We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for climbing!”
Review of Botton d'Oro B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botton d'Oro B&B
Ranked #5 of 178 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be prepared for climbing!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Location is the only reason to stay here! After waiting more than 30 minutes outside a locked door, in the middle of the day, we finally reached the owner in order to check in.

The room was up 4 flights of stairs! And no help with luggage. The television did not work and the young girl who checked us in simply left us to 'figure it out' on our own. There was NO WIFI signal in our room, even though it was advertised with wifi.

The price was steep enough for the facilities, which were not adequate, although the place was very clean. Nothing convenient about climbing up and down 4 flights of stairs several tines per day. Sorry, would not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bottondorobg, Proprietario at Botton d'Oro B&B, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The Botton d'oro b & b in all booking portals clearly highlights that:
1 - there is no reception, so you have to communicate your arrival time if you do not want to wait outside the door.
2 - is a historic building with no lift so you have to be careful where you book especially if you have physical problems.
3 - the TV works fine, you just need to understand how the remote control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    83
    15
    6
    13
See reviews for
91
132
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the Botton d'Oro apartment for a night in February, we stayed there last year and we really liked it. Sabrina confirmed our booking by email.
When we were on our way to Bargamo we texted Sabrina to let her know our eta.
When we arrived in Bergamo we called her, we were met by a lady and a man who told us that we would not be staying in the Botton d'Oro apartment but a different one, we were a bit shocked, we phoned Sabrina who told us that people were staying in the Botton d'Oro apartment and that she was in Milan and that the other people would show us their apartment, we had no choice but to go with them and take this apartment, we had two children with us. We will not be going back to Bergamo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theGalwayresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Spacious room, super good breakfast and free WiFi inside rooms are value for money in staying at this B&B. all the site seeing point are in walking distance even with kids. The restaurant nearby are great .
we love the upper city and don't go to the lower city because the people there are not so tourist welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a lovely b&b and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Although we found it rather difficult to find on foot and it is a long climb up the stairs, the rooms are a pleasant surprise and very spacious. Breakfast was delicious and the service was fantastic. However, there is a small cost to park your car in a nearby square.

We definitely recommend this hotel. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDonald2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After some hesitation, the decision was taken to stay the night in the old town of Bergamo, Bergamo Alta, instead of downtown. We went up there by rented car (rent a small one, the streets are partly extremely narrow!) and thought that the GPS had had a serious breakdown before we, after having passed the entrance door twice, suddenly on the 3rd attempt realised that the GPS actually was right. We had arrived! But all we could see was a very small, discreet oval brass sign on an old, brown door, indicating that this was it! Our thought was; what is this?? However, once we were let in, we were shown to a very nice 2-room apartment on the 2nd floor by a very friendly Sabrina who gave all the necessary information about room and rules. Breakfast was more than satisfactory, extras were provided with a smile. This B&B facility is nothing for the spoiled snob arriving in an oversized SUV, but it represents a great possibility to be located in the heart of the old town in a genuine and appealing environment, with everything you actually need - and if you arrive by car, be sure it is a small one! A very nice experience indeed.

Room Tip: You have to carry your suitcases up the stairs, no lift - this is an old building. Parking may be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scand3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean and comfy 3 bedroom apartment located on the last floor of old building strict in the upper Bergamo. It's less than 3 min walking from old town's market square. I've stayed there for one night with 6 of my friends and we're delighted. The stuff is very kind and helpful. Very tasty breakfast. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: We had a apartment on the last floor and there was nice view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hare_otoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duras, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here recently, i believe there are several properties located in different areas.....not all the photos in the description relate to where we stayed.
The property was in the best location, but up on the third floor......not great if you are unfit of have young kids.
The room was warm and spacious and was nice and clean. The breakfast was generous.
The tv sound didnt work.
The staff were very accommodating.
The only problem was the bells!! church bells ringing from 7:30 in the morning every half hour until about 10pm!!!! ooh the bells, the bells!!
Parking is available and free in a local piazza but tricky to find when the GPS goes into walking mode and wants to take you the wrong way up the one way system!
All in all good value clean accommodation with a good breakfast in a brilliant location....what more can you want??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkatilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.2 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botton d'Oro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botton d'Oro B&B

Property: Botton d'Oro B&B
Address: Via Bartolomeo Colleoni 30 | Vicolo Pelabrocco 3, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botton d'Oro B&B comes from the idea of opening our home to all world travellers with the simplicity of a wildflower. Bed and breakfast run by a family, offers 4 locations in the city of Bergamo. BOTTON D'ORO COLLEONI 30: Situated in the main street of Citta Alta, composed of 2 family-suites (maximum 6 people) and of 2 family-rooms (maximum 4 people) BOTTON D'ORO GOMBITO 3: Situated in the main street of Citta Alta, 20 meters from Piazza Vecchia, it is composed of 2 double rooms with bathroom in-suite and 1 triple room with bathroom in-suite. Completely renovated, offers services such as a kettle with a selection of tea, air conditioning and a mini-bar. BOTTON D'ORO PELABROCCO 3: Right beneath the Walls, just a few steps away from Porta di Sant'Agostino, is a strategic place to visit on foot both the beautiful Citta Alta and the lower part of the city, full of shops and centres of cultural interest. This renovated structure is composed of three rooms with private bathroom and a beautiful view on the private garden of the residence. BOTTON D'ORO SAN GIORGIO 17: Location situated in a comfortable and strategic position, born to give the maximum comfort to those who need to be close to the Bergamo airport "Il Caravaggio", to the train station, to the A4 highway, to the University of Bergamo (located in Via dei Caniana) or even to the centre of Citta Bassa. Situated in a big villa of the Forties and completely renovated, Botton d'Oro San Giorgio gives families, businessmen, commuters, couples or students the opportunity of being comfortable and having the top of all services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botton d'Oro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botton d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Botton d`Oro Hotel Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing