We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for lunch”

Colleoni dell'Angelo Restaurant
Reserve with
Colleoni dell'Angelo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 660 Restaurants in Bergamo
Price range: $39 - $78
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Colleoni & dell'Angelo in the heart of the Old part of Bergamo in one of the loveliest places in Italy, among granite colums and arches, a unique and wonderful place where, in an atmosphere in which you can enjoy conversations enriched by many superlative interpretations of the best classical italian gastronomic traditions
Leiden, NL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I were in Bergamo this summer and happened on this restaurant as we wandered around the beautiful square. We got a shaded table outside. What an enjoyable meal! We took their lunch menu; two courses (we both opted for a starter and main course), water and coffee for 28 euros per person. The waiter recommended a local white wine at 20 euros a bottle.

The service was friendly and attentive (nobody laughed at my appalling Italian), the food was excellent value for money and in particular my partner's veal was in his opinion the best he had ever eaten. We left the restaurant having had an extremely relaxed and enjoyable lunch for a total of 80 euros. I would recommend this place totally.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    147
    45
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had two evening meals here - once on the terrace & once inside.

It's a beautiful setting & it's very comfortable - all the staff are charming & best of all the food is delicious. It's just a little special & we liked it a lot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amateurs serving astonishing food in a sparkling atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food in great atmosphere, served by apprentices. If you are ready to pay a fair price for a memorable dinner in an impressive place, and if you do not care too much about service, you should not miss out on Colleoni dell'Angelo. We had one of our best dinners since some time, including the wine, and would immediately go back again with friends or business partners.

However, there are also a couple of things that hold this place off being top class. And that's mainly related to service and maybe to some extent language.

We reserved with a note that we are vegetarians and would appreciate them to suggest a menu. They immediately called back and confirmed. Great! However, once there, we got the standard non-veg starter and an impatient reaction when we returned it. We had to inform virtually every waiter individually about us being vegetarians. And still one dish was served with a piece of fried bacon.

On the other hand, they remebered that it was my wife's birthday and prepared a wonderful surprise desert that finally appeared on the bill at a reasonable price.

We were there in truffles and porcini season - shouldn't be too hard to prepare a vegetarian dish. I'm sure this chef is capable of much more than you find in the menu - if the waiters would allow him to. Uninspired they point you to the two or three veg dishes instead. Do they talk at all with the kitchen crew. Sub-standard.

At arrival, no one would help my wife out of he jacket and bring it to the wardrobe. We had to ask, which doesn't make you feel very welcome.

Sub-standard was finally also our tip, that was given rather out of pitty and sympathy for the waiters who are nice but obviously don't know better. Hope they get some good tips from the other english-speaking tourists who make about half of the guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrdrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Possibly the best restaurant in Bergamo Upper Town”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you wish to impress your beloved one or your business customers this is the place to bring them to. Colleoni & dell'Angelo is the oldest restaurant in Bergamo and is located on one of the most charming squares in Italy, Piazza Vecchia. The interior is spacious (and hence not overly intimate) and classically elegant, old frescoes adorn the walls. In warm season there are also a dozen tables outside. The service is impeccably efficient and discrete, 10 out of 10. The food is also very good, I'd say 9 out of 10. Excellent choice of meat, fish and wine. The only thing I didn't appreciate was the small portions - you definitely have to order more than one course. All this comes at a price - for a full dinner expect to pay around € 100.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DejanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfection in Citta Alta, Bergamo”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited Taverna Colleoni in Piazza Vecchia (a beautiful square, centre of the Citta Alta) twice, in August 2012. Sublime food, courteousness unbelievable. Evenings in wonderful surroundings, never to be forgotten. Try the Tartare, prepared by the owner at your table, and let him choose the wine. Dessert: thyme scented wild strawberries, I felt in heaven. Our Jack Russell, Kyra, was very welcome too.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colleoni dell'Angelo Restaurant also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Colleoni dell'Angelo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing