We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel but a little overrated?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petronilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petronilla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a little overrated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I spent two nights in the Petronilla hotel. We booked a twin room, we got one on the 3rd floor with a view of the buildings opposite. The hotel is situated a little out of the way for most of the good restaurants ( although v close to Al Vecchio Tagliare which is excellent) and close to the shopping streets in the Citta Bassa. The room was very clean and well appointed with a lovely bathroom with rain water shower. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, lots of good juice and coffee and the usual prosciutto and cheese, fresh bread and an assortment of cakes. The staff were very helpful and friendly. So why a little disappointed? Well I thought the room was overpriced at €210 per night, I prefer to stay near the Citta Alta when in Bergamo, the hot tub and sauna were not in service ( I didn't ask why but I expect it was because the hotel was not busy) and we have stayed in about 14 hotels / apartments in Bergamo and the Petronilla would not be in my top 3. For the record we love love love La Valletta and the Gombit is perfectly located and a nice place to stay for the Citta Alta and San Vigilio. The San Marco is conveniently located for both the Citta Alta and Bassa and is great value off season at our rate of €120 per night for a superior 7th floor room with balcony and wonderful view of the Citta Alta.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariao6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
211
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Uta , the manager, was wonderful from beginning to end. She gave us very clear driving directions and we were able to park right in front of the hotel at no cost. The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the funicular going to the Citta' Alta ( easy walk and necessary after eating all the good food!) and right around the corner from fabulous shopping. It's a great locatin to see both Bergamot and the surrounding areas. Rooms were quiet even with windows open. Bathrooms are quite large and beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Decor is contemporary. Oh, and the breakfast is delicious! Loved the homemade yogurt. We stayed 3 nights and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the Petronilla hotel, there is a great personal welcome by all the personell. From the welcoming receptionist till the great waiter at the breakfast, we loved it.
Breakfast is all hand made and you can taste that, besides, I love table silver that is used, you can see that the people are used to a high level of service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is wonderful and I almost didn't want to write a review because I don't want crowds to storm it.
Uta is the manager. She is wonderful. made great recommendations, upgraded us to a better room, just because it was available.
The room was very spacious, clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower had different settings.
Overall we felt that this was a five star hotel.
The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stop there again on my next visit to Bergamo and will recommend this hotel to all of my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankatuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a great little find. Only 12 rooms, each one is different. The staff are so welcoming, helpful and genuinely want to make your stay just perfect. The bedrooms are very modern and spacious compared to many in Italy. There is a small gym in the basement. The continental breakfast is included and is very nice. This was our first visit to Bergamo and we highly recommend stopping here. Old Bergamo is beautiful This hotel is in the lower (newer) part of Bergamo - near lots of great shopping and restaurants. If you go to Bergamo, do stay here - you will not be disappointed. We met many other guests who booked their next visit while they were there.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room and because they are all unique, one is not better than the other, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My 7 month pregnant girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a 2 night R&R stay in Bergamo after attending a wedding for the previous week at Lake Como.
We had booked the hotel based on good reviews, a convenient location and an individual style to our liking. We were not disappointed!

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a room upgrade. The room was stunning, plenty of space, amazing rain shower, comfortable bed and excellent air-conditioning to combat the 35 Degree summer heat.
Breakfast was delicious, fresh and enjoyed outside in the courtyard, the bar had a good selection of soft drinks and beers.

But for us the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Polite, chatty and everyone made us feel very welcome and we had excellent restaurants recommended to us and information on the city when required.
We were very grateful to be told we could have the room until we left for the airport, a huge help for a very hot and tired pregnant girl!

We will defiantly be returning to Bergamo in the next few years and we will not even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose the Hotel Petronilla based on the many good reviews in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were so friendly taken care of by Uta and her team the one night we stayed in the hotel in mid October. The room was very nice and the breakfast was heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aad_carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.4 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#6 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior San Marco Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petronilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petronilla Hotel

Property: Petronilla Hotel
Address: Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petronilla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Petronilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing