We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this town”

Ventimiglia Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.37*
and up
Small-Group Italian Markets Shopping Trip from Monaco
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
774 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Love this town”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This town is a short trip form Nice and well worth the trip. The market is excellent with good quality produce. The old town is a pretty walk across the bridge, along the sea front and then up steps or via the "new" town. We preferred the scenic route. The old town is very atmospheric. Currently there is a lot of renovation going on which is needed in places but I think the essence of the town will be preserved.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    203
    79
    32
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ventimiglia good and bad”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we stayed in nice and went for a day trip by train to ventimiglia just over the border in italy. the trip on the train was pleasant and took 45 minutes at a cost of 14 euros return. on arriving in ventimiglia first impressions were good. very pretty little town. we arrived about 12.30 and the shops were just closing for a few hours. they have a few hours siesta or something. we decided to go to a restaurant for something to eat. i ordered a pizza for 10 euro, it was 7 euro but i paid 3 euro to go maxi. i should have stayed at 7 euro as what i received was the most enormous pizza i have ever seen. it was gorgeous too. only blemish for ventimiglia is it is full of beggars. if you smoke like i do then expext to be pestered by people every 5 minutes asking for a cigarette. a good day out still though

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A step back”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a last minute addition to our trip & it was a wonderful experience. We stayed in the old city and it was great to be part of a vibrant environment. The old city is an area full of everyday life, children on the way to school, playing in the open spaces, cafes full of locals. The old streets and buildings, a unique and vitale area. Julius Caesar lived here & we know why

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank flymomMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
806 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The old part of Ventimiglia is a steep walk up many stairs and small alleys, and then you are really back in time. Here time has been standing still - in a positive way! The old houses, the narrow paths, stairs up and Down and small shops and bars hidden everywhere is a part of this place - and an old church dating back before the roman period, but nicely restored.
The view towards the sea is from certain points fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
374 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Exciting experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This old town of Ventimiglia is worth a visit. All of a sudden you find your self lost in a mere maze of steep and tiny streets. Many of which are without trafic, as they simply are too narrow. Plants and flowers everywhere. Now and then you have the most amazing vue over the sea and the mountains.
There are small cafees all over the town, where you can have cooffee or drinks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventimiglia Old Town also viewed

Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
 
Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ventimiglia Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing