We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ventimiglia Old Town

Ventimiglia Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.58*
and up
Private Tour: Italian Riviera by Minivan from Nice
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family stayed in the old town for a week from 27th July. We were so happy with the beautiful old buildings, and sense of history all around. The local people were so friendly. My husband is studying Italian and everyone he spoke to was so pleased to hear him speaking their language and helped him with all the words he didn't know. The tiny shops supply just about everything you need from shower gel to Beach umberellas. Nothing is too much trouble.
Visit the cathedral for the crypt and baptistery. There are two very good restaurant's if you want to eat in the old town. The Medieval week celebrations are just starting and promise to be very good.
Excellent B & B Casa Ferengolio highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    191
    72
    31
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent visit to Ventimiglia. We stayed at the Calypso and it was very easy to find. The old town was unspoiled and authentic without the rush of the big cities. We had a wonderful time on the beach and walking in the city. Definitely go there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redarrowtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique mediaeval town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This old town still has a thriving community of residents and is full of life, unlike many that are perhaps more sanitised but lifeless. It also has countless historic monuments, wonderful old-fashioned grocery shops with fresh produce and a couple of brilliant restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Italian market near Menton France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are visiting the French Riviera, make sure you go this fascinating market on the border of France and Italy. Located just half an hour from Menton, or about an hour from Nice, do yourself a favour and take the train to Ventimiglia and walk down to the weekly Friday market just five minutes from the train station.
They sell everything under the sun at very reasonable prices. I have picked up whie embroidered linen tablecloths, lovely gold guilted wine glasses, more shawls and. capes that i will admit to, and even large blocks of parmesan cheese.
It has a distinctive Italian feel, and you will be spoiled for choice of restaurants offering typical Italian fare.
All in all, a lovely day out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2vagabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if going to Monte Carlo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We took a train from Nice to Ventimiglia. Along the way we stopped at Eze and Monte Carlo (MC beig our main destination). We stopped at Ventimiglia for just a few hours but it was a big change in character from the French towns. The Italians were very friendly and a lot more open and animated. The French were a lot more serious and calm. We enjoyed the laid back, yet busy nature of the city. It seewmed a lot more alive than MC, even though the two cities were both filled with people.

Compared to MC, Ventimiglia was not as well maintained and clean. MC is better for its architecture and luxurious nature. Ventimiglia has more personality and also better and more affordable food. The market was filled with fresh food and bargaining got us some amazing deals. The water front was also beautiful and similar to the rocky beach that Nice and Eze have but the beach was not as populated.

I would recommend stopping at this town. Atvthe train station it seems ghetto, but walking out of the train station only 1 minute later you will see that the city is in fact worth visiting. It's at the vary least a good change of atmosphere and a good place to eat. However, the only takeback is the lack of well-maintained buildings / architecture to look at.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank elenxhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventimiglia Old Town also viewed

 
Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ventimiglia Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing