We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel/Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and liked this hotel a lot. Modern but with some of that old fashioned Italian charm. The location is ideal - 2 minute walk to the funicular to get to the Citta Alta, 2 minutes from shopping area. We found the staff to be extremely polite and helpful. Our room was fine (we had the lowest rate and it was comfortable). Breakfast is also excellent, with a wide variety of choices. Free internet (although the sign in process is a pain).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandrewsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 747 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed on business.
This is a very good hotel with great bed, shower, wi-fi connection and very clean.
You can walk to the vernicular railway to the old town within 5 mins and for 2.5 euros you can get a great dinner experience in wonderful surroundings.
Hotel vety reasonable and breakfast is excellent
Highly revommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a bit old, but clean and with a new mattress.
Although in town it was quiet.
Roof terrace provides a great view but they wouldn't want to serve us a drink only. We would have needed to dine in their restaurant, which was disappointing and inflexible. So no good rate for service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel situated close to the train station and old city, Room spacious and very well equipped, ff not very friendly, does not respond to emails and if you ask them to call you a taxi in the morning hours you will be surprised to pay 17 euro for a 10 euro ride!

Room Tip: Superior rooms with old city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rares M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was there on business and the Excelsior San Marco was renovated to be one the business hotels recommended for business travelers visiting Bergamo. The city of Bergamo is a typical industrial city, so you would only be there on business. The Hotel and its rooms offer the basic amenities that you would expect for that price. The staff are OK.
Would recommend to anyone going to Bergamo and would use again if ever there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed the experience. Well placed for the funicular and for exploring the town. Staff were extremely helpful and polite, Room on 4th floor was lovely well equipped and good view from balcony. Breakfast was very varied, egg,bacon etc plus fruit,cheese,ham,croissants-certainly didn't go hungry. We will certainly recommend this hotel and will definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff were very good and the hotel is convenient for access to the Upper Town. Breakfast below average and at the weekend be prepared to wait for a table and for food to be replenished. This is not the fault of staff- they simply need more staff at busy times.
We have eaten in top class restaurants around the world and when we were advised that the Roof Garden was very good we booked. The views from the restaurant are exceptional and staff were superb but the gourmet menu (not cheap) was below average and we were very disappointed. In our opinion the chef was trying to be clever for the sake of it - the food was messed around with and most of the flavour combinations did not work. Although it was towards the end of April we were advised that the air conditioning was switched off centrally and when we queried this we were advised that it was because they did not want to run the risk of freezing. We heard other residents complaining because they too had very little sleep because of the stuffy atmosphere in the rooms/suites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roblin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.5 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
0.6 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Address: Piazzale della Repubblica 6, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central residential area of Bergamo, Hotel Excelsior San Marco offers its Guests ideal reception and atmosphere for any kind of stay. The Hotel distinguishes itself for its refined cordial service, enhanced by the beauty and convenience of its position. Facing an elegant square with a garden, far from the traffic yet very near the most exclusive streets of the city, Hotel Excelsior San Marco is a few steps away from the suggestive funicular that goes to the historical Upper Town inside the Medieval Walls. Provided with a Congressional Center with a multi-functional hall, it offers excellent personalized services for conferences, meetings and events with ensured success. Free WiFi Internet in the entire structure. Free Sky Vision Gold package in all the rooms. SHARED LOUNGE/TV AREA available with UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE/premium - FREE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Excelsior San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior San Marco Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing