We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night on the way from Italy to France. Lovely room and spectacular views. Staff were kind and service was excellent. We booked the 'Typical Ligurian Meal' from the hotel website. The food was really, really excellent. Suggest that you skip lunch beforehand as the meal is substantial and you won't want to miss any of it. Large swimming pool with lovely surrounds. Only downside is the poor WiFi access. We had booked a sea view room, but no access at all there. We were kindly changed to a lovely garden view room which did have access, though still very patchy. The garden view room was actually more expensive, but we weren't charge for this and the staff were extremely helpful about it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
63
114
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for only one night unfortunately but it was amazing :) Service was very warm and welcoming and from the hotel you can take a short drive to Monaco and Nice. The breakfast was good and it was so lovely to sit and eat in the morning sun. We did not use the pool so I can not comment on that. Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimflamelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The ride up to the Riserva is quite something, with multiple switch-backs and hairpin turns as you rise above Ventimiglia and the Mediterranean. The hotel/restaurant sits out on a point, looking east towards the town of Ventimiglia and westwards to Cap Ferrat, Monaco and Nice. If you aren't traveling by car, you probably don't want to stay at the Riserva, as getting to and from the town can be difficult - you certainly can't walk.
Rooms are spacious, clean and all with wonderful views. The food though, was really exceptional. We ended up having all our meals at the hotel as the food and views were just so great. Fish specialties and homemade pastas dishes kept us full. Good wine selection. And a wonderful breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Best if you are traveling by car or motorbike; difficult to get to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The views from the hotel terrace and rooms make the long twisty drive worth the effort. Great views across to Menton, Monaco and Nice.

Well signposted and easy to find with our sat nav and when you think you must have reached the top of the hill it gets even narrower and steeper.

Good 3 star standard with very traditional public areas and spacious bedrooms. We had a family suite even though there was only 2 of us but there was enough room for a family of 4 to share for a few days.

Free wireless in main buildings but it was a bit flakey whilst we were there. Restaurant not open for food all day but we had a very nice fresh sandwich and cold beer when we arrived mid-afternoon. Evening meals looked quite pricey and we ate dinner at a restaurant down on the coast. Breakfast average. Nice pool although the weather wasn't great when we were there (end August) with several large thunderstorms going through.

Would highly recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Family suite had two rooms and a lovely private grass terrace with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed there for a single night on a trip from Italy to France.
The hotel is a bit hard to find as it's located on the very top of a mountain of sorts in the outskirts of Ventimiglia. Beware if you're planning to go there with a very large car as you'll have trouble with the 180° corners (we drove an RX8 and it was just ok sometimes).
The view from the restaurant is amazing. Our room had a partial view of the sea which was plenty for one evening. The service was good and very helpful. The room is cramped, but again for a short stop (for 2) that was plenty. The hotel itself has an interesting 1950 "passée" decoration which reminded me of some older episodes of Colombo, which I love.
The restaurant itself isn't too pricey (if you stay at the hotel, you can have the mezza pensione menu for about 30€ per person), and the food is excellent. There were many more people at the restaurant than were staying in the hotel, especially some french people crossed the border to eat there.
Isolation from sound inside the hotel is good, you can't hear the other rooms, unless people are on the balcony which was good. Overall I'd go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Relax and calm - this motto aptly welcomes you at the gates to La Riserva. We stayed as a family of 4, including 2 children, 9 & 10. The family room was very spacious with double bed room (with an extra single we used as a sofa) and twin room with enormous terrace garden which had fantastic views of the cote d'azure, (views are stunning all the way to Antibes). As a family run hotel since 1964 (3 generations) a warm friendly welcome is guaranteed every day. Set above Ventimiglia in the hills, there are 2 roads for access, The back road which the sat nav took us initially is 5km or the more direct front road a lot shorter at just over 2km. Both roads are steep and windy in places and typical of the region. The hotel owner, runs a free return shuttle bus daily to Ventimiglia if you feel the need to get away, but the surroundings are so tranquil it's hard to leave. The children were entertained with the pool with 2 slides, pool table, table tennis and small playground. The restaurant serves superb food, (highlights include locally caught seafood and homemade pasta) and as the portion sizes are often large, sharing dishes can work well, the hotel is very accommodating, good children's menu and the hotel will happily mix and match between a half board menu, a la carte and gourmet menu. Puddings are home made and to die for. The son (current manager) speaks good English as does his 2 daughters who work at the hotel. The father and mother who you may meet at breakfast are French or Italian speaking. We shall definitely be returning. Unlimited WiFi internet very useful. Probably the most relaxing place I have ever been and I have visited around 50 countries. No wonder some reviewers have been coming here for decades! The only negative is that we had to leave and come back to rainy England!

Room Tip: Family room with view to the sea. These have been renovated recently with modern bathrooms and a sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cap d'Ail, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very nice place at the top of the hill.Even if it is a "curvy" road it is well signed, you do not get lost! With parking ,Very GOOD restaurant. Friendly Italian staff. You will see all the family from the young "Nonna" to the young granddaughter.
Ask for Desia, she will do her best to make you feel at home.!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaforesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventimiglia
2.3 mi away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 12 in Ventimiglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 12 in Ventimiglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#4 of 12 in Ventimiglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#5 of 12 in Ventimiglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Eva Restaurant and Beach
4.2 mi away
Villa Elisa
Villa Elisa
#4 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riserva di Castel d'Appio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riserva di Castel d'Appio

Property: La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
Address: Localita Peidaigo 71, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riserva di Castel d'Appio 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The antique building located on a peak about 300m above the sea and underneath the ruin of the "Castle d'Appio" is a 13th century garrison and enjoys a marvellous view of the Italian "Flower Riviera" and the French "Côte d'AzurUnder the old castle built by Roman Consul Appio Claudio in 185 B.C., in 1967 the hotel and restaurant "La Riserva di Castel d'Appio" was erected on the ruins of the old building which belonged to the same family who today is still the owner and manager of the hotel facility.A refined lounge for the winter restaurant, a flowered terrace along the swimming-pool for dinners in the candlelight, highly recommended is our fish specialities from the best traditional and international dishes. The Genoese, in the Xlll century, rediscovered the position of the castle, rising steeply 300m out of the sea, and almost totally rebuilt it. From the restaurant and the rooms you can enjoy the same magnificent view.The hotel is located between the "Riviera dei Fiori" and the "Côte d'Azur", 18 Km away from both Sanremo and Monte Carlo. To reach it you have to leave the A10 highway at Ventimiglia exit and run 1/2 mile toward the town. Then, after you cross a bridge on the Roya river, you have to turn right toward France. After 400 mt, at the traffic light, turn right and go on for 4 Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Riserva di Castel d'Appio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing