel room with one twin bed! It was small but economical, and with a nice balcony.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trabbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Dear Guest
thanks for staying with us.
We Work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your compliments !
We look forward to giving welcome again!
Thank you very much!
Best Regards
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

The San Marco is in an unbeatable location near the center of "Bergamo Basso", 4 minutes walk from the train station and the bus stop, 2 minutes walk from the commercial center of the city and 2 minutes from the base of the funicular that takes yo to the upper city. In addition, the Bergamo airport bus stop is 50 yards from the hotel's door.
If you want to highlight something of San Marco, in addition to its location, there is the possibility of having an excellent breakfast on a terrace with an unbeatable view of the Upper City. The employees are super friendly and the prices are consistent with the quality. Difficult to take another choice. Every time I visit Bergamo I take it.

Room tip: Front rooms are the most recomendable
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Federico141984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Dear Mr Federico
thanks for staying with us.
We Work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your compliments !
At Hotel Excelsior San Marco, we strive to provide a nice service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us !
We look forward to giving welcome again!
Thank you very much!
Best Regards
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Great location for a long weekend break. Staff polite , hotel clean, breakfast good. Stopped here on a number of occasion, only a 5 minute walk to catch the venuchlier to the Alta Cita. Nice cafes and bars within easy reach.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Dear Mrs Amanda
thanks for staying with us.
We Work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your compliments !
At Hotel Excelsior San Marco, we strive to provide a nice service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us !
We look forward to giving welcome again!
Thank you very much!
Best Regards
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

It was the first visit to this hotel and we found an excellent staff there. The staff was very helpful and friendly! We arrived some hours earlier than the usual check-in time, and the receptionist solved for us to occupy the room promptly. The room was with full of windows, so it was a lot of light in it. It was only a little uncomfortable to wait hot water under the irremovable shower head in the bathroom.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GYBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Dear Guest
thanks for staying with us.
We Work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your compliments !
At Hotel Excelsior San Marco, we strive to provide a nice service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us !
We look forward to giving welcome again!
Thank you very much!
Best Regards
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews