We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and seaview rooms!!!”
Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Helios
Certificate of Excellence
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great pool and seaview rooms!!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011, and loved that it was a short, downhill walk from the train station, and then we had a fantastic lady on reception that assisted us when we first arrived,... thankyou for making us feel welcome - you were awesome!!!!
the room and the balcony with seaviews on the 3rd floor was fantastic and breathtaking at night, and gave us the best experience overlooking the town.
The hotel is in a great position, close to the town and easy access to the ferry to Portofino.
However - the bathroom in the room is TINY - and the shower/bath is THE SMALLEST THING I"VE EVER SEEN - my 6 foot 7 inch tall partner could not fit in the shower, let alone myself!!! it was terribly uncomfortable! The bathroom is just too small.
Also, the air conditioner doesn't work that well, and we wished it would blast cool air.
The only other things to note, were the unwritten rules by the pool.... we had overlooked the pool area (saltwater pool) from our balcony and had our hearts set on a chair by the ocean edge near the pool and the ocean to get the best view.... however, these unwritten rules are ''apparently'' that of all of the beachchairs surrounding it are NOT for hotel guests... - there seems to ONLY be about 10 beach-chairs that are allocated to hotel guests via yellow stickers, and of these some are only allocated to guests staying under 10 days, and others ( in worse positions, and nowhere near the ocean) are allocated to guests staying for less nights. we couldn't believe that ALL of the good beach chairs were allocated to non-hotel guests who have booked these for the season - "apparently"!!! We couldn't believe that the priority given to non-hotel guests over-rided the guests actually STAYING at the hotel....
And - the hotel staff by the pool weren't very explanatory about this system either, and it turned out that they didn't really care!
That being said, it would seem that the two young female waitresses that are working in the restaurant set up by the pool area don't seem to care about guests staying either!!! They pandered and swanned around their italian guests dining on lunch, however, completely IGNORING guests asking for drinks, lunch, food, or any service, infact walking past them as they waited by their waitressing station, ignoring them, and pretending to polish cutlery. I have never seen such RUDE people ever - and they completely were UNPROFESSIONAL, too young, and didn't give a care to the hotel guests. These waitresses let the ENTIRE hotel down, as they completely made guests feel invisible. My partner was one of these guests waiting for service, he actually wallked up to a waitress to order lunch and drinks for us, she ignored him, walked past him, and my 6ft7" partner was ignored, whilst these two waitresses walked past him several times - infact walked around him, avoiding him. I couldn't believe the blatant rudeness, as we were hotel-paying-guests which were staying AT the hotel!!! And is it too much to expect that we would receive some acknowledgement? However, these two girls were completely rude to him. We couldn't believe that they were even working at this hotel.

A note to management - hire some friendly professional service people and pay attention to your hotel-guests - the locals booking these lattiinis for the season are not the ones paying for the hotel rooms and dining!!!!

This hotel is a beautiful old hotel, and in a great position, close to the marina, the port, the old town, restaurants and the ferry..... plus the pool and the pool area are the major drawcard as they overlook the harbour and is a really attractive terrace with the pool right next to the beach.... plus the rooms are great with their seaview balconies......but we just expected a little service considering we were guests staying at the hotel!!!
When you walk out to the pool area - be warned!!!

Room Tip: ask for a seaview balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    55
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
31
89
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location at the waters edge. Our room had a great view of the Bay. The staff were helpful and attentive. The breakfast was good, with great views of the harbour. On hot sunny days it was good to have the pool and lagoon area for swimming and relaxing as the beaches get very busy. The hotel was well located for boat trips and shops. The food in the town was excellent. The reception staff were helpful and if you have any mobility problems ask them about the bathroom, our room was great but it had a very deep bath, which doubled up as the shower, if you were elderly you may have had problems using it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn262305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Not sure why this hotel isn't more highly rated. We stayed there recently and I would say it's ideally situated for a 4-star choice in this town. The Metropole has nicer grounds but is a step up in cost, and the Helios is right on the water. Get a second (not third) floor room with the large terrace - lovely for drinks or breakfast. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant one day and it was lovely and quite good as well.

Room Tip: Get a second (not third) floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdwelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Helios. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was very nice. Beautiful views from the pool terrace and rooms.
Santa Margherita is an old, cosy and beautiful resort. Good base to explore Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Walk in the room & the sea view just eye catching!
good location, close to main street & places to eat, to shop, to train or bus or boat!
Rooms are clean but very very small especially the bathroom... the basin just on your lap while sitting on the toilet! >< you'd better stay at the balcony or poolside! I was in Room 10 & my sister in 8 & the bathroom is better.
Staff are friendly & the front desk guy recommended us the seafood rest. just in the other side of the same hotel with no disappointment. Compare with other hotels in SML & Portafino, €200 is an acceptable price of room with seaview! The breakfast is ok but don't expect too much! ^^
Booking tips: must select sea facing rooms & even better with balconies.
Walk-in price in May maybe cheaper than on internet!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneTwoFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Situated right on the beach. We stayed here for 2 nights in a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. It was so gorgeous we decided to eat in and had wine and pizza on the balcony watching the sunset and all the yachts on the water. Absolutely perfect location, lovely room, great service. Wish we had more time to spend at Santa Margherita. Would DEFINITELY stay at Helios again.

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank GCBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

€160 for a standard room facing a busy street. No parking space (you have to put your car in a parking lot "down town"). Worn interior. No lightbulb in a lamp (fixed later by butler), No Kleenex paper towels (box empty - not fixed by butler). No sanitary bags (box empty). Clean sheets but stiff bed. Ordinary "continental" breakfast in a nice restaurant area facing the sea.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Property: Hotel Helios
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing