We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect first visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Ghiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
I Ghiri
Ranked #22 of 175 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first visit to Cita Alta in Bergamo which we found utterly charming and beautiful, and cannot wait to visit again. We chose I Ghiri based upon the location and other's reviews but was wary that they were 'too good' to be true; they are not!

Crisitina is a wonderful host, helpful and friendly, and I Ghiri is in a very quite part of the town but within a 5 minute walk of the centre. We were lucky that we had two of the three bedrooms, and the third was unoccupied but I'm sure it would not have made a difference to our stay if this hadn't been the case.

The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable.

Visit Cita Alta, and stay at I Ghiri!!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are two bathrooms which are shared between the three bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acarter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A comfortable B&B about 5 mintes walk from the Citta Alta. It's in a quiet location and the owner Cristina who is on site spoke good English. Good value for money and great for 1 or two nights. There are only 3 rooms and two bathrooms no rooms are en suite. When we there only two rooms were in use so no problem. Owner also gave us recommendations for restaurants / wine bars that were good. She also arranged a transfer back to the airport at the end of the weekend overall all good friendly service.

Cant fault the service or cleanliness of the room so if you don't mind not being en suite then this could be the perfect quiet spot for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our stay here was the best of our entire trip in Italy! We loved the friendly, homey atmosphere of this gorgeous Bed & Breakfast. From the time we were greeted by Cristina and shown to our room (the largest one available as nobody else was staying that night), to the moment we said our goodbyes, we experienced such friendly hospitality and excellent recommendations of where to eat and what to do in Citta Alta that we wished we had stayed for longer. The room was huge and the bed heavenly soft, something we appreciated after sleeping in much harder beds at most hotels. The personal touches were everywhere and this included breakfast, where we feasted like kings on crunchy bread rolls, tropical fruit, cereal, boiled eggs and juice. We felt the most relaxed and comfortable staying here. Next time we visit we will definitely stay for longer. A perfect place to unwind away from the city crowds and reconnect to the simple things in life. Loved our stay - thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My sister & I had the pleasure of staying in Cristina's lovely home for the weekend and were delighted to find such a welcoming host offering a relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Cristina is lovely & even collected us when we had been given the wrong directions! Everything was very clean & inviting and the fantastic & varied breakfast was a lovely way to start the day. The house is in easy walking distance of town, where there are plenty of lovely shops andeasy access should you wish to travel further afield. Milan is only 90 mins away by train but Citta Alta is particularly charming. There is a very good Trattoria, just 100m or so along the road but there is no shortage of lovely restaurants and coffee shops in walking distance so a car is not necessary. I definitely plan to return and would recommend this little gem in a quiet, beautiful part of Italy to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If I could rate this 6 stars I would. What a lovely surprise in the beautiful setting of Bergamo Alta. Christina and her family's home is lovingly appointed, extremely comfortable, and impeccably clean and inviting. With Christina's help, we celebrated my birthday in one of Bergamo Alta's most picturesque restaurants. We, like so many others, found her to be charming and graceful and the quintessential host. We could not have chosen a better location to explore the city and yet have privacy and quiet. The accommodations were perfect and the special breakfasts made us feel as part of the family. We most certainly will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

You will feel as if you are staying at the home of an old acquaintance. Very quiet and comfortable house, just 10 minutes walk from the old Bergamo Alta. Owners of this B&B have created such a gentle and polite comfort that you may consider staying in Bergamo for an extra night just to be at the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirekN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading the reviews not sure I can add much. A wonderful, quiet stop for our busy travel schedule. Wonderful location to get to the old town. Fabulous breakfast. Owner went out of his way to help us in every way. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one with a balcony, one without. They were both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.3 mi away
A Casa Mia
A Casa Mia
#31 of 175 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botton d'Oro B&B
Botton d'Oro B&B
#5 of 175 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 175 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Donizetti b&b
Donizetti b&b
#9 of 175 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Rivola
Palazzo Rivola
#28 of 175 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Entro Le Mura
B&B Entro Le Mura
#25 of 175 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Ghiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Ghiri

Property: I Ghiri
Address: Via Costantino Beltrami 38, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Ghiri is a charming b&b situated 400 meters far from citta alta the ancient part of Bergamo . I Ghiri is a family house with 3 spacious rooms and 2 shared bathrooms . The bed and breakfast is the ideal place for both a relaxing and interesting holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your I Ghiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing