We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Helios
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel Helios is a beautiful hotel with a terrific location! Stunning views from our room, the breakfast area, the terrace outside the lounge and pool area. The staff is professional and very
helpful! Great location from the train station as well as to walk beautiful Santa Margherita. Great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Guest rooms and public areas are clean and pleasant. Certainly I want to return! (no fitness center rating because I did not stop in to have a look) Fantastic swimming pool with many lounge chairs. The bathrooms are well stocked with amenities. There were three of us and we always had plenty of towels, shampoo, soap etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHelios, Direttore at Hotel Helios, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Client,
thank you very much for your great review, we are so glad when our clients leave the hotel satisfied and happy, all of this help us to continue our job to make the client's stay enjoyable with us.
Many thanks from all the staff
Kindly

Emanuele Giraudini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Their is nothing bad to say about Hotel Helios. It is clean and the staff are lovely and with a fab location you can't go wrong. Try and get a room with a sea view if you can. The bar is daylight robbery but nothing in this area is cheap.

I will stay again without question.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank itsfredlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the budget allowed. It is well worth the extra money to stay on the seaside. The views are stunning and expansive - you look straight out to sea and see all the boats and ships coming in.

The main road is behind the hotel so rooms on this side may be noisy.

It is a boutique hotel with 20 rooms in total on three floors. The rooms on the top floor have a small balcony. The rooms one floor down on the first floor have huge balconies as big as the rooms themselves. The larger balconies even have loungers.

The rooms are a reasonable size with high stud and grandly decorated. The bed which was quite firm comprised two singles pushed together with separate duvets.The rooms have flat screen TVs and empty mini fridges but no tea or coffee maker.

A small negative was that the bathrooms are tiny and the shub (half sized bath with shower over) is so small it is difficult to stand in. Fluffy towels and a good range of toiletries were provided.

The hotel has a number of different restaurant and bar areas. We had drinks sitting on the terrace outside the bar one night. We didn't eat at the main restaurant but it looked very nice. We had a very pleasant lunch by the poolside. Hotel breakfasts were served in a room with lovely sea views - a good buffet selection - no hot items although there were hard boiled eggs. Loved the Villeroy and Boch china.

The pool was fantastic - salt water and huge with infinity edge appearing to flow into the sea. I didn't mind at all that seating was restricted. How could a boutique hotel of this size maintain a pool and gym complex like this without the financial support of the health club who have the other seats. There was even a warm jaccuzi to warm up in after your swim.

All the staff were lovely and gave us wonderful help and advice. They even allowed us a late check out as there was no one booked into our room the day we left.

Room Tip: Seaside room on first floor(not ground or second floor) for huge balcony and stunning sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The pluses to this hotel are the pool, the spacious balcony, the glorious buffet breakfast overlooking the sea, the location by the ferry, and the garage, if needed.
The negative is the bathroom, outdated and small, with treacherous bathtubs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they have tables and chaises lounges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanCYardleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times, and it's always excellent.
First off, the location is incredible, especially if you have your room with a seaview. This is the only hotel in St. Margherita with a private beach. You wake up to the mediterranian waves and the amazinf atmosphere of Liguria. The busstop with busses to nearby cities is just 100 meters from the hotel and the train station is a stairway away.
The hotel is really near to the city center of St. Margherita, but not too close for it to be a disturbance. The ferries to Portofino are right next to the busstop.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and are happy to give you directions or tips for your stay. The hotel is small enough for them to remember their guest and the atmosphere in the hotel is great.
The pool and poolside area is nice and clean. You can swim in the pool or also in the mediterranian if you like. There is also a small jacuzzi and an outside gym.
The rooms are small, but not too small. They are cosy and the beds are comfortable. The balconies are quite big and, as mentioned before, have a stunning view.
I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in St. Margherita.

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotta1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

As everyone has said, this hotel is the only one with a private beach in Santa Margherita Ligure, and has a lovely sea-water swimming pool as well. We didn't use these as the weather was too cool. But the view from this hotel is amazing, of the whole harbour of SML curving around. We had an excellent room with sea view, balcony, fridge for storing food rather than for mini-bar which is excellent, and there was a parking spot in the garage under the hotel (limited number, must be reserved in advance). Breakfast was very good, cappuccino or other hot drinks made to order and an excellent selection of food. On the last day it was warm enough to sit on the terrace for breakfast and that was wonderful. Monica in reception was so kind and friendly and helpful in every way--drawing maps, and explaining everything about how to get to Portofino, San Fruttuoso etc. The only flaw was that the hot water in our room was not quite hot enough and the pressure was poor. However, we liked the hotel so much otherwise, we didn't say anything until check-out when we mentioned it just to let them know. I think if we'd said something earlier an effort would have been made to fix this. Anyway, this is a lovely place to stay, and as has been said, has that personal touch that you don't find in most of the chains.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank zita940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel location is the best in the town. It is the only one hotel with the private beach in S-Margherita. The second "plus" is the swimmig pool with sea water. The hotel has the garrage . But the standart double room was very small for the familly ( 2 adult+ 7year-old child) aprox. 15 sq.m. including the toilette and therefore much expensive. The restaurant in the evening is quite good, but you need to make the reservation and in the town you can eat better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: $122 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing