We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Modern style, very friendly service, new rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petronilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Petronilla Hotel to your Saves list
Petronilla Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Modern style, very friendly service, new rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. You get a warm welcome, the rooms are original and modern. Bathroom with nice shower. Perhaps ask a room at heigher level or backside, because at night it can be some noisy on the street in front. The breakfast is original with fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit, and realy a nice choice of ....nice things :-) We also arrived late from our restaurant at the hotel, and the person in the hotel served us still a nice drink at the bar with the smile !! So when I come back in Bergamo, I certainly will stay at this hotel ! And the location is perfect at the city centre.

Room Tip: At the back side or higher level, it can be noisy in the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
210
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel looks nothing from the outside but certainly makes up for it inside. We only stayed here for 1 night - which makes me want to go back for longer to enjoy the experience all over again. The staff are so lovely and helpful - if you want to know where to go for a delicious dinner just ask at reception. We had spent 4 nights in Milan but the best meal we had by far was the meal in Bergamo, the fact that it was also the cheapest was an added bonus. This is a beautiful city - I would definitely recommend that you walk up the steep hill to the old city and enjoy the atmosphere and views. There are lovely restaurants and bars in the square for you to relax and indulge yourself with some wine or beer! Back to the hotel - the rooms are lovely, all mod cons at your fingertips. It is a very quiet hotel, we had a night cap in the garden which was lovely. Breakfast was delicious with a great selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, freshly ground coffee - what more could you possibly want? I would highly recommend this hotel - when I go back to Milan I would stay here the whole time and commute to Milan city to do the sightseeing stuff. Bergamo is far more beautiful - I can't wait to go back :-)

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms here - I'm sure every one of them is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larssonCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I spent two nights in the Petronilla hotel. We booked a twin room, we got one on the 3rd floor with a view of the buildings opposite. The hotel is situated a little out of the way for most of the good restaurants ( although v close to Al Vecchio Tagliare which is excellent) and close to the shopping streets in the Citta Bassa. The room was very clean and well appointed with a lovely bathroom with rain water shower. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, lots of good juice and coffee and the usual prosciutto and cheese, fresh bread and an assortment of cakes. The staff were very helpful and friendly. So why a little disappointed? Well I thought the room was overpriced at €210 per night, I prefer to stay near the Citta Alta when in Bergamo, the hot tub and sauna were not in service ( I didn't ask why but I expect it was because the hotel was not busy) and we have stayed in about 14 hotels / apartments in Bergamo and the Petronilla would not be in my top 3. For the record we love love love La Valletta and the Gombit is perfectly located and a nice place to stay for the Citta Alta and San Vigilio. The San Marco is conveniently located for both the Citta Alta and Bassa and is great value off season at our rate of €120 per night for a superior 7th floor room with balcony and wonderful view of the Citta Alta.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariao6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Uta , the manager, was wonderful from beginning to end. She gave us very clear driving directions and we were able to park right in front of the hotel at no cost. The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the funicular going to the Citta' Alta ( easy walk and necessary after eating all the good food!) and right around the corner from fabulous shopping. It's a great locatin to see both Bergamot and the surrounding areas. Rooms were quiet even with windows open. Bathrooms are quite large and beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Decor is contemporary. Oh, and the breakfast is delicious! Loved the homemade yogurt. We stayed 3 nights and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the Petronilla hotel, there is a great personal welcome by all the personell. From the welcoming receptionist till the great waiter at the breakfast, we loved it.
Breakfast is all hand made and you can taste that, besides, I love table silver that is used, you can see that the people are used to a high level of service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is wonderful and I almost didn't want to write a review because I don't want crowds to storm it.
Uta is the manager. She is wonderful. made great recommendations, upgraded us to a better room, just because it was available.
The room was very spacious, clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower had different settings.
Overall we felt that this was a five star hotel.
The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stop there again on my next visit to Bergamo and will recommend this hotel to all of my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankatuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a great little find. Only 12 rooms, each one is different. The staff are so welcoming, helpful and genuinely want to make your stay just perfect. The bedrooms are very modern and spacious compared to many in Italy. There is a small gym in the basement. The continental breakfast is included and is very nice. This was our first visit to Bergamo and we highly recommend stopping here. Old Bergamo is beautiful This hotel is in the lower (newer) part of Bergamo - near lots of great shopping and restaurants. If you go to Bergamo, do stay here - you will not be disappointed. We met many other guests who booked their next visit while they were there.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room and because they are all unique, one is not better than the other, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.4 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#5 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior San Marco Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petronilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petronilla Hotel

Property: Petronilla Hotel
Address: Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petronilla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Petronilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing