We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value restaurant”
Review of La Bruschetta

La Bruschetta
Ranked #108 of 649 Restaurants in Bergamo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent value restaurant”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was there on my own a couple of weeks ago during the evening and chose the 'menu turisti' that was great value at €23.00. This included three courses (all delicious) and a carafe of red wine as well as bread.

The food was really good as was the house red. As I was on my own I was happy to take my time and read my book so I was pleased that there was no attempt by the staff to hurry me out.

The two staff members I encountered were very pleasant. In all there was nothing not to like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisatobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    266
    106
    51
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Horrible service, low average food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall a horrible experience. Surly and unhelpful staff trained in the Soviet style of ignore the customer then be curt and unhelpful when contact is made. Misleading drinks listing - e.g. beer priced at a high premium shown as 6.8% is actually 5.3% when delivered - and very ordinary. The price wasn't. Pizza very low average - tough dough, I assume from an electric oven; cheap harsh cheese, lots of cheap oil. Nasty. Final straw - a basket of old, dry bits of bread was dumped on the the table then charged at 2.50 Euros. This place had been recommended by staff at the nearby Mercure hotel - gross shame on them for suggesting this tourist-focused rip off place. Only good thing I can say about it is the ambience at the outside tables, which is pleasant though noisy due to traffic. Best to AVOID.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UkMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ok place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went there in summer - we were around 21:30 and the place was full. We didn't want look further so we decided to wait. The place is popular! A long queue formed while we were there and even if we were the first in line, there was quite a longish wait, around 20-25 minutes. However, the maitre (or owner, I am not sure) was helpful and taking personal direction for finding us a table as soon as possible, so the service on that count was personal and appreciated. The restaurant is big, and the setting is nice - but the food - while not at all terrible - seemed to resent a bit of the "quantity over quality" syndrome. Not terrible - not at at all - but neither great. Overall a pleasant experience - we were hungry :-) - but not a particularly memorable one. With a filled up restaurant, the service at the table was a bit more chaotic and we had to repeat some little orders, but again the director took charge and helped out. Prices were friendly so complaints on that side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I ate the tourist menu and it was a great meal for a great price.
All the other foods eaten by our party were also good.

Service was great, after we had eaten, there was some delay with receiving the bill, so we were offered a complimentary digestive drink.

All in all a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ari-Matti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Fun Night”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This gorgeous restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel staff and did not disappoint. We requested an indoor table and we were escorted inside to a beautiful authentic Italian eaterie. We were greeted by our beautiful lady server (sorry, didn't get your name) who promptly appeared with complimentary glasses of lovely Prosecco - a nice touch. The menu choices are plentiful, reasonably priced and all our dishes were delicious, the sweets were to die for! My husband ordered the wrong dish which was swiftly taken away and a replacement issued - at no extra cost - his fault he admitted, so we could have been charged. Overall, a great place to eat with great ambience. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfHols31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bruschetta also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to La Bruschetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing