We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and rooms in Bergamo”

Al Principato di Pignolo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Principato di Pignolo
Ranked #118 of 177 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Langaa, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and rooms in Bergamo”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Principato, just outside the old and beautiful city of Bergamo. Rooms were absolutely nice, and so was the breakfast served by Marilena, who was also very helpful planning trips, calling the tourist office and advicing us on public transport.

.

Room Tip: The room was a bit noisy due (traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubbas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelef80, Responsabile reception at Al Principato di Pignolo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It's wonderful to have guests like you!!!
Thank you very much.
Meri and Miki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked an apartment (a&a massara) for one night on the same road but the owner emailed us 2 days before saying that there was a problem with the apartment so he booked us a room in a hostel down the street for the same price. (50 euros for two people for one night) We were annoyed but it sounded fine- when we got there everything looked great, the owner was friendly and helpful and the room was nice. The location wasn't great, it was a bit of a walk uphill to the old town. The owner recommended a great restaurant and gave us a card that gave us a great discount. Problems- the shower water heater wasn't working and taking the cold shower soaked the whole bathroom. Good value for 25 euros each

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and Marilena and her son were both very kind, helpful and sweet with extra information on the town, and letting me use her internet connection when I could not get my mobile device to work. Clean bedroom and bathroom. Pretty room. I appreciated use of the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea in the evening and use of the fridge to put anything I bought. There was a little bit of noise from the motorinos in the night. The b&b was quiet. A good place to eat pizza and other things across the road if it rains and you are hungry. Kindness was shown to my 3 year old daughter. The bed was big enough for the 2 of us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_hJeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed only one night in this cosy hotel. The owner,Michele and his mother were very friendly and helpful with all our questions.Pretty,small,clean hotel,close to the city center and to bus stop that goes to airport.Breakfast was exellent,we(I, my husband and our children)thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelef80, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Al Principato di Pignolo, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Anastasija,
tanks very much!!! We hope to see you again.
Best wishes to your husband and your children and a big hug for you!
Marilena e Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this cosy little B&B on a nice little square just 10 minutes walk (or take the funicolare!) from 'citta alta' Bergamo. Marilena made delicious breakfast for us every morning in the living/kitchen and gave good tips on what to do and what to see.
Het son Michele also runs a nice lunchhouse in the new part of the town, also 10 minutes walk (and a nice spot for shopping). He made us a delicious lunch in his place called La Dispensa.

If you want a flashy or luxurous place, don't go to Al Principato. But if you like a nice, clean and cosy place in a friendly atmosphere, this is definately the place to be.
If you go there, send my love to mother Marilena and her son Michele.

Room Tip: There are 2 2-personbedrooms and 1 appartment. We had the appartment Colleoni, which is a little hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoWinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelef80, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Al Principato di Pignolo, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Tanks very much, dear Niko!

Best wishes and we hope to see you again.

A big hug.
Meri and Miki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

B&B located in good location between the Old City and Lower City. Michele, owner of B&B, was very good about answering emails during the reservation; he also will pick up and drop off to the airport if needed, for a fee. He was also good about asking what time is convenient for the included breakfast and he had extra bread so one could make a small sandwich for later. He also provided a map and good tips about the Old City. Would stay here again. About a 15 minute walk to the Old City. Also close to a bus stop that goes to the airport and town bahnhof.

Only thing we wish he had done was tell us either in his email or website that he only accepts cash for payment. This makes a difference since we had to spend extra time finding a bank plus had to pay for the ATM charges.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Antica Dimora B&B in Historic Residence
6.1 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#17 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
AroomS
AroomS
#15 of 58 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Principato di Pignolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Principato di Pignolo

Property: Al Principato di Pignolo
Address: Via San Tomaso 1 A, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing