We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ideal base close to all transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Bergamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Bergamo
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An ideal base close to all transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We recently stayed at the Jolly Hotel (now NH Bergamo). We were delighted with the warm welcome from Marco at reception, who attended to all our needs on arrival and throughout our stay.
The hotel was comfortable and the breakfast was self service but as substantial as you wanted it to be. The orange juice was freshly squeezed which always pleases. The staff were very attentive. The location of the hotel was ideal, being very close to the railway and bus stations, and just a short walk from the Funicular train, which takes you to the Citta Alta.
Marco, at our request, booked a table for an evening meal for us in a restaurant in the Citta Alta and arranged a taxi to take us there.
All in all our holiday was enhanced by the attentive service of the staff and the central location of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    411
    150
    31
    6
See reviews for
86
334
48
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I liked this hotel however there was no atmosphere, very clinical...everything was perfect and maybe I am too Irish in expecting chat and banter at every step of the way

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maigheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was my 3rd stay at the NH Hotel Bergamo ( previously the Jolly hotel) and it remains one of my favourite hotels in the city.
Situated in the low town (Citta Bassa) it is close to the station and links to the airport while being in a quiet, safe location. All shops bars and restauarants are within easy walking distance and bus stops close by will take you to Citta Alta and all the buzz up there!
Breakfast is plntiful and of an excellent quality with hot and cold options.
The only downside is that the decor which was really funky and fresh 5 years ago is now looking a little tired so maybe a bit of a refurb would benefit a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The NH Jolly is indeed perfectly adequate. This seems like faint praise but read on! First of all, the rooms are lovely and spotless and the a/c works well (and very quietly). Breakfast is excellent too and offers hot options as well as the usual continental array. The hotel is well positioned just off the main drag and there are plenty of restaurants close by. In August, the hotel's own restaurant and bar are closed for their annual holidays, so be warned.
The main problem of the hotel is parking. There is plenty of it very close by in an underground public car park which even shares the Hotel's "jolly" name. However the journey from car park to hotel involved stairs and its a bit of a struggle with suitcases. When you check out, the hotel helpfully "validates" your parking ticket but charges you the same as the car park would have charged without this "validation"!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theneills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is my second stay at the NH Bergamo and I'm glad I chose this hotel again for our one night stay in Bergamo. With regard to price, it's very much in line with any of the other hotels in Bergamo, and in fact, it is 30 - 60 EURO a night less than some of them.... and breakfast is included here at the NH which is not true for some of the other hotels.

The NH is very clean and modern with extremely nice and spacious rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, nice and big bathrooms, air conditioning, minibar/fridge, and lots of lights and mirrors. TV is not flat screen but had lots of channels which was just fine.

One of the greatest things here is the front desk staff. Alice was on duty the night we were there and she was so helpful and friendly.... thank you! The young man who was at the front desk the next morning (didn't get his name) was also extremely friendly and helpful giving us extra assistance in a matter. I hope management recognizes them for this as these days guests don't always run into staff at hotels who are this friendly and helpful and it is truly appreciated.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the train station where you can also catch the bus to the airport. It is also conveniently located in an area with many shops and restaurants, yet sits just off the main boulevard so it is very quiet with no noise from the street. There is a SPAR grocery store a stone's throw from the hotel making it convenient if you need anything.

The only disappointment was the breakfast buffet. While there were scrambled eggs, croissants, juice, and cereal, it wasn't very good, although the granola cereal was quite good. That was the best part of the breakfast. The worst part was the terrible coffee. They had carafes of extremely watered down coffee sitting out... it was awful. A good cup of coffee at breakfast at a hotel is something I expect and look forward to, and when that doesn't happen, I'm going to write about it!

Overall it's a wonderful hotel with everything you expect .... clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, convenient location, and reasonably priced.... just don't expect good coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hcmc, Vietnam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stay there in August 2011. Got room 212 which is a double where staff had an extra bed. Paid 110 Euros including breakfast but no internet. Free lobby Wi-Fi available upon request at reception.
Everything look new but soulless.
The room was super clean with a decent range of amenities. Interestingly, the TV was still one of the 20th Century !!!!
The bedding was average to poor quality but strangely the pillows were in good number and really comfortable.
For the first time in Italy, no espresso or Capuccino were offered at breakfast. Only plain horrible american coffee was available (+ tea and powder hot chocolate). Probably a "signature" of this Spanish chain of hotel. On the other side, it was the first time I got real plain and delicious croissant.
The location of the hotel is ok, not far from the station but accessing the hotel from the road is tricky as there are no "smooth" access, you need to carry down/up stairs your luggages !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a very average to poor hotel. No free internet and nothing to really get you to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Piemontese
0.5 mi away
Excelsior San Marco Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bergamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bergamo

Property: NH Bergamo
Address: Via Pietro Paleocapa 1/G, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bergamo 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Bergamo sits amid the bustling streets of Bergamo Bassa. Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, the hotel is conveniently located just off the highway, a mere 300 meters from the railway station and just around the corner from the Papa Giovanni XXIII Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Bergamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing