We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is a bit "tired"”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this hotel is a bit "tired"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

i am sorry, but i do not have much to say complementary about the condition of this hotel. it is tired, worn out and in need of a remodel. the walls are paper thin and the amenities are basic. the wifi is free, but most of the time it does not work. the breakfast was just "ok". the staff were inattentive, unhelpful and at times boarder-line rude. the views were nice, but i would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    101
    96
    100
    82
See reviews for
104
148
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We agreed that this hotel have best location at Santa Margherita Liguria. Walking distance to restaurant, shops and beach. The hotel is old but charming. Room is clean as Suisse standard but the mattress is quiet hard to my liking. As the hotel maybe from the 60s era, everything is so JFK. The staff are very helpful. Breakfast is descent if you are not looking for hot food. We could return to SML and stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony with ocean view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed here five or six times. The hotel is one block back from the harbour with views to die for from the terrace and balconies. The breakfast room has floor to ceiling windows and seems to hang among the tiled roofs and pine trees. Staff are friendly and the facilities good. The hotel has a sixties-retro feel and is perhaps showing its age a little in places but oozes with original features. The pool (when hot) is great to swim in even in November, less so last time when the heating was off. A short stroll up the hill to Villa Durazzo and through the gardens is heaven with turtles in the fountains. The Park Hotel Suisse is one of our favourite places to stay and we keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Surely no hotel can have received more mixed reviews. But having read all the reviews I still wasn't clear if this was going to be joy or horror. I was actually quite impatient to reach Park Hotel Suisse.
I have never before been motivated to post a review of any part of any trip, so I am astonished that I am motivated to comment about this place. As another reviewer observed: if you are expecting a Hilton or a Hyatt then you will be disappointed, however if you are open to the possibility of alternatives then the Park Hotel Suisse can genuinely surprise and delight.
I found Park Hotel Suisse comfortable, friendly and an excellent base from which to explore Liguria. Rooms and public areas are clean; the staff are polite, attentive and patient with tourist Italian; the main hotel lifts certainly have character but always got me to the correct floor; the internal and external dec are a little tired but are an exquisite glimpse into a time of opulence that is probably unique. The sound insulation is not the best, and you will hear other guests if they are adjacent and they are noisy. You will also come to regard the bells of Santa Margherita as either charming or torture, as they chime their way through the day (but not night). Even the 7.00am overture has a charm to it, and can be enjoyed twice because two bells have slightly different ideas of when 7.00am occurs. Wi-Fi on the third floor was solid though PHS3 (third floor access point) refused to play but PHS2 worked just fine as did PHS4. Breakfast is cake/bread/cereal orientated - if you need a cooked breakfast to get you started you will have to find it elsewhere.
And if after weighing the many hot and cold reviews you choose to spend time at Park Hotel Suisse then say hello to the hotel cat who can be found most evenings in reception reclining on the radiator beneath the large cabinet containing a ship.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadeForLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night. The kids loved the pool- which has a slide and spring board. The decor in rooms and hotel is old. This had the biggest rooms of our 3 weeks in Italy. Breakfast was included and great. Wifi is unreliable in rooms, but ok in lobby and breakfast area. We also had parking including.make sure to inspect rooms, 2 out of 3 we inspected before accepting rate had bathroom issues/ sewage smell. We had dinner at Emilio's down the road which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malek_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel has a very special WOW factor. After climbing up the steep and winding driveway where cars are parked (or should I say stacked) so tightly together we entered the lobby and realised great care has been taken to keep the appearance looking pre-war, and very cleverly too. The hotel was clean and tidy with friendly staff.

Our room was on the third floor with a huge bed in the first room, which led to another room with a sofa and three single beds (although there were only the two of us staying). Our bedroom had an original panelled/wooden floor and a huge mirror on one of the walls with a lovely black ledge which I used as a dressing table top. Between the two rooms was an archway with voille curtains that tied back through the day, and we released them overnight.

Passing through the 3-bedded room/sitting area we went outdoors onto a balcony with two chairs and a table which had a cloth draped over. All very clean. Planters surrounded the balcony which then led onto a large sunbathing terrace for guests. The view from this area was breathtaking overlooking rooftops of other buildings standing before the sea and the lovely harbour.

We had breakfast each morning and ate on the outdoor terrace which was beautiful with views across to the harbour and beyond to other villages.

The only disappointments were that the dining room was slightly more up to date - looked to be in the 60s and didn't go with the rest of the decor; and the bar area, although OK during the day, wasn't very welcoming on an evening, with no-one around.

By chance we stumbled across the first floor that has been modernised, which would give anyone the opportunity to go for something more up to date if that was there preference.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor - room 340 can be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Was dreading my stay here after reading the other reviews but was very pleasantly surprised! We booked this very last minute and paid for it before consulting Trip Advisor ... I am glad we did. We stayed on first floor which has been totally modernised. Family room for 4 of us had plenty of room, storage, air con, hot and cold water, firm beds, clean bedding, flat screen tv, clean towels daily and pool towels. Reception staff were efficient but, as we didn't have any problems, we didn't engage with them too much. Swimming pool was dated but kept the kids occupied with a diving board, slide and a deep end that wouldn't pass H&S these days. We stayed for a week, didn't have breakfast there but went to cafe 5 mins away (Cafe del Porto) but breakfast at hotel looked nice. We did need earplugs, so thanks for that recommendation on here, due to room being directly under dining room which was noisy during breakfast. Great location just 5 minutes walk from harbour and lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse

Property: Park Hotel Suisse
Address: Via Favale 31, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing