We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with a nice view”
Review of Hotel Sole Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sole Mare
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our stay in Hotel Sole Mare was very pleasant. The room was clean, the staff very kind and the view was lovely. It will be even better when the marina is finished. When we arrived I didn't liked the smell of the room (I thought it was something like smoke, but was not). Soon I turned off the perfum that was in the plug and the problem was solved. The breakfast was very good for us that need of a well made espresso or cappuccino in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajante_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

A pleasant enough hotel, fairly small room with balcony. Our room had a bath and no shower (Other than a hand-held attachment) which for us was a disadvantage.
Views of the sea (and therefore the marina construction site) were obscured by pine trees. We suffered no noise disturbance from the work, nor from general traffic from the tunnel adjacent to the hotel which leads into town..

It takes about 10 minutes to reach the centre of Ventimiglia via a footbridge over the river. However with luggage it is best take a taxi to/from the station. The old town, on the hill on the same side of the river as Sole Mare is worth the climb to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David315954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here from 1 to 3 July 2011.

The hotel is located along the waterfront beneath the old city, on the other side of the river from the new (main) town. We found this to be a really good location as you are still within walking distance of the hustle & bustle of new town, but living in a more relaxed & quieter location.

I had a double room on the fourth floor to the rear of the property. Room was large, and modern. Bathroom was a bit tight and the fittings are getting a bit tired, but everything was clean. In room facilities included a fridge, a safe and satellite TV (no English channels).

Pros: All rooms have a mini balcony with great views - a lovely spot to sit and soak up some sun! Buffet breakfast was good.

Cons: Hotel WIFI is very expensive. Waterfront immediately in front of hotel is currently blocked off as new marina is being built. However there is a free public beach within 5 mins walk.

We recommend the Stella Marina across the road for dinner - food is good and the tables out on the balcony have wonderful views/atmosphere.

Room Tip: Higher floors will experience less street noise (hotel is next to exit of road tunnel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

It appears there has been no review since April this year. Wonder why?
Altho there is major construction across the little road to the stony beach, the room was quiet and comfortable. The staff were helpful and pleasant.
We always look forward to breakfast, and this is the first time ever I feel I should complain. OK - no cereals is not the end of the world, but we just felt the lack of choice was really mean. It was as if the Hotel was going to close the next day. The good reviews of 2010 as far as breakfast was concerned made us choose Sole Mare over other possibilities.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tettandlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very friendly personnel, full attention, care, good recommendation for a dinner.
Good location. Easy access by car. Easy parking. Nice breakfast. Nice interior.
Impressed

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmitrytsv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and in Ventimiglia. After a long day of travelling it was only a short walk from the train station to the hotel (Around 8 mins)

The staff and service was friendly and helpful, our room had a view of the beach which was across the road and we had a decent room size aswell.

Breakfast was included with our stay and we found it all to be very tasty. The hotel staff also recommended a nice restaurant for dinner which was only a 2 min walk from the hotel , the food was excellent.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. We wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benzine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Ventimiglia and Hotel Sole Mare both were not quite what we hoped for, but we still did enjoy our time there. We were looking for someplace on the Italian Rivera that wouldn't be filled with other Americans and allowed us to enjoy the beach and the area. Hotel Sole Mare is at the far end of town across the street from the water. Unfortunately, there was an unattractive vacant lot next door and the city was building a marina where the beach would have been directly across the street, so we looked out at heavy construction equipement and heard lots of dumping noise. We hadn't expected a beach of river rocks, but the kids did enjoy the clean water to swim in here. People were friendly, we never heard English spoken unless people attempted to converse with us (very gracious and patient people), and it was a relaxed beach town. Restaurants had great food and water views nearby. It was just on the border of France and we could be in Monaco in just about 40 minutes, which made for a great day trip. The hotel rooms were small standard European hotel rooms and met our needs. The staff was friendly and breakfast was good. We felt the value wasn't good compared to the rest of our Italy stay. I might consider other options if in Ventimiglia, but if you are here, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventimiglia hotels
1.3 mi away
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
#3 of 11 in Ventimiglia
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 11 in Ventimiglia
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#6 of 11 in Ventimiglia
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sea Gull
Hotel Sea Gull
#5 of 11 in Ventimiglia
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 11 in Ventimiglia
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Eva Restaurant and Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole Mare

Address: Lungomare Marconi 22, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Price Range: $124 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ventimiglia situated on the seaside promenade at few metres from the town centre, in a fascinating position between Sanremo (km 17), Mentone and Montecarlo (km 18). A refined setting for a relaxing and peaceful vacation. Living rooms, reading room, tv room, Wi-Fi, bar, breakfast hall, garden, private parking and garage. The Management is glad to welcome you in a modern setting and a comfortable and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sole Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing