We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabot

Sabot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Santa Margherita Does not offer so much night life, and also your webside like others, doesnt show night life information other than restorants. The SABOT is a bar located outside, one of the Individual places to go out for an aperitif or later drink, homely atmosphere, relaxed dress code, and most importantly the owner Marco Grandetti and the staff team are very smiling and services. perfect for night out drink in the summer at Santa :) highly recommended! i have pictures as well if you like. thank you!
Rudgwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect for a crodino, accompanied by the plentiful canapes they always suppy and perfect for people watching, especially early evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carnegiebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    62
    9
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a very rainy country
Level Contributor
191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lots of extras with your drinks! Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great place to have a drink before dinner. We just ordered two drinks and we got a lot of food with it, vegetables with dipping sauce, potato chips, ham, cheese and a bowl of excellent olives. Enough to forget about the starter when you go to dinner. Although it is located on a busy street, it's nice to sit back and enjoy everything that is happening on the street and watching expensive cars drive by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Jacq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“All this for 6 euros!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in Sestri Levante for an extended time and decide to explore nearby towns. In Santa Margherita, I stoped in Sabot for an aperitivo after reading some TA reviews.

At first, I was a bit hesitant with the street noise, as the restaurant/bar is situated along the Main Street across from the sea. The main thoroughfare divides the restaurants/shops from the sea, so motorcycles and cars pass between you and the lovely water.

People had begun to come in, filling about 1/2 the outdoor tables around 6:00. I sat at the table nearest the street for the best people-watching. I ordered a bitter Campari, Campari with a little bottle of club soda on the side. The waitress was a sweet, efficient, accomodating server. For 6 euros, I was served my drink, accompanied by a small glass of sliced carrots and fennel with a sweet slightly hot mustard; a large presentation of crunchy, very good olive oil breadsticks; and a feast-on-a-platter: salami, cheese, proscuitto, spicy olives and focaccia. Mmmm! Usually, I sip one drink, but the place filled up to capacity, I became amused by the walkers and motorists, and decided to order a second drink. Another platter of fresh food arrived! This time, the plate included a green olive focaccia with the other servings the same. For 12 euros and a euro on the table, I had 2 aperitivi, enough snacks to constitute dinner, and pleasurable evening entertainment provided by nearby tables and plenty of people-watching. All in in all, a lovely hour or two spent before sunset.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We grabbed a drink here before heading to dinner one night. Their drink menu is extensive, and includes a lot of mixed drinks I'm used to seeing in America. I got a Campari spritz (which I later realized Aperol Spritz is much better!) They give you potato chips as well as an antipasto platter with meats and cheeses at no extra charge which was a great appetizer before we headed to dinner. Nice to sit outside and watch the people go by, although your view of the water is blocked by trees/park. Overall thought it was a great place to have a drink anytime of the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An American's American Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

To call this an "American Bar" is understated. It is a hip lounge in the center of Santa Margherita. They have an extensive cocktail menu that beats any I've seen in Rome or Venice, and their version of complimentary bar snacks is an antipasto platter. On top of all that, the service is excellent. I haven't seen harder working servers in all of Italy. It's no hidden gem...they are always busy and deservedly so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank inktone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabot also viewed

Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Sabot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing